We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Ranked #27 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I booked this hotel 6 months in advance to request a room that was quiet and with a view which comes from reading other reviews who noted this was worth having.
When we arrived at check in, we were ignored for some time while the staff member named A. chatted to another customer about Miller time, then took a phone call all without even acknowledging I was there. When it was finally my turn, I again politely mentioned the request and that it was a special occasion and how much we like Hampton Inns, being a Hilton member. Then she asked me to sign the check in billing form that had the wrong rate. When I pointed this out she told me it shouldn't have been there and when I check out it would be correct. Guess what? Not.
Anyway, the first room we received was on the 5th floor, beside the elevator and overlooking 8-10 large AC units whose noise you could hear before entering. I went back down and asked for another room only to be told all that was left was 401. We assumed we had to take it and got a room facing the main street where the tour buses park and across the narrow street looking directly into an office building. I also had to ask about breakfast, where and when, and only received the most basic info and nothing about other amenities.
Going downhill from there, upon returning from dinner later noting this hotel is in a great location to access city life, shops and restaurants, we overheard A. give keys to a room on the 11th floor to someone who just checked and in the elevator I found out the guest was not with any group, staying the same length of time and didn't make any special requests, just lucky she guessed.
Our room was a standard king Hampton Inn room, which is why we like this chain. It's reasonably large and comes with all the basic necessities and makes a point of stating they change the duvets between guests which I appreciate. Breakfast is standard Hampton fare. Fruit, cereals both hot and cold, waffle maker and a changing assortment of eggs and other hot items.
The problem here is there are so many tour bus groups coming and going that it can be difficult to time your visit as food may be cleaned out and tables dirty. The staff try hard but some times face a losing battle. Overall the food was good.
There is a small bar/lounge on site which is nice for a night cap but they really need to get wine glasses and stop using brandy snifters for wine.
With all this going on, I spoke to Jerrome the Assistant Manager who offered a sincere apology and offered to move us but as it was the next day and our things spread out and hung up we gratefully declined. Instead, I am pleased to say, Jerrome placed in our room a gift bag and balloons that definitely softened the whole episode and to that I thank him for taking the time to listen and care. And thank you Effy for correcting the bill at check out which I was told would be correct from when we checked in. We appreciate your help.

Room Tip: Make a request and keep fingers crossed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Grums,

First, we would like to thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn Center City Philadelphia and for sharing your feedback with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It will be my pleasure to share your kind words regarding the service you received from Jerrome and Essie with the entire team. Both Essie and Jerrome are valuable assets to our team and I appreciate the time you took to recognize them.

I would like to personally apologize for your overall experience here at the Hampton Inn. As General Manager, I am very concerned to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that you encountered the issues as noted in your review. Our team is very focused on improving the overall guest experience and your feedback will allow us to learn from and ensure it does not occur in the future. I assure you that what you encountered is far below our standards, unacceptable and I am truly sorry and disappointed for what you experienced.

When in Philadelphia in the future, please consider giving us another chance. We would love the opportunity to show you the service and amenities that we are all very proud of here at the Hampton Inn. Again, thank you for your business and the feedback regarding your stay.


Sincerely,

Dan Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

I booked three rooms for my family this past week while one of my children went for tests at CHOP.

I cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay, especially with regard to the kindness and attentiveness of the staff.

One staffer went out of his way to help us plan a quick trip to Independence Hall, and everyone we dealt with went above and beyond the call of duty. Another example was a gentleman in facilities (I presume) who put a refrigerator in one of our rooms when he overheard me asking at the front desk if there was some way I could keep some medication I had that needed to be kept cold. Lots of little touches like that from just about every one we dealt with.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Robert S,

Thank you for providing us with some valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It will be my pleasure to share your wonderful words regarding your experience with our management and team. I will be thrilled to personally acknowledge Richard and Tom (who helped with the refrigerator) for providing memorable service. Both Richard and Tom are valuable members of our team and I greatly appreciate your acknowledgement of their service. Our entire team works very hard on making each and every guest stay a memorable stay.

On behalf of the entire Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City team, thank you again for staying with us and for your feedback.


Warm regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Everyone is very friendly here, rooms are comfortable and close to a lot of things. We only stayed here one night but had a great stay. Breakfast was very busy but there was plenty of food and everything was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oneyearride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear oneyearride,

Thank you for allowing us to host your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It was our pleasure to host you and your satisfaction, feedback and business are very important to us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Our team works very hard to ensure every guest is 100% satisfied. Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. On behalf of the entire team, thank you.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here for a bachelor party in the city and the location was perfect. Great service and a nice room downtown. Very polite staff. Parking is just across the street and will cost you $25. Valet at the door is $35 a day. Make reservations well in advance as this hotel is adjacent to the convention center and fills up fast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Bob54,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City and for your feedback regarding your experience. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our location. Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Right by the Convention Center, Chinatown and Reading Terminal Market. Walking distance to Historic District and Museum/Art District. Good breakfast which starts your day off right. Our room was quiet and nicely maintained. The pool in the basement is small but ok. There isn't a restaurant in the hotel but in the lobby is a pub that has a limited list of menu items if you are scared to venture out after dark. There is parking close to the hotel but it is $25 a day/nite with in and out privileges. We had a rental car and only used it two times and could have probably turned the car in and been just fine and saved $100 on parking while we were there but we aren't familiar with the mass transit system and wanted to have the flexibility in case we went to Jersey or Valley Forge during our stay. Booked via Expedia using a buy it now special rate and it worked out great for our family vacation in Philly!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyHumbleOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear MyHumbleOpinion ,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. Your satisfaction, feedback and business are very important to us.

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable overall experience during your visit to the area and while staying at our hotel. Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is located directly north of the convention center so we had to walk through a tunnel to get to center city. This makes it convenient yet quieter than the hotels south of the convention center (unless the jackhammer salesmen are having their annual get together next door). Philly has a great mass transit system so it's easy to get around (there are a couple of subway stops within a couple of blocks) and those buses that go to all the tourist places will pick you up right outside the hotel. Rooms were clean, the staff was helpful and the breakfast was fine (although manipulating the self serve waffle maker with a hangover can be problematic). Unless you're extremely whiny (you know who you are--on second thought maybe not because the world revolves around you) this is a great place to stay if you intend to get out and explore Philly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Braden P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Braden P,

Thank you for allowing us to host your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests and your feedback is very important to us.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments have been shared with our entire hotel team.

Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We enjoyed our experience at the Hampton Hotel at the Convention Center in Philiadelphia. The rooms were clean and big, the complimentary breakfast delicious with much to choose from. We were in room 1018 and had a great view of the City Hall. The staff is wonderful - Raz at the Concierge desk is delightful and Danielle and Audrianna at Check in are wonderful.. The hotel is with in walking distance to Reading Market Terminal and China Town

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank zooliferus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear zooliferus,

Thank you for providing us with some valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It will be my pleasure to share your wonderful words regarding your experience with our management and team. I will be thrilled to personally acknowledge Arionna, Danielle, and Raz for providing memorable service. Arionna, Danielle, and Raz are valuable members of our team and I greatly appreciate your acknowledgement of their service. Our entire team works very hard on making each and every guest stay a memorable stay.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Dan Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race St, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107-1517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £93 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing