We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehhhhh”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Not what you would expect from a Hilton. Although, I feel many of them are slipping. Ther service was not great, pretty much forgettable, just like the decor. The positive is, that it is right on Penn's campus but there are other options too that we will try next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagles215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Director of Sales at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear our location and wifi were positive notes in your stay. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback on our service and breakfast offerings has been shared with our team and it will help us to better deliver this brand promise moving forward. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Nancy Baragt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,393)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Inn at Penn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

One of the nicest hotels i've stayed. It is expensive, but you get what you pay for. It feels very pleasant all throughout. Love the interior, the bed, the pillows and the toiletries (Peter Thomas Roth). I feel pampered. It was a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hotel was a great hotel. It was in a nice and quiet location. The staff was great and very helpful when it came to getting directions. The breakfast was REALLY expensive so we chose not to eat at the hotel. Great hotel overall, though

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HistoryDude14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Very disappointing hotel. The staff - and I dealt with quite a few - were unfriendly, unhelpful and just plain rude. The hotel is nothing special and certainly not somewhere I'd look to stay again. Food at breakfast was depressingly bad. I don't really have any positives for this hotel other than the fact that it appears to be in a decent part of Philadelphia and it has free wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This is as nice a hotel room as I've experienced. The beds are great; the room is well laid out; the bathroom is large, nicely lit (with a variety of well explained options), and thoroughly stocked with fluffy towels. The staff here really strives for excellence and service - and invariably they achieve their goal. The breakfast buffet is a little over priced but eating there is optional. All in all, a great experience!!

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank ATAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This is one of the all around best hotels I have ever stayed out. It is really opulent, but it is exactly what you need and just got everything right. From the valet to the desk staff to the restaurant to the maids...everyone was just really, genuinely nice. The room was generous, neatly appointed and clean. The entire hotel was clean. The breakfast buffet was generous, but not over the top. I chose this hotel because of the location to my destination in Philadelphia, but would go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennATl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

the rooms are lovely, with a complimentary iPad for our use! The breakfast was also good, along with the fitness facilities. A little pricey, but overall good!

Make sure to walk around the Penn campus while you visit, especially walk along the Ben Franklin walkway and through the main campus where you can see various sculptures (including the famous LOVE statue). The Penn bookstore is also great and real close by, though pretty expensive (as most college bookstores are).

The affiliated restaurant, Penne, wasn't remarkable, however -- a pretty basic and unoriginal italian restaurant. Nice ambience and service, but OK food. POD, an asian-fusion restaurant in the same block, has original flavors and dishes, but is very overpriced. Go to either of these if you want to go somewhere really nearby, but aren't looking for an amazing experience.

The BEST restaurant around (on Penn's campus) is definitely DISTRITO, a new-age mexican restaurant on the edge of the Penn campus -- not cheap, but incredibly delicious and fun! Make sure to have their specialty margaritas and Chicken Mole.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaylorHillLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 87 in Philadelphia
808 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,275 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 87 in Philadelphia
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £131 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing