We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around great experience”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montville
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All around great experience”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel multiple times over the last few months due to a loved one being hospitalized at HUP. The staff could not be more attentive and caring upon learning of our situation. The hotel is very clean and very modern. There is a cozy bar with a lot of character that is the perfect place to unwind after a long day. I wish the fitness center were a little larger with a little more variety, but it is more than adequate. If you want to grab a quick breakfast, there are a Dunkin Donuts and Starbucks close to the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    355
    79
    27
    10
See reviews for
444
206
92
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Elgin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Overall clean with a very classy, rich texture. By that I mean wood trim in and around lobby. Nice library/sitting area. Rooms were clean. Bkfst buffet was good. GREAT bed and a great night's rest! Excellent hotel in the Hilton brand for a stay at the university or a stay in town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed here last weekend while visiting daughter and loved the hotel. The room was modern, the lobby beautiful the bell and desk attendants were very helpful. Close to many things in Philly. Loved this hotel - we usually stay at Marriott and this was a welcome surprise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here on a business trip, and was I happy with the high quality of this hotel! It is in a wonderful location near UPenn, restaurants and other attractions. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and although contemporary, has the kind of warmth and character often hard to find in a modern hotel. It has a super-inviting library/small bar area with a fire in the hearth on cool nights.... you will not want to leave it.

The rooms were extremely comfortable, nicely furnished, and room service was fantastic - food prepared just right, and on time. All of the staff were extremely courteous and professional. And, the hotel has a strong environmental sustainability focus such as neat recycling wastebaskets in the rooms - also an iPad in every room so you can just order room service or get hotel info from there. I really appreciated that this hotel is managed in such a responsible and caring way.

Can't recommend this highly enough. It is a great place to stay in Philly.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank historylover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A splendid, clean hotel, with knowledgeable, attentive staff. The facilities are very clean, the fitness center provided numerous cardio plus strengthening options, and the location was perfect. The room was very quiet with beds outfitted with high quality linens.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

As an experienced and frequent traveler I can honestly say that I have NEVER had encountered such a sincere, personal, and accommodating Front Desk staff. I spent (and still do) several days at the Inn at Penn due to an illness that put my wife in the hospital at the University of Penn Hospital. Picked first because of its proximity to the hospital (and Hilton is my Hotel of choice), I will now go out of my way and stay there on any visit to Philadelphia. Everyday, the staff would send prayers and well wishes to my wife as I left the hotel for the day. Since the situation was questionable about a release date, the staff gave me the much needed flexibility during my stay - that was one stress they relieved me of and for that I am grateful. Did I mention that the place is spotless and richly appointed?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The room layout and condition was top notch. The maintenance and management of the hotel was excellent. Also the Italian restaurant within hotel had excellent cuisine

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,059 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Property: Hilton Inn at Penn
Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing