We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best way to see Independence Hall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Free Tours by Foot

Free Tours by Foot
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Free Tours by Foot is pleased to present "name-your-own-price "Philadelphia tours. These unique and entertaining tours will take you through many of Philly's most interesting neighborhoods. We offer a wide range of sightseeing tours to help you get to know Philadelphia. We also offer food tours, ghost tours and private tours. Get to know Philadelphia with local tour guides who have a passion for their city.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best way to see Independence Hall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Like all the previous reviewers said, it was a great tour by Jenn that filled with tons of really interesting info on a subject matter that can be a bit dry. Looking forward to doing the other Philly tour next time we return. Highly recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jessndenSouthernAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    46
    8
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable tour guide, delicious stops on the Chinatown Food Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just did a tour with Jenn in Philadelphia. Her background in museums has helped her script a great tour, filled with interesting facts and tidbits, while her enthusiasm for the area was infectious. The meeting place was convenient, and the Chinatown Food Stops as well as the history and cultural stops gave us a delightful way to spend a few hours on Mother's Day with my adult daughter. I have taken many of these tours, in NYC, but this Philly Chinatown Food Tour was easily the best food tour I have taken with Free Tours. We tried pastry, dumpling, squid, and bubble tea, and this tour ended with a light meal at a restaurant- a perfect chance to catch your breath and visit with the group you had the chance to walk with the past couple of hours. Give it a try!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank foodlady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bevan was a blast!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Thank you Tripadvisor for highlighting this tour. Bevan took us on a tour of the old city in Philly and my husband and I had a blast. He was informative and fun and you can tell extremely passionate about sharing Philly's history. I highly recommend visitors to take the tour.

Helpful?
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fun and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We did the Independence Mall Tour with Bevan on a Saturday morning. It was a great tour. Didn't start too early, but early enough to leave us with the rest of the day to do other things. Two hours was long enough to cover all the hot spots and not get bored. Bevan was a great tour guide! He was very informative and even cracked a few jokes. My favorite was when he was talking about Jefferson writing the Declaration of Independence, and that it was like a breakup letter to England: "...They had other colonies on the side." Great system with the pay as much as you think it was worth. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Philly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sicdbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great experience with Jenn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were very pleased that we had the opportunity to be part of the Free Tours by Foot experience in Philadelphia. It was easy to find both the starting location and red headed Jenn, our enthusiastic guide!

We really enjoyed the tour which included a wealth of information, interesting sights and sounds of the area, and lots of facts and anecdotes provided by our guide. The time flew by, and we were amazed when we looked at our watches that we had actually been going for almost 2 1/2 hours! The group was small, but very diverse, so it was fun to hear the comments and questions from everyone.

We would recommend any of these tours to others (We've done 3 in New York City and loved all of those as well.) and hope to return to Philly for another excellent experience with Free Tours by Foot.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill1207W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Free Tours by Foot also viewed

 

Been to Free Tours by Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing