We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch near liberty bell”
Review of Mac's Tavern

Mac's Tavern
Ranked #440 of 4,372 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good lunch near liberty bell”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Used trip advisor to find a lunch spot near Independence Hall. Mac's had good food and a good beer selection. Definitely a great experience for lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jka_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    48
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Not impressed. Dark and food ok !”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Wasn't impressed with Macs !
Food was just about warm rather than hot. Wonder then how the wings were cooked or are they reheated at lunch ? Anyway - maybe at night it's better and busier but won't be trying again.

Helpful?
Thank SimonJRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Yes, it gets crowded, but there's a reason for that...”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Go here. You won't be sorry. Locals love this spot for a reason. Upstairs tends to be less crowded than downstairs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good meals...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having been to several “The Office” sites in Scranton with my grandson, he warned me that there was one place where he wanted to go for a meal and that was at Mac’s Tavern as was co-owned by McElhenney and Olson of “It’s always Sunny in Philadelphia”. Not having seen the programme I wasn’t sure what to expect but what a wonderful experience this turned out to be. Mac’s Tavern wears its celebrity lightly and just concentrates on producing good meals and drinks. It that respect, it does those very well indeed. The atmosphere is super with lots of photos on the walls and a basic bar area which looks a bit like the bar on ‘Sunny’ – the first series of which I have now seen. I had a burger and my grandson had a Po Boy. Cooked well and served efficiently by excellent servers, this was a real treat and not just because of the “Sunny” connection.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EximiousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great pub atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went on the Friday night of Memorial Day weekend. Arrived around 7:00 pm, just after Happy hour ended. Place is small - some small tables along the wall and in the back with barstools along the bar and three small tables on the sidewalk. No tables left for our family of six, but there were six bar stools along the front window with a ledge big enough to put a plate on. Nice night, windows removed, we enjoyed watching the people and cars going by. Kids are okay till 9:00 pm, when it becomes adult only. There is no kids menu, but they do have chicken fingers, fries, burgers. Chicken wings are a bit small, but nice flavor and crispy coating. Baked potato soup is good, but does have beer in it if you like that twang. There was a Phillies game that night, so we watched on the tvs and enjoyed the $2 Yuengling draft ($3 not during games). Pork sandwich was tasty, but I wish I would have ordered it without the brocoli, which tasted great, but was left in long stalks that were hard to bite through on a sandwich. Loved the side of gravy for the fries. Service was great, everyone very friendly. After we ordered our dinners, our waitress let us know the kitchen was backed up with another big party's order. While we were not happy to hear that, we did appreciate her letting us know and she offered us a round of beers for our wait. Big selection of beer, and even a hard cider on tap. When we left around 9:00, the place was beginning to fill with the night crowd. Seemed like a fun place to be for late night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank scottcaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mac's Tavern also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Mac's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing