We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little dated, but looking forward to the Brain exhibit”

The Franklin Institute
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPASS
Ranked #16 of 438 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in honor of America’s first scientist, Benjamin Franklin, The Franklin Institute is one of America’s oldest and premier centers of science education. The museum is known for blockbuster exhibits, a bevy of interactive ongoing exhibitions, and one-of-a-kind theatrical experiences. Today, the Institute continues its dedication to public education and creating a passion for science by offering new and exciting access to science and technology in ways that would dazzle and delight its namesake.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
St. John's
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little dated, but looking forward to the Brain exhibit”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Really liked the museum, but found most of the exhibit dated, with some pieces out of order or inoperable. Had the chance to participate in a pre-survey for the new Brain exhibit, and we're looking forward to seeing it when it opens later this summer

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SpringTraveller40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,294
    591
    240
    103
    61
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exhibits good, school groups exceptionally unruly”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The exhibits themselves were good and well-designed for children.

However, this museum tolerates behavior that belongs on the playground not indoors. One school group on particular was so loud and disruptive that it really made it difficult for anyone else to read, think or learn. When I talked to a volunteer about this, he lamented that some teachers regard field trips as free days not as an extension of the classroom. We did not experience anything like this during the 3 1/2 weeks we spent visiting sites on the East Coast. Kids behaved worse here than at the three zoos we visited. We have not experienced anything like this during the past eight years that we have had memberships at our local science museum, zoo and aquarium. (we are commonly in these places during the school day because my children are home schooled.)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christi900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Happy hands”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I spent over two hours trying out different displays at the Institute. This is a GREAT Place. Can't wait to bring our grandsons here. Very user friendly for children of all ages (including us).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aroos93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Me and the kids”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for 6 hours and enjoyed every moment . From the train o the physical fitness floor. Ending it with a Movie at the Museam Theater. It was a great day I even threw in a ride on the double Decker Bus. Hopped on Patco and headed back to Jersey.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great for families”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a top-notch museum that is great for the whole family. Younger kids (10 and under) will especially love it here, but there is something for everyone. The IMAX theater is one of the best around and they do a great job on the special exhibits that come and go. I live in NY, but purchased a family membership that I've been happy with, as we've always found reasons to come here two-three times a year.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jpgillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Franklin Institute also viewed

 

Been to The Franklin Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing