We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I frequently visit Philadelphia on business and have just discovered Club Quarters. It is a great hotel with a different concept, providing just what you need for a comfortable stay. The staff is exceptional, I received a warm welcome from the overnight guy (surprising since most hotels have the not so friendly people doing that shift) and his team mates kept the warmth flowing.

Room Tip: Higher floor less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,546 - 1,552 of 2,494 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Club Quarters with another couple for the NCAA Frozen Four. The hotel provided everything we needed and more, and was in a great location for exploring the city.

We arrived late at night and were a little concerned about finding the hotel and parking (not attached). However, the hotel was easy to spot and the parking is less than a minute's walk down to the next corner in a nice part of town. Since we were arriving at night, we had no problem temporarily parking on the street to unload our bags and check in, but I could see where it could be an issue if you were coming in during rush hour. The check-in process was quick and efficient even though we had a slightly unusual situation with our reservation and the desk staff were helpful and thorough in explaining the property to us.

Both couples opted for a "Club" room, which is the smallest, most basic room that they offer. As some other reviewers have mentioned, the room is indeed small, although no smaller than rooms I've had in Europe or New York. The furniture was minimal -- a bed, desk, and two small nightstands. There is a small closet as well. The hotel is currently undergoing some renovation, and this showed in the difference between the two rooms. We each paid the same rate, but our traveling party's room had already been redone and included a microwave and mini-fridge, where ours had not yet been updated and didn't have these amenities, and was showing its age in the paint, carpet, etc. That being said, the room, linens, and towels were clean and the bed was comfortable. The charging station and iPod/iPhone dock alarm were also handy for charging electronics. Hall noise filtered into the room pretty easily, although we didn't hear anything from the street in our 4th floor room.

The hotel had some nice amenities that have been mentioned in other reviews. The chilled water and bottles on each floor are a very nice touch and convenient to bring along if you're out all day sightseeing. The espresso machine in the lobby poured a very nice cup of coffee as well. The hotel also had fitness and laundry facilities, although we didn't use either. The staff at the hotel were tremendously helpful and responsive. They filled our requests quickly and even went so far as to change the mattress in our traveling companions' room when they mentioned that it was a little soft for their tastes.

The Club Quarters is pretty centrally-located and convenient to several bus and subway lines that makes it easy to get just about anywhere you want to go in downtown Philadelphia. Additionally, there always seemed to be a taxi coming down the street if that's your preferred mode of travel. The surrounding area has plenty of dining options at all price points if you want to wander out for a meal and plenty of bars and clubs if you're looking for a little nightlife.

There were just a few small misses that caused me to give the Club Quarters 4 stars instead of 5. First was the uneven quality of the rooms, although I'd imagine that will be fixed once the renovation is complete. Secondly, while our room was clean, it could have been cleaner. Third was that our room didn't have a hairdryer (had to call down for one with wet hair) and housekeeping forgot to leave towels one day. All of these were minor, and certainly wouldn't stop us from staying there again.

If you're looking for an affordable option in a convenient location, the Club Quarters is probably a great place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jzombek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stay frequently at Club Quarters Philadelphia. Rooms and service are always excellent. During my last visit, Michael at the front desk was especially helpful. A work colleague and I were in the lounge area late into the evening working on project for the next day. Michael checked in regularly, asking if he could get us anything. Incredibly friendly and gracious. Like I said, I always have a great stay, but Michael's customer service was particularly noteworthy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spent 4 nights here with out adult kids. The hotel is located in mid-town Philadelphia, within walking distance to just about everything. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. But what I love most about this hotel are the little amenities that add up to big satisfaction. There is a automated coffee bar in the lobby (expresso, cappuccino, cafe au lait) and on each floor by the elevators, you can get your own plastic bottle of chilled water. The standard room is small, but the bed is very comfortable. Our kids stayed in a room with a kitchenette which is a little roomier. We would definitely stay at a Club Quarters again!

Room Tip: The standard room is small and if you are planning an extended stay, you may want to upgrade to a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holymerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I spent 3 nights in this hotel. Its conveniently located to the University of Pennsylvania. Reasonable price & friendly. I would recommend it to anyone traveling for business or pleasure to Philadelphia

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nodumo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great location, very close to great restuarnts and night life. Loved the fresh coffee and afternoon snacks. Anthony was never too busy to stop and say hello. He made great recommendations for dinner. He is super friendly and knowledgeable about surrounding areas. Thank you.

Room Tip: Great Pillows. High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Michael was/is an AWESOME Club Quarters Rep!!! He made our stay both comfortable and memorable. He is friendly and knowledgeable about restaurants and nightlife in the area. Be sure to ask for him if you stay at Club Quarters.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DATAZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia

Address: 1628 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-5119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £82 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia is a newly renovated full service hotel designed for business travelers. Located in the heart of the city's business district and within walking distance of many cultural and historical attractions including Rittenhouse Square, Antique Row and the Academy of Natural Sciences. Adjacent to Liberty Place with over 70 unique boutiques and restaurants and easily accessible to the convention center. Its restaurant and bar, Davio's, serves delicious Northern Italian cuisine. All Club Quarters Hotels provide: • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel • Instant registration and check-out • Club Living Room - an inviting lounge for working, meeting, socializing and relaxing • Free unlimited chilled bottled water • Greater security with keycard access to guest room floors • Restaurant and Bar • Fitness room with cardio equipment and weights • Meeting rooms and office space available • Guest Request Closets on every floor containing extra pillows, blankets and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hotel Philadelphia
Club Quarters Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing