We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to other Hamptons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Ranked #30 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not up to other Hamptons”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

It has the shell of a very nice hotel, but seems to fall short in many areas.
Recently stayed at another Hampton Inn and this one wasn't up to the other.
Start with the fact that self park is another lot down the street, less than friendly. $25 a day. Staying downtown so I get it. But the people at the lot were rude and didn't start me out feeling comfortable about leaving my car there.
Room has nice enough beds and room were clean. But didn't have a frig - those were only guaranteed for suites. (Other Hamptons I've stayed at they were standard). Was able to get one brought up.

We are on a long road trip so laundry was necessary. The only machine (yes only one) had no soap for sale and front desk didn't either. (Despite a sign saying to ask front desk). And since there was only one machine in a minuscule room it made it very inconvenient.

Someone made a mess in the elevator and the hotel put out a barricade to point it out - but it was quite a while until it was actually cleaned. Not a pleasant ride up.

TV - yes. But kept flickering out on HBO and FX.
Free WiFi - with teens that's a must. But this Hampton only allows 3 devices to hook up. Well with a family or four that really doesn't work out. So I never allowed my phone to sync.

I liked that there was a safe , but question the wisdom of it being unmounted. Just lying in closet.

Ice machine didn't work. When I mentioned it to staff they just shrugged and said go to another floor.
Breakfast was nice. It was a full breakfast. (Eggs, waffles, cereal, toast, oatmeal)
15 minute walk to historic district and 5 minutes from Reading market.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Jason B,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City recently and sharing your feedback with us. Your satisfaction and feedback are very important to our success.

I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us. It is our goal to make sure you have the most exceptional guest experience possible. We are working hard every day to improve our service and the overall property and it is with feedback such as yours that we can learn from our shortfalls and ensure that they never happen again. We would love another opportunity to dazzle you and show you what a great hotel and staff we have.

Again, thank you for your business and the feedback regarding your stay.

Sincerely,

Dan Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    698
    245
    93
    47
See reviews for
585
344
84
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great location if you want to cover the entire area of the City Center. Reading Terminal Market is just a couple of blocks away. So are the Market East station (we took the train from the airport) and the Greyhound Bus Depot (we took Greyhound to NYC.) The Art Museum District is only a few blocks away.

We are walkers and walked everywhere--to the Art Museum District (Eastern State Penitentiary to Mutter Museum), to Walnut Street (for dining) and to Ben Franklin Bridge, Penn’s Landing and the Old City.

Advance purchase ($118) was a good deal.

The hotel itself is an average Hampton Inn, typical for a tourist area, meaning you have to fight your way through the crowds to grab your breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalKuidaore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear GlobalKuidaore,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It was indeed our pleasure to host you.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us including our great location within the city for sightseeing, dining and shopping. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast area was a bit crowded when you were attempting to enjoy our buffet.

On behalf of the entire Hampton Inn Center City Philadelphia team, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Our family usually stay at Embassy Suites properties, however, due to the free wifi at the Hampton Inn we decided to stay at this property while in Philly. The hotel was very centrally located to many tourist destinations although the neighborhood wasn't in the best part of town. During daylight hours the area appeared reasonably safe but not so much at night. Had I been more familiar with the area, I would have picked a hotel on the other side of the Convention Center where there are more night hour activities going on including Chinatown and Reading Market ( although closed at 6:00).

Anyway back to the hotel. The staff was polite, the room was clean and good size. There wasn't an alarm clock in the room and the pull out sofa mattress had seen better days as it was sagging badly. I was surprised and impressed by the hand written note from our housekeeper thanking us for the daily tip left for her services.

The included breakfast had limited options. Not the selection we are accustomed to at an Embassy Suites but satisfactory. It was very boring by our third morning.

Overall, the hotel was a bit above average but the rating was downgraded because of the location.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Irwin T,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It was indeed our pleasure to call your our guest.

I thank you for the kind words on the service you received while staying with us especially the handwritten note from the Room Attendant. Our team works very hard on making each and every guest stay a memorable stay.

I am sorry and disappointed to hear that you did not find certain aspects of your stay satisfactory including the alarm clock, sleeper soft (I will have it looked at immediately) and the breakfast options. We will be looking at what other options we can utilize on our breakfast buffet or change the way we are rotating the offerings.

On behalf of the entire Hampton Inn Center City Philadelphia team, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.


Sincerely,

Dan Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a nice change of pace to have a hot breakfast while sitting under shaded outdoor dining area right in downtown Philadelphia! They even offer a bagged breakfast to go if you don't have time to take advantage of this fabulous area. So different from the next hotel I stayed at where there was a sign strictly prohibitting you from taking food "on the go".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Karen F,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding a recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It was indeed our pleasure to host you.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your review/comments with our entire hotel team. Our patio area is a great place to have a nice breakfast like you enjoyed as well as an evening snack/drink from our bar.

On behalf of the entire Hampton Inn Center City Philadelphia team, thank you again for staying with us and for your feedback.


Sincerely,

Dan Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked trip for a college tour for son. Wanted something close to the college and in the city. Major city attractions were within walking distance and college was a 10 min drive away. Staff was very helpful in recommending place to eat and had an enjoyable meal at the "oldest ale house in Philly" at a place called McGillans, which is a place I would not have found on my own.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Steven G,

Thank you for staying with us recently while visiting Temple University with your son. It was our pleasure to host you and your feedback is very important to us.

We are grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us and our proximity to area attractions, restaurants and universities. Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. On behalf of the entire team, we wish you and your son the best of luck on the college search.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Convenient location downtown in the $200 range. Hotel decent. Hot breakfast ok. Parking kinda sucks though in the "self park" lot 1/2 block down the street. Cars are parked about 8" apart from each other. You're guaranteed some scratches down the side of your car after parking there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FlapjawJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear FlapjawJr,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It was indeed our pleasure to host you and your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Your feedback is critical to us achieving our goal of becoming a great hotel. I can assure you that we are working very hard on improving every aspect of the guest experience including parking.

On behalf of the Hampton Inn Center City Philadelphia team, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City.


Sincerely,

Dan Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and found it to be a good choice of hotel to visit Philly.
Good points : friendly staff, clean rooms, handy for reading terminal market, town centre, Hard Rock Cafe ,
Not so good bits: plumbing is very noisy from adjacent rooms, not so many bars or restaurants nearby.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Tam S,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding a recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your overall experience at the hotel, the service and location. I would like to personally apologize for any inconvenience the plumbing may have caused you during your stay with us.

On behalf of our team, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dan Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#20 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Address: 1301 Race Street, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing