We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Interesting downtown Philadelphia tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Free Tours by Foot

Free Tours by Foot
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Free Tours by Foot is pleased to present "name-your-own-price "Philadelphia tours. These unique and entertaining tours will take you through many of Philly's most interesting neighborhoods. We offer a wide range of sightseeing tours to help you get to know Philadelphia. We also offer food tours, ghost tours and private tours. Get to know Philadelphia with local tour guides who have a passion for their city.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting downtown Philadelphia tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We planned our trip to Philadelphia this time to be over a Saturday so that we could be part of the 11 AM to 3 PM Historical Downtown Tour on August 16 and we are glad we did. Jennifer was VERY informative, interesting and made Philly come more alive than we have experienced on past tours when we have been there. She truly loves her city and it comes through. We highly recommend it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    45
    8
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Freedom Rings!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Took the Freedom Rings - Independence Mall tour with Tiffany on a drizzly Saturday morning. She was very informative, funny, friendly, and answered questions to the best of her ability. If she couldn't, she'd try to get an answer for you. I enjoyed the little factoids and disproving all the myths we learned in grade school.

The tour of was pretty good, taking the time to stop in places and letting us explore a little. If you want a good tour of the major historical places in Philly, this tour is pretty good for that. Most of the places are within a few blocks radius of each other, so if you wanted to spend more time at a certain place it's pretty easy to get back to it.

Just make sure you're dressed for the weather and wear comfortable walking shoes!

Also, this is technically a free tour, but it is nice to pay/tip the guide however much you think the tour is worth. Still very much worth it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reel Philly tour was a 'reel' pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed this tour. Usually ones to do our own thing when travelling, we signed up for the FREE Reel Philly walking tour after hearing great reviews from our airbnb hosts. Our your guide Jenn was energetic and knowledgeable, and her passion made the tour incredibly informative and intimate. Highly recommend this for any first timers to Philly looking to take a crash course on this great city!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful Glimpse at the Real Philly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We took the "Real Philly" tour, with Jenn as a tour guide. She was exceptional: attentive, knowledgable, friendly and funny. Our group was large -- about 19 -- and she kept track of all of us. She also paid attention to the general pace of the group, pointed out necessities (restrooms, spots to sit, shade) throughout. The tour visited neighborhoods including Society Hill and Philly's Gayborhood. We lunched at the Italian Market on our own (with suggestions from Jenn), and then got a glimpse of the art scene, with visits to Isaiah Zagar's mosaics and the city's numerous murals. Jenn provided a solid mix of history and fun, and her pride in her city was evident throughout. You will walk -- a lot -- so if you're not prepared for several hours on your feet, this might be tough for you (or those with young kids). While Jenn made sure we walked in shade as much as possible, August in Philly still is hot, so bring plenty of water or plan to buy along the way (you'll pass street vendors and can purchase beverages quickly so as not to hold up the group). We'd recommend this to anyone who wants to learn more about Philly's neighborhoods.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4ever_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“All around GREAT tour experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I took this tour on Saturday, August 2, from 10:30 to 12:30, with Bevan. There were about eight to ten other people in our group, and it was overall a fantastic experience.

The group met at the designiated location and time, and Bevan was very friendly, making everyone in the group feel comfortable. He was an extreme wealth of information about the history of Philadelphia, Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, the Liberty Bell, Betsey Ross....anything you can think of associated with Philly, Bevan had a lot of information. I'm not much of a history buff, but Bevan made everything fun and interesting with his presentation of info at each location we visited, and we covered a lot of history within just two hours. His humor and interaction with the group made it even more enjoyable. He also debunked a few myths about some of the historical figures. We even visited locations in the city that had an interesting historical aspect that I didn't' initially know about. While walking to each site, he also was happy to answer general questions about the city.

After this tour with Bevan, I will definitely look up these tours in other cities. Walking through the city, and listening to the history and stories associated with each location was SOOO much more enjoyable than jumping on a bus and driving through the city. We learned a lot, had fun, got some great walking in, and loved it. The guide's fee is what you feel it's appropriate to tip, and again, to us, it was much more enjoyable than a high-fee tour bus (which we paid in a previous city!). Be sure to wear comfortable walking shoes, and bring some water with you. Thank you, Bevan!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MnTLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Free Tours by Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing