We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Nicely Appointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Ranked #26 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I just needed to make a quick trip to Philly at the last minute, and the Hampton Inn had room for me. The front desk staff is excellent. There are a lot of good options at the free breakfast buffet, you can even make yourself a waffle, if you want to. The rooms are tidy and well appointed. The hotel is located by the convention center and Reading Terminal Market (a must experience while in downtown Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We had to go to Philadelphia for a doctors appointment. Stayed here the night before. The pool was nice, and our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was awesome and the staff are all very friendly. Will stay here again when we have to go back!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank wattonwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I've stayed at this facility many times over the years because it is conveniently located to SEPTA, Reading Market and the convention center etc. It's been refurbished and now has a bar in what used to be part of the lobby. The bar does provide some food, but unless there's a blizzard outside I'd eat somewhere else.... perhaps China town or the Reading Market area.

The rooms are beginning to show some wear and tear since I stayed there last and if you're expecting a decent view of Philadelphia you'll have to stay somewhere else.

When I checked in there was a fire engine in front of the hotel, but it turned out to be just a false alarm and while I was allowed to check in the elevators couldn't be used. To make matters worse, the hotel staff on duty at the time had difficulty resetting the fire alarm, so there was about an hour's delay before I could go up to my room.

Even though I was there on a winter night, my room was much too warm and I had to turn the a/c on and it was relatively noisy

I would stay at this hotel again, but only if I couldn't find anything less expensive in Center City Philadelphia.

Room Tip: You won't find a room with a view at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dissatified88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

As a Diamond level Hilton-brand member, I have stayed at Hampton Inn's all over the United States. This was the weakest of all of the ones I have yet visited.

There were children unattended running around in the lobby and in the elevators. In one instance, we had called the concierge for a taxi, but when we got downstairs there was no taxi. The concierge said she had called a taxi. We were lucky that a taxi who was cruising around in the neighborhood finally came to the hotel or we would have missed our appointment.

The biggest problem we encountered was with the parking services. We chose the "self-parking" option, as it was cheaper at $25/night. There were repeated problems with impolite, unprofessional behavior by the parking attendants, including almost missing our return flight because the attendant could not find our car on our last day at the hotel. It took almost an hour for our car to appear.

Some of the staff were helpful. And when we reported these problems to the reception desk, they sounded concerned.

The price for the hotel was reasonable. However, because of the problems we experienced, we were overall dissatisfied with this facility.

Room Tip: There are unattended children of all ages in the lobby and on the elevator, so getting a room away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ddan7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed at the Hampton Inn this past weekend. First, the staff is great. For such a large hotel it was great to see the General Manager carrying luggage in the lobby. Second, my room was very clean and everything was in working order. Last, the food at breakfast was great. I also stopped by the bar in the evening and that was very nice. I think that the bar area is a nice set up. If did not have plans I would have enjoyed the pub food and a few more beers. Overall great experience.

Room Tip: While the convention center is next door it is very easy to go out and walk to almost everything. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hello Mr. Dave, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Philly this past weekend. The associates work very hard to achieve this level of service and this feedback is very important to them.
Hope to see you back in Philly soon.
Thanks for being our guest!
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Perfecly situated for a family visit to Philly. Mid-length walk to all the attractions. Restaurants a short walk as well including the Market. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Will stay here on our return trips to the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I chose this hotel because it was close to the convention center. It is in a nice and quiet area of town, just across the street from the convention center and within walking distance of the historical areas of town. The room was nice and clean. The free breakfast had a nice selection of hot and cold food and a big breakfast area for guests to eat in. It was nice to have cookies and hot cider available in the lobby every evening. At night you don't even have to leave the hotel if you want to have some food. In the same area where breakfast is served, you can order food and drinks from a limited menu. The cost of the room is a bit high, though it is in the downtown area where you expect prices to be high. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger_weber, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review concerning your stay in Philly. Your comments are much appreciated and I really like the ones about the cleanliness and services of the hotel. This feedback will certainly help future guests when making a decision.
Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Weber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race St, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107-1517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £100 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing