We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly pleasant.”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Surprisingly pleasant.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The common areas of the hotel were clean, attractive and well maintained. The staff were helpful, attentive and nice.
The rooms were adequate size, pleasant and clean. The bed was very comfortable. I had food service late (about 10 pm because my flight arrived late) yet, the food arrived promptly, was good and arrived hot.

The food served at the small conference I attended was excellent!

The bathroom was average. It was average size. It was clean and there was ample counter space for toiletries and folded clothes. The double shower heads was great, one large, strong pressure, nice hot water and the othera hand held if you desired to use it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJNMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    351
    77
    27
    10
See reviews for
421
201
92
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinati
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

terrible experience with making reception. called 3 people, the reservationist was in "a meeting" took an hour. the hotel is ok, food not good. good location next to Penn. it says i must have 200 characters in a message in order for trip advisor to accept this. is this another Hilton requirement, frustrating cannot even submit this from hilton site

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank CincinatiLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
I appreciate your response. After carefully researching your feedback, it is clear that you did not make your arrangements through the Inn at Penn. Rather you were attending a WEE Leadership Edge program and made your arrangements through the Steinberg Conference Center. They book these rooms and then send us a rooming list. All your meal functions were at the Steinberg Conference Center. We will advise their management of your feedback. They are a separate enterprise a few blocks away. Your overnight accommodations were with our hotel and it does seem that you experienced some difficulty in posting your feedback from your guest comment survey to Trip Advisor. I'm very sorry for that. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel! We booked a room for college visits. The Hilton is a short walk to UPenn and Drexel, as well as shopping and eateries (which is helpful considering you are in a busy city and parking is at a premium, hence the $40 valet fee). Hilton staff was friendly and helpful, hotel was spacious and very well decorated. Would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Far Rockaway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We have stayed at this hotel a dozen times, and each visit gets better. Convenient to University City, and an easy taxi ride to Rittenhouse Square, the hotel is located at the edge of the UPenn campus. Large rooms, helpful and cordial staff, and a decent connected bar and restaurant






Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BAClayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in June of 2013. We enjoyed being at the University of PA campus.
The rooms was nice and the staff very friendly and helpful.
We ate at Cosi cafe for breakfast since it had an outdoor sitting area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuniko D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarks summit, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Inn at Penn Hilton is a beautiful hotel, very clean and staff was very attentive. It was close to the Hospital of The University of Pennsylvania. Also close to the University of Pennsylvania. I will stay at this hotel again if we need to go back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Madelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were staying in Philly for just 1 night, and after reading multiple reviews on here for so many hotels, I booked this one. I made the right choice. We took the eat, sleep, and park deal, which included the breakfast ($20 value pp) and parking ($39 value). The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and clean. The room was picture-perfect and had a very comfortable bed, and the bathroom was super-clean. We loved the decor as well - gave us decorating ideas for home! The breakfast was pretty decent, though not superlative; the made-to-order omelets was a nice perk, and there was a variety of cereals, breads, etc. We found that the hotel was a short jaunt from Insomnia Cookies. Head over there too!! Nothing beats a warm cookie topped with ice cream at 11pm :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,782 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Property: Hilton Inn at Penn
Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing