We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District(Philadelphia)(Great Value!)
US$255
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
US$214
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$230
US$211
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$238
US$219
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square(Philadelphia)
US$246
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$263
US$213
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,054)
Filter reviews
2,055 results
Traveller rating
821
796
281
104
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
821
796
281
104
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centeracross the streethomeless peoplefree breakfastbreakfast staffreading terminal marketself parkingthe breakfast areawithin walking distancehot breakfastking suiteliberty bellfront desk stafffew blocksflower showconvenient locationyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,090 - 1,095 of 2,055 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

It has the shell of a very nice hotel, but seems to fall short in many areas.
Recently stayed at another Hampton Inn and this one wasn't up to the other.
Start with the fact that self park is another lot down the street, less than friendly. $25 a day. Staying downtown so I get it. But the people at the lot were rude and didn't start me out feeling comfortable about leaving my car there.
Room has nice enough beds and room were clean. But didn't have a frig - those were only guaranteed for suites. (Other Hamptons I've stayed at they were standard). Was able to get one brought up.

We are on a long road trip so laundry was necessary. The only machine (yes only one) had no soap for sale and front desk didn't either. (Despite a sign saying to ask front desk). And since there was only one machine in a minuscule room it made it very inconvenient.

Someone made a mess in the elevator and the hotel put out a barricade to point it out - but it was quite a while until it was actually cleaned. Not a pleasant ride up.

TV - yes. But kept flickering out on HBO and FX.
Free WiFi - with teens that's a must. But this Hampton only allows 3 devices to hook up. Well with a family or four that really doesn't work out. So I never allowed my phone to sync.

I liked that there was a safe , but question the wisdom of it being unmounted. Just lying in closet.

Ice machine didn't work. When I mentioned it to staff they just shrugged and said go to another floor.
Breakfast was nice. It was a full breakfast. (Eggs, waffles, cereal, toast, oatmeal)
15 minute walk to historic district and 5 minutes from Reading market.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Jason B,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City recently and sharing your feedback with us. Your satisfaction and feedback are very important to our success.

I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us. It is our goal to make sure you have the most exceptional guest experience possible. We are working hard every day to improve our service and the overall property and it is with feedback such as yours that we can learn from our shortfalls and ensure that they never happen again. We would love another opportunity to dazzle you and show you what a great hotel and staff we have.

Again, thank you for your business and the feedback regarding your stay.

Sincerely,

Dan Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great location if you want to cover the entire area of the City Center. Reading Terminal Market is just a couple of blocks away. So are the Market East station (we took the train from the airport) and the Greyhound Bus Depot (we took Greyhound to NYC.) The Art Museum District is only a few blocks away.

We are walkers and walked everywhere--to the Art Museum District (Eastern State Penitentiary to Mutter Museum), to Walnut Street (for dining) and to Ben Franklin Bridge, Penn’s Landing and the Old City.

Advance purchase ($118) was a good deal.

The hotel itself is an average Hampton Inn, typical for a tourist area, meaning you have to fight your way through the crowds to grab your breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GlobalKuidaore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear GlobalKuidaore,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It was indeed our pleasure to host you.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us including our great location within the city for sightseeing, dining and shopping. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast area was a bit crowded when you were attempting to enjoy our buffet.

On behalf of the entire Hampton Inn Center City Philadelphia team, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Our family usually stay at Embassy Suites properties, however, due to the free wifi at the Hampton Inn we decided to stay at this property while in Philly. The hotel was very centrally located to many tourist destinations although the neighborhood wasn't in the best part of town. During daylight hours the area appeared reasonably safe but not so much at night. Had I been more familiar with the area, I would have picked a hotel on the other side of the Convention Center where there are more night hour activities going on including Chinatown and Reading Market ( although closed at 6:00).

Anyway back to the hotel. The staff was polite, the room was clean and good size. There wasn't an alarm clock in the room and the pull out sofa mattress had seen better days as it was sagging badly. I was surprised and impressed by the hand written note from our housekeeper thanking us for the daily tip left for her services.

The included breakfast had limited options. Not the selection we are accustomed to at an Embassy Suites but satisfactory. It was very boring by our third morning.

Overall, the hotel was a bit above average but the rating was downgraded because of the location.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Irwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Irwin T,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It was indeed our pleasure to call your our guest.

I thank you for the kind words on the service you received while staying with us especially the handwritten note from the Room Attendant. Our team works very hard on making each and every guest stay a memorable stay.

I am sorry and disappointed to hear that you did not find certain aspects of your stay satisfactory including the alarm clock, sleeper soft (I will have it looked at immediately) and the breakfast options. We will be looking at what other options we can utilize on our breakfast buffet or change the way we are rotating the offerings.

On behalf of the entire Hampton Inn Center City Philadelphia team, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.


Sincerely,

Dan Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a nice change of pace to have a hot breakfast while sitting under shaded outdoor dining area right in downtown Philadelphia! They even offer a bagged breakfast to go if you don't have time to take advantage of this fabulous area. So different from the next hotel I stayed at where there was a sign strictly prohibitting you from taking food "on the go".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Karen F,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding a recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It was indeed our pleasure to host you.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your review/comments with our entire hotel team. Our patio area is a great place to have a nice breakfast like you enjoyed as well as an evening snack/drink from our bar.

On behalf of the entire Hampton Inn Center City Philadelphia team, thank you again for staying with us and for your feedback.


Sincerely,

Dan Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked trip for a college tour for son. Wanted something close to the college and in the city. Major city attractions were within walking distance and college was a 10 min drive away. Staff was very helpful in recommending place to eat and had an enjoyable meal at the "oldest ale house in Philly" at a place called McGillans, which is a place I would not have found on my own.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Steven G,

Thank you for staying with us recently while visiting Temple University with your son. It was our pleasure to host you and your feedback is very important to us.

We are grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us and our proximity to area attractions, restaurants and universities. Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. On behalf of the entire team, we wish you and your son the best of luck on the college search.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews