We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jenn was so hip.”
Review of Free Tours by Foot

Free Tours by Foot
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Free Tours by Foot is pleased to present "name-your-own-price "Philadelphia tours. These unique and entertaining tours will take you through many of Philly's most interesting neighborhoods. We offer a wide range of sightseeing tours to help you get to know Philadelphia. We also offer food tours, ghost tours and private tours. Get to know Philadelphia with local tour guides who have a passion for their city.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jenn was so hip.”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

The Real Philadelphia tour with Jenn as our guide was great. She had a sense of humor and was great at walking backwards and talking at the same time. Jenn was a wealth of knowledge about little known facts and sites off the beaten path. She gave us suggestions of places to eat. We stopped by the Magic Garden, Dr Physick's home, Society Hill, Italian market, South St, Chinatown gateway, and Reading Terminal just to name a few. The tour lasted a little over 4 hours and I could have had her guide me longer. Don't skimp on tips she's well worth it. The one downside was the tour didn't end where it began.

Helpful?
Thank SanDwalkerCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    52
    8
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free Walking Tour of Philadelphia”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My boyfriend and I took the Philadelphia Historial Sights tour on Sat, Sept 15. Mike was great. He was very knowledgeable about the history of the city and the founding fathers. He was very thorough and took the time to answer everyone's questions. We look forward to taking some of the tours given in the NYC area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pamela015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, Pennsylvania (Philadelphia Area)
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Wasn't Great, But We'll Try It Again”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We did the ghost tour on Saturday evening, 9/15/12. The guide was okay- not great, not terrible. Part of the issue may have been the subject matter, and that would not completely be the guide's fault. It was a ghost tour after all, so that led to about 20% facts and 80% B-S. We will try a different tour, and maybe get the amazing Jenn everyone keeps writing about.

Just as a note of comparison, we did a free tour in Paris a few years ago. That was amazing, partially because, well, it was Paris, but primarily because the guide was excellent. Very knowledgeable and personable. That was not a ghost tour, rather an orientation, so the subject matter lent itself well. Still, my rating is based on a comparison of the Paris tour to this one, combined with having lived in the area of the ghost tour for 15 years, thus being very familiar with the sites visited.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank owlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing and cheap tour through Philadelphia”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We had the most amazing time on the tour. We got to see all the sights of historical Philadelphia and learned a lot about the history of the US. Additionally we got to hear a lot of funny and insight stories about the founding fathers and the city itself. Jen, our tour guide was just awesome. She was kind, helpful, interested and most importantly very knowledgable. She gave us directions after the tour was done and we ended up chatting for quite a while before we took off. We found it really cool that with this company you can decide how much the tour is worth and just tip the guide afterwards, great system!

Helpful?
2 Thank Ann-Kathr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Real Philadelphia”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Jenn did a fantastic job in blistering heat enthusing us with the real Philadelphia.

From food to culture and dips into Philadelphia history both old and new her knowledge was complete and her delivery engaging.

We even got to celebrate the birthday of Dr Physick inventor of the soda pop; complete with free cherry cupcake ;)

Based on how good this was we signed up for another tour the following day.

Rebecca did a great job on another blistering hot day guiding us through historical Philadelphia.

She even rearranged the tour to allow us to witness the re-enactment of the Declaration of Independence the perfect end to all we covered that day.

After both of these we will be signing up for yet more tours hopefully as good as these.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank macnaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Free Tours by Foot also viewed

 

Been to Free Tours by Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing