We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Nothing but good things to say about this place, From the moment we pulled up and the bell hop helped us to the moment we picked up our car to leave.
Was close enough to the convention center to walk and close to the restaurants.
This hotel is in the center of it all.
The king-suite was nice.

Room Tip: King-Suite
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nite007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. Your great comments concerning the hotel and area are much appreciated.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,925)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,325 - 1,331 of 1,925 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

I stayed here because my Mother had to be hospitalized at Temple for a overnight and we
were out of state. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. When I needed a cab to get the hospital immediately one was provided. Very nice stay in a
stressful situation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 583Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for writing this review while staying at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. The feedback is very important to us. I'm glad the staff took care of you and your mother in a very stressful time.
Thanks for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for an overnight trip to Philly for Valentines day. I had booked the hotel online and found it to be a great affordable option and one of the few in Philly that had an indoor pool and free hot breakfast. The service was good but i would not say they went above and beyond. There was though, a few things i was not happy with. The self parking they offer across the street was full so we had no choice but to pay $35 for valet, which i thought was way overpriced! No ventilation or fans in bathroom, and the complimentary tea/coffee in the lobby was always empty! Other than these few small complaints it was a good place to stay and in the middle of many great Philadelphia attractions, most within walking distance (if it had not been so cold!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg8814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the feedback and the staff reviews all of them. It was a very busy weekend and I'm glad you made the most of it. The self park lot usually fills up first and valet is your second option. There are other lots around but they don't have security. Unfortunately we don't own or manage the parking lots. The cost for parking is very much in line with other hotels in center city. I'm glad you loved the location and found it to meet your needs.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel was very convenient, being next to the convention center, but did not seem able to support the capacity that a sold out connvention crowd put on the hotel! The hotel room was clean and comfortable, but very high ceilings made the room echo. The hotel advertised self parking, but it was off site at a local parking lot, unrelated to the hotel. That was very inconvenient, and the lot owner/ manager was kinda fly-by-night. The pool was way too small, and unstaffed, so it was a scary, dangerous mob scene of too many people, swimming in clothes, rather than swim suits, and not enough towels or chairs, and the hot tub was scummy in the corners, gross! Breakfast was a CIRCUS of too many people. You could hardly navigate throught the dining area, and the food stations were a mess. The hot entrees were not hot, and were all dried out, yuck! Both mornings we were there, the hotel was out of hot water. They said there was a problem with the system, but I think it was just not designed for that capacity. The staff were helpful and accommodating, but in over their heads. I felt badly for everyone involved.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlinStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. I certainly apologize for the problems incurred during your stay. This was a very busy weekend and the hotel was full with a convention and families. The staff really tries to maintain service but the sheer numbers make it very difficult. We review all comments and use it as a tool to improve.
Thank you,
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed there while workiong the Home Show at the Convention Center. The Tatoo Convention was going on at the same time. It was very interesting meeting and getting to know some of the artists as well as followers. The hotel bar was a nice addition, and Eddie and Morrice were great as well, they both have a great sence of humor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the rear of building to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandapatioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you for writing your comments concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. I'm very pleased both Ed and Maurice made you feel comfortable at the bar. I will certainly pass along your comments to them.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Having stayed at Hampton Inn on multiple occasions, I was surprised at all the problems during this stay. No hot water in the morning being the biggest problem. The hotel also seemed ill prepared for all the guests as it was impossible to get the free breakfast and a real chore to even get a cup of coffee. The location is good but that’s about it for this Hampton Inn

Room Tip: Having stayed at Hampton Inn on multiple occasions, I was surprised at all the problems during this...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments concerning your stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia. We appreciate the feedback and I apolize for the problems you incurred. The hotel was full with a convention and many families during this weekend, which put a hugh demand on the breakfast area. I understand your point of view and will work harder in the future to make it easier for the guests.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed here for a conference. The location was convinient, since the convention centre is next door. The room and the bathroom were nice and clean, and the bed was big and confortable. Could hear the people next door partying and shouting though, and the aircon/heater was noisy. I will sleep through anything, but can imagine this would bother many people. The free breakfast was great. Although they had paper plates and cups, and it was mostly unhealthy and tastless. Appreciated the fresh fruit though. The coffee was good. The staff were very nice and polite, but didn't know much (when we asked about places in Philadelphia). But we had free wireless in the room and there was a printer we could use. All in all, the place isn't especially fancy, but is suited for a bussiness stay.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for future Hampton Inn guests. We appreciate the feedback and will use it as a tool to improve our services. The location is so close to many attractions and restaurants and is one of our selling points.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race St, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107-1517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £108 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing