We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I was a little apprehensive to stay at a Hampton Inn but I have to admit this was the nicest, cleanest and bar far most comfortable hotel I have been in on business travel. I attended a 4 day convention and it was so nice to walk 1 block to the conference. As a female I was a little concerned with walking alone from a hotel when I was booking the reservation but I was more than comfortable with the walk once I saw it. I didn’t have to deal with cabs or parking or shuttles like everyone else. There was always a lovely breakfast in the morning, coffee or tea 24/7 in the lobby and refreshments put out in the evening for guest. I had to send a pair of jeans out to be dry cleaned and later found out there was laundry onsite for guest to use but that was minor. The décor is modern, clean and light. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. GREAT JOB Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tl4tl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. This feedback is very important for us to improve. I'm very pleased we made you feel comfortable during your stay. Our mission is to have contact with each guest to assist them with any questions that might make their stay more enjoyable..
Thanks foe being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    696
    245
    93
    47
See reviews for
584
343
84
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed here for several nights while attending a convention. Incredible location for a great price. The service was magnificent, breakfast was generous, and I especially enjoyed the lobby with comfortable booths to sit in with free coffee/tea/cocoa.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It's important for us to get feedback. Yes we are next door to the convention center and within walking distance to many restaurants and historical sites. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back in Philly.
Thank you for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The hotel is located in close to downtown activities during the day. My daughter and I checked in on a Sunday late afternoon and walked to Chinatown for dinner. Walking in the evening you find yourself in a pretty deserted area. Best to know where you are going before heading out. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The morning breakfast good. Strongly recommend this for a stay in Philly

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. The feedback is most appreciated especially about the staff and cleanliness. We are in the process of redoing our restaurant guide which will help guests find the right restaurant.
Thank you for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Providence, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I visited Philly with my daughter and her children ages 4 and 9. It was everything we needed and more. It was close enough to walk to the historic sights. Breakfast was great. They had a pool to help wear out the kiddos. I never felt unsafe. There is a convenience store across the street and a pizza place around the corner (Jakes I think). Both of which we took advantage. Jakes will deliver but is close enough that my daughter walked over to pick it up. Everyone at the Hampton was friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back.
P.S. Take advantage of The BIg Bus Tour, very knowledgeable guides.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammycatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you writing your experience concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We are getting better so when you return your experience will be even better. We are adding new furniture to all guestrooms, adding a bar, upgrading the internet, and improving our bathroom amenities.
Thank you for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Thsi is a nice Hampton Inn. It's clean and fairly well accomodated. The location is good for the Convention Centre (about a 5-10 minute walk, depending on where your convention is at the Centre), Chinatown, and shopping. Everything is walkable.
The staff are fantastic! I had rung ahead to let them know about my extremely late arrival (well past midnight), and everything was ready for me...I was in my room in about two minutes.
Everyone was friendly and efficient. They were extremely helpful and really made this a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your experience concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. This feedback is very important for us to improve. We are getting better with new furniture in all guestrooms as well new bathroom amenities.
Thank you for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I stayed here for three nights as part of a mini-vacation prior to a major conference in Philly. Generally, I have had very good luck with Hampton Inns across the US. This one was no exception!
My room, facing toward part of the Pennsylvania Convention Center, was in very good condition and the bed felt like it was practically brand new. The bathroom was spotless and everything worked well (except for the cable TV, but who cares?). The staff was genuinely helpful and the breakfasts were typical for a hotel of this price range. Internet is free, and the rooms have a coffee machine and cups, but there is no in-room safe. Small safe deposit boxes are available at the desk without charge.
As for the location, I think it's superb. It's exactly halfway between Logan Square and Franklin Square. It took me about 15 minutes to walk from the hotel to Independence Hall and about the same to Logan Square. As I said before, it's also right across the street from the Penn. Convention Center and about five minutes walk from Reading Market. The area appears to be about as safe as a major city can be, too.
This hotel is nothing fancy, but it is excellent value in my opinion.

Room Tip: There was a bit of noise from the Convention Center. A room on the opposite side of the hotel might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desertfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
The hotel appreciates feedback and I thank you for taking the time to write this review. Thanks for all the kind words about the condition of the hotel and location. We continue to work on the condition of the hotel and we are in the process of installing new furniture, adding a bar, and upgrading the internet.
Thank you so much for being OUR guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
403 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Spent a pleasant weekend at the Hampton Inn. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bed was really comfortable and the breakfast was above average. While there was no street noise, the heating unit was VERY noisy, despite ear plugs.

Can't beat the location - all of the main tourist attractions are within a 20 - 25 minute walk. The hotel is really close to the Reading Terminal Market which is well worth a visit.

A number of reviewers have compalined about the homeless people - the trick is to avoid Race Street. At night your best bet is to walk along Walnut or Chestnut (wider, busier, bettter lit) then up 13th.

If you come by plane there is no need for a car - the train from the aiport runs every 30 minutes ($7 per person) and the Market Street East stop is around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Thank you for writing the review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. First of all I apologize for the noise of the HVAC unit in your guestroom. You stated the location is great and it's right in the middle of so many things to do, almost 20 minutes from most areas you might want to go. We are adding a few things to the hotel in the future to enhance guest stays. The internet is getting an upgrade, adding a liquor bar, installing new furniture to all guestrooms, and changing the bathroom amenities.
Thanks for staying with us.
Roger Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 85 in Philadelphia
896 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Address: 1301 Race Street, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing