We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply divine”
Review of Talula's Garden

Talula's Garden
Reserve with OpenTable
Talula's Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 4,405 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th between Walnut and Locust
Description: Behind the wrought iron gate, past the herbaceous patio and through the atrium is Talula's Garden, the warm and elegant Washington Square eatery from Aimee Olexy and Starr Restaurants. The modern menu, prepared with carefully-sourced ingredients and a light European touch, changes with the seasons. The artful cuisine, hospitable staff, sustainable spirits, and a focus on cheese make the dining experience here incredibly memorable.
Eastern Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“simply divine”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

As a veg/carnivore couple, we strive to find restaurants that can satisfy both of us without feeling one or the other is having to settle. We were excited about this place having read their menus online, lucky enough to get on the waiting list a few days out and then scored a reservation on the night we were hoping for. We sat at the lovely little bar first and enjoyed the company of the creative and knowlegeable bartenders, who were serving up old-school concoctions with house-made syrups. We had a table outside, a charming courtyard area with funky gardening decor. Food was simply divine, from the cheese plates (they have an entire cheese menu---if you're into cheese, don't miss it!) to the bread to the main courses to the deserts---all fresh, all divine. And spring for the $4 bottle of house water. Really. It's good. Service was friendly and professional. We'll be back next time we're in Philly!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donnadwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    209
    72
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Freshness prevails”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Talula's Garden prides itself on using fresh, quality ingredients to which it succeeds. The menu choices aren't extensive but sufficient. You may need to ask the knowledgable server to explain some of the items and preparation to help guide your choice. The food is carefully and expertly prepared, and the presentations are a visual delight. Yet somehow it comes off as being very good but not exceptional nor memorable.
I've given this some thought, as the whole falls short of the sum of the pieces. This may be due to the delicacy of the seasoning needing just a hint of zip. I ordered the sliced hanger steak with potato puree and sweet candy onions. Unfortunately the onions were also pureed and I couldn't distinguish which puree was what. The dish could have zinged if the onions were marmalade style to add texture and deeper flavor. This delicacy of flavor carried through to mango mousse for dessert which was luscious and creamy but lacking that sunshine pop that I associate with mango. The other influencing factor is the noise level which detracts from the ability to focus on the food.
The restaurant pays homage to Alice Waters and Chez Panisse. However, it still needs to define itself further and develop a bit more flair to be more on a par with its inspiration. You'll have a very good meal here. However for the cost, I expect just a bit more.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank la2nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Creative cuisine, excellent taste, beautiful and unique atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This was one of the most enjoyable dining experiences we've had in a long time. We all chose the chef's tasting and all 7 courses were outstanding. They were very busy when we visted so the service was a little slow, 3 hours for 7 courses, but we almost didn't notice the time passing. We will definitely add this to our favorites in Philly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IluvSIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Take lots of money and a small appetite”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Great service - wonderful open "garden " like atmosphère - and though the food was fresh it wasnt extra ordinary and for the money it was exorbitantly priced- we ordered the pork chops which were a bit dry - the sauce was scanty - might go better with pork loin- the Green pea ravioli could have been nice if there was any filling on the delicately rolled pasta pockets- the ice cream trio was very nice and a reasonable portion for a dessert- try the place once I guess- but I doubt I'll be going back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milanPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A serene garden oasis in the city”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I dined here on a Sunday night in June. As we walked through the gate, we felt as though we'd been transported to a secret garden oasis. I was so excited by the decor, both outside and inside the restaurant itself. It was so cute and cozy inside, too!

Despite the fact that it was 85 degrees, we chose to have our pre-dinner cocktail outdoors. The Artist and the Beekeeper were good choices from the extensive cocktail menu, and the jovial bartender was a treat. Almost wanted to sit there all night with her - made us feel welcome and at home. But alas, dinner called!

The wonderful service continued, as our waiter was professional, knowledgeable and friendly. We selected the World Travlerer cheese board to start. It was very good and the presentation was lovely. Our waiter took his time explaining the cheeses and was slow and deliberate, so I actually remembered where each cheese came from after he left our table. Servers kept our water glasses full the entire meal... we never had an empty glass! (Much appreciated on a hot day!)

Next, we had the chicken dish and the farro risotto. We both enjoyed our entrees very much. We added on two sides, the swiss chard and the "mushrooms galore." We enjoyed every bite! The taste was prefect, not over-seasoned but just right. We did NOT have room for dessert, but not to fear, we will be back! (And, we will make our reservation early - because it's a tough place to get in to!)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Talula's Garden also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Talula's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing