We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food in a tight space” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbuzzo

Barbuzzo
Reserve with OpenTable
Barbuzzo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sansom
Transit: Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station
Description: Barbuzzo is a Mediterranean restaurant and bar located in the trendy Midtown Village area of center city. We serve small plates intended to share. With a wood-burning oven for pizzas & roasting, Barbuzzo’s menu features rustic, hand crafted regional fare such as: Grilled Octopus with fingerlings, roasted peppers & soppressata; Parsnip ravioli with duck ragu and roasted pears; Uovo Pizza with brussel leaves, guanciale, & truffle farm egg. Menu items range in price from $3 to $32. Barbuzzo has a full bar featuring Mediterranean wines, craft beers and cocktails. We have bar and counter seating overlooking the open kitchen available for walk ins.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food in a tight space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the food, although the pizza is not the best in town. My main concern was the tight space where they jam pack the tables in

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkNJ401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    194
    36
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Loved trying new dishes and sharing with friends. Portions were perfect for sharing and allowed each of us to try four or five different items. Food was very tasty as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Almalittles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We loved EVERYTHING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had the goat cheese ricotta appetizer, the gnocchi, and the pizza with artichokes- and all were fabulous! Locally sourced ingredients and attention to detail- lots of fresh herbs and unusual pizza toppings. We also loved the different cocktails and craft beer selection. And don't forget the dessert! Their signature dessert is served in a small mason jar, and it's out of this world!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarefootShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
278 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Came here with my daughter. She thought the restaurant was "overrated" but came back with me so I could try it. We had a great lunch and she's now a convert. We split just 2 dishes for lunch. The excellent antipasti plate and the brisket sandwich. The plate had beets, brussel sprouts, carrots, olives, farro salad, buffalo mozzarella and pesto, red peppers, grilled zucchini and garlic, and grilled bread. It basically gave us a taste of a lot of their appetizers on one incredibly delicious plate. Loved it!! The brisket was also good - my daughter loved it but I don't like gorgonzola cheese, so that might have added the wow factor (I asked them to put the cheese on the side). It was made on grilled focaccia bread and the meat was very tender. Came with lots and lots of fries with aioli. Very affordable, busy place but good service, and moderately noisy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nreyesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Make the most of your meeting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This busy little place is a short walk from the Convention Center and the Marriot and Lowe's hotels. I was traveling solo and ate at the kitchen bar while watching the food preparation. Plenty of spaces there, but if you want a table, best to plan ahead. The portions are modest, so order a side if you are hungry. Bread is an extra $2. I had the rabbit special with parsnip puree and a sherry reduction containing pistachios and pickled cherries. It was terrific. I also ate ate both the Marriot and Lowe's restaurants, which were OK, but Barbuzzo was considerably better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JHarris48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbuzzo also viewed

 

Been to Barbuzzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing