We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another great hampton inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Ranked #30 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Israel, Jerusalem
Level Contributor
271 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“another great hampton inn!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

we arrived late at night and were welcomed nicely by the front desk. our room was clean, big and just what we needed after a train ride from DC. breakfast was fine, nothing special but not bad at all (eggs, waffles, fruits etc.). the hotel lobby and the area where you eat your breakfast looks nice, clean and comfortable. the concierge helped us find our way in the city and directed us to where we wanted and also helped us with leaving our luggage for the day and pick them up when we are done. location wise it was great too. very well located next to the convention center, walking distance to the terminal market, Macy's, city hall and right on the main street for public transportation without hearing all the street noise up in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amiroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Amiroi,

Thank you very much for the kind words regarding your most recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We look forward to see you soon. We understand that you have a choice in hotels and we thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting the area.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    707
    248
    95
    48
See reviews for
591
346
84
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I am a Hilton Honors member so I stay at Hiltons all the time. I've been in Hampton Inns before and I know they are not the same as the mainstay Hilton hotel.

Pluses: very friendly staff, very clean rooms, quiet (was on 11th floor), hearty breakfast offered, walking distance to all the historical sites you'd want to see in Philly; self parking super close to hotel

Downsides: smallish room (I had two beds in my room and it was very tight to get by the bed and desk), no water bottles available for breakfast (don't drink coffee or juice), small pool (smallest pool I have had been in at a Hilton); my key did not work in the pool area (some staff member was to rekey one and bring it to me but never did otherwise I would have provided 5 stars for service)

Overall I liked the hotel and would stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear David C,

Thank you for your review of a recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. We would also like to thank you for your loyalty to Hiltons Worldwide as a Hilton Honors member.

We are thankful to read that you enjoyed our service, cleanliness and location. We are also very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the size of our rooms and pool and had an issue with your key and accessing our pool area. I will be looking into whether or not there is an issue with the pool door lock itself right away.

On behalf of our entire Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City family, thank you again for your feedback and loyalty to Hilton. We look forward to seeing you in the near future and we will be happy to ensure all goes well for you.

Thank you,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I only write reviews on hotels and attractions that offer great service and dedication. Duyana Was a pleasure to talk with that made my reservation. Keep it up!!!! The room was clean and no smoke smell in the room. Loved the spotless bathroom. They really mean 100% or its free!!! And that is why I keep coming back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerzygirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear jerzygirl1965,

We would like to thank you for the kind words regarding a recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It will be my pleasure to share your review with our entire team and in particular with Duyana. Duyana has recently joined our family and will be thrilled to hear the kind words your write about the service she provided you.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center is very centrally located, within walking distance to the City Hall, Reading Terminal Market, and Historic District. The nearest rail station is the SEPTA Market East Station and the nearest subway is the SEPTA 13th St Station, each of which is about 5 minutes away by foot.

The hotel room is spacious, clean, neat, new, bright. The bed is comfortable and clean. There is a in-room safe box but it is hidden within the trap door in the form of a full length mirror outside of the toilet; ingenious!

For amenities, there is a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, and a 24-hour gym in the basement. The business center at the lobby level allows free printing.

The main course for breakfast was different on my 3 days there. I had bacon wedge potatoes, and scrambled eggs on my first day, sausage muffins and scrambled eggs the next day, and French toasts, wedge potatoes and omelet on the third. There were also standard fares such as bagels, muffins, cereal, fruits, oats, hot tea and coffee, cold juices, and self-cooked waffles. The last item was very fun to make and eat!

The hotel also packed breakfast into take-out paper bags and placed them on the front desk counter for guests to grab and go if they need to rush off for morning appointments.

In the mid-morning and mid-afternoon, pretzels and cold water with sliced fruits were placed at the lobby for guests to refresh themselves whenever they pop in and out of the hotel to and from meetings.

Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center offers very thoughtful services in anticipation of guests' needs. The Staff were also very professional and friendly, and greeted every guest they saw. Further, the room rates are affordable as compared to similar hotels in the same vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Actuarial_Math
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Actuarial Math,

Thank you for your review of a recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City.

We are thankful that you enjoyed your stay, the location, service from our team and the amenities offered at the hotel especially the breakfast.

Our entire Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City family works very hard to ensure that each guest enjoys their experience at our hotel. We would like to thank you again for the feedback and for staying with us while visiting the area.

Thank you,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonia,NC, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very clean, quiet place to stay. Better than average breakfast, nice snacks in the evening, very helpful staff, and within walking distance to most of the attractions. We had a wonderful visit thanks to all of you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Barry H,

Thank you for the feedback you provided in this review regarding your experience at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. Your feedback has been shared with our entire team and they were very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the entire Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City family, thank you again for staying with us and for the positive feedback.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis Missouri
Level Contributor
183 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I visited the hotel late March. Everyone at this hotel was great. The concierge, the housekeeping staff, and the registration desk personnel. We stayed with a group, so the rate was reduced, and we added on an extra night for an additional fee. Nice breakfast area with great staff helping to keep everything stocked and tables cleaned. In the evening the breakfast area is a small bar.
The hotel is next to the Convention Center and only two blocks from the Reading Market. It is also walking distance........six blocks or so..........from the Liberty Bell and historic area. You can pick up the "hop on hop off" bus at the Liberty Bell and tour the city that way. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear kobudo42,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. I would also like to thank you for the kind words regarding your overall experience at our hotel. We are thrilled that you decided to stay an extra day with us and that you enjoyed our service and wonderful amenities that we provide.

The entire Hampton team will be very happy to hear your feedback. We want to thank you again for the feedback, for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

It is conveniently located fot the Pennsylvania museum of Art, the Barnes, and other places of interest in Fairmont Park- all of these in walking distance.. They had a great list of restaurants with the distance from the hotel indicated.. The Door man was most helpful in giving directions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Irene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Irene N,

Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. Your feedback is very important to us. We understand you have a choice as to where to stay when visiting the area and we are grateful you chose to stay with us.

The entire Hampton team will be very happy to hear your feedback. We are thankful you enjoyed the location and the service we provided.

Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.


Warm Regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Address: 1301 Race St, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107-1517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing