We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The staff at this Hampton are extremely helpful, friendly and caring. They went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. This was one of the cleanest hotels that we have had the pleasure to stay at as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Kathleen C,

Thank you for allowing us to host your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. Your feedback is very important to us.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be my pleasure to share your review/comments with our entire hotel team.

Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Dan Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our stay was pleasant, the front desk people were not overly friendly. The best person on staff is Phyllis, she helped us all the time with suggestions and getting us transportation when needed.

Room was clean, the free breakfast was good, it was quite busy on the Saturday we were leaving , there were a lot of empty chaffing dishes, you would think that the staff would make sure that everything was full at all times.

Hotel is clean and convenient to most places, whether by subway or walking.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJ617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear KJ617,

Thank you for providing us with some valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It will be my pleasure to personally share your wonderful words regarding Phyllis and your service experience with her and your entire team. Phyllis is a valuable asset to our hotel and I greatly appreciate your acknowledgement of her service.

I will also be looking into the breakfast feedback you provided. Your feedback is appreciated due to the fact that if I am not aware something is broken, I will not be able to fix it.

Again, thank you for your feedback. On behalf of the entire Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Dan Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This is next to the convention center, a couple of blocks from city hall (steps of Rocky fame), and near many restaurants. We got it for $139, which is what I paid for a different hotel in the Baltimore suburbs near nothing. It was very clean, the lobby was nice, and the breakfast was the normal Hampton one. The only negative was $35 valet parking, but that seems to be the norm in many cities.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank MizzouLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear MizzouLizard,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding a recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. Your feedback is very important to us.

I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your overall experience at the hotel and our location. Our parking prices are competitive in the Center City area of Philadelphia however I understand that the price is surprising to some of our guests.

On behalf of our team, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Dan Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

It has the shell of a very nice hotel, but seems to fall short in many areas.
Recently stayed at another Hampton Inn and this one wasn't up to the other.
Start with the fact that self park is another lot down the street, less than friendly. $25 a day. Staying downtown so I get it. But the people at the lot were rude and didn't start me out feeling comfortable about leaving my car there.
Room has nice enough beds and room were clean. But didn't have a frig - those were only guaranteed for suites. (Other Hamptons I've stayed at they were standard). Was able to get one brought up.

We are on a long road trip so laundry was necessary. The only machine (yes only one) had no soap for sale and front desk didn't either. (Despite a sign saying to ask front desk). And since there was only one machine in a minuscule room it made it very inconvenient.

Someone made a mess in the elevator and the hotel put out a barricade to point it out - but it was quite a while until it was actually cleaned. Not a pleasant ride up.

TV - yes. But kept flickering out on HBO and FX.
Free WiFi - with teens that's a must. But this Hampton only allows 3 devices to hook up. Well with a family or four that really doesn't work out. So I never allowed my phone to sync.

I liked that there was a safe , but question the wisdom of it being unmounted. Just lying in closet.

Ice machine didn't work. When I mentioned it to staff they just shrugged and said go to another floor.
Breakfast was nice. It was a full breakfast. (Eggs, waffles, cereal, toast, oatmeal)
15 minute walk to historic district and 5 minutes from Reading market.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Jason B,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City recently and sharing your feedback with us. Your satisfaction and feedback are very important to our success.

I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us. It is our goal to make sure you have the most exceptional guest experience possible. We are working hard every day to improve our service and the overall property and it is with feedback such as yours that we can learn from our shortfalls and ensure that they never happen again. We would love another opportunity to dazzle you and show you what a great hotel and staff we have.

Again, thank you for your business and the feedback regarding your stay.

Sincerely,

Dan Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great location if you want to cover the entire area of the City Center. Reading Terminal Market is just a couple of blocks away. So are the Market East station (we took the train from the airport) and the Greyhound Bus Depot (we took Greyhound to NYC.) The Art Museum District is only a few blocks away.

We are walkers and walked everywhere--to the Art Museum District (Eastern State Penitentiary to Mutter Museum), to Walnut Street (for dining) and to Ben Franklin Bridge, Penn’s Landing and the Old City.

Advance purchase ($118) was a good deal.

The hotel itself is an average Hampton Inn, typical for a tourist area, meaning you have to fight your way through the crowds to grab your breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GlobalKuidaore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear GlobalKuidaore,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It was indeed our pleasure to host you.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us including our great location within the city for sightseeing, dining and shopping. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast area was a bit crowded when you were attempting to enjoy our buffet.

On behalf of the entire Hampton Inn Center City Philadelphia team, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Dan Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Our family usually stay at Embassy Suites properties, however, due to the free wifi at the Hampton Inn we decided to stay at this property while in Philly. The hotel was very centrally located to many tourist destinations although the neighborhood wasn't in the best part of town. During daylight hours the area appeared reasonably safe but not so much at night. Had I been more familiar with the area, I would have picked a hotel on the other side of the Convention Center where there are more night hour activities going on including Chinatown and Reading Market ( although closed at 6:00).

Anyway back to the hotel. The staff was polite, the room was clean and good size. There wasn't an alarm clock in the room and the pull out sofa mattress had seen better days as it was sagging badly. I was surprised and impressed by the hand written note from our housekeeper thanking us for the daily tip left for her services.

The included breakfast had limited options. Not the selection we are accustomed to at an Embassy Suites but satisfactory. It was very boring by our third morning.

Overall, the hotel was a bit above average but the rating was downgraded because of the location.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Irwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Irwin T,

Thank you for the feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It was indeed our pleasure to call your our guest.

I thank you for the kind words on the service you received while staying with us especially the handwritten note from the Room Attendant. Our team works very hard on making each and every guest stay a memorable stay.

I am sorry and disappointed to hear that you did not find certain aspects of your stay satisfactory including the alarm clock, sleeper soft (I will have it looked at immediately) and the breakfast options. We will be looking at what other options we can utilize on our breakfast buffet or change the way we are rotating the offerings.

On behalf of the entire Hampton Inn Center City Philadelphia team, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.


Sincerely,

Dan Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a nice change of pace to have a hot breakfast while sitting under shaded outdoor dining area right in downtown Philadelphia! They even offer a bagged breakfast to go if you don't have time to take advantage of this fabulous area. So different from the next hotel I stayed at where there was a sign strictly prohibitting you from taking food "on the go".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Karen F,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding a recent stay at the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City. It was indeed our pleasure to host you.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your review/comments with our entire hotel team. Our patio area is a great place to have a nice breakfast like you enjoyed as well as an evening snack/drink from our bar.

On behalf of the entire Hampton Inn Center City Philadelphia team, thank you again for staying with us and for your feedback.


Sincerely,

Dan Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center

Address: 1301 Race St, corner of 13th St. and Race St., Philadelphia, PA 19107-1517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £91 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is ideally located in downtown Philadelphia across the street from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and only blocks from many major companies. Philadelphia International Airport is only 30 minutes away. Our hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the Betsy Ross House, and Penn’s Landing, and only 15 minutes from the Wells Fargo Center, Lincoln Financial Field, and Citizens Bank Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing