We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Perhaps the most accommodating staff I have ever encountered. They staff remained friendly and helpful in spite of being busy. The hotel is near the universities and restaurants. The hotel is clean and modern. The rooms are large and the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Elizabeth H-
Thank you for the great review of your recent stay. We do like to think we have the best staff in Philly, as they care so well for our guests! Our location is perfect near the universities, center city, shopping, attractions, and many delicious restaurants. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    355
    79
    27
    10
See reviews for
448
209
92
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Inn at Penn was an excellent choice for our overnight stay in Philadelphia. The hotel was recently renovated and offered all the services any Hilton guest could expect. The bed was so comfortable, the bathroom was quite luxurious and our stay far exceeded our expectations. The parking is expensive to valet overnight 40 bucks but we had booked the room in advance and had a rate of $113 a night, so in the end I guess it washes out. There is a nice selections of restaurants in the area and this property far outshines the 70's style Sheraton around the corner. Overall this was an wonderful winter retreat for two gladly appreciate parents greatly in need of a night out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Director of Sales at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hello and Happy New Year! We are thrilled that you thouroughly enjoyed your recent stay at the Hilton Inn at Penn. Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We are very proud of our "hidden gem" and staff. We love that we are so well thought of by our past guests hope not to stay a 'hidden" gem. We look forward to your return visit. Regards, Nancy Barag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardsley, PA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I had occasion to stay at the Inn at Penn during a snowstorm. Even though I live in the area, I had an appointment at the University of Pennsylvania Hospital and thought staying nearby would be prudent.

As mentioned in other reviews the rooms are well appointed and fresh. Room lights and HVAC are activated by inserting your key card in a device near the door.

Downside was the restaurant. Room service did not answer the phone. I made 3 attempts to call over a half hour period. Another guest had complained about the same issue as I was checking in, and a member of the front desk went down to the restaurant to resolve the problem at that time. I was disappointed that it was not resolved when I called. I ended up eating in the restaurant. I found service to be on the slow side, the wait staff tended to congregate near the kitchen and no one staffed the host stand (where the phone for room service was, hence the lack of an answer). The food was generally good but on the pricy side.

Breakfast is normally served on the lobby level but was moved to the main restaurant due to renovations.

On a separate note, the front desk and bell staff that attended to me when I checked in at 6 PM were still in duty to check me out at 9 AM the next morning, due to the storm. They appeared fresh and were very pleasant. Kudos to them for the long hours and professionalism! Job well done.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for the candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our fresh rooms and we will be sure to pass on your kudos to our staff. We apologize for the inconvenience with Room Service, and will definitely be looking into this to be sure it does not happen again. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, as this is the only way we can improve. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels and so it's rare that I give enthusiastic reviews to any hotel but this hotel was really outstanding in every way. The rooms are very modern, down to little accessories like providing an iPad for each alarm clock. If you're going to be around Penn at all, you can't ask for a better location. It's right across the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfamilyinchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had the occasion of visitng UPenn on a college tour with my eldest son. I chose this hotel becuase of its proximity to the school. It made for a wonderful stay. The staff is very welcoming. the rooms spacious and comfortable and off couse the location is adjacent to this notable university. We liked the place very much and plan on making it our home while visitng our son during his studies there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great location, great value, excellent staff I stay in Philly area every 4 - 6 weeks and when I am able to obtain reservations here, I always try to stay at this hotel. This is centrally located and is usually a great value and a beautiful hotel. The staff members are highly respectful and knowledgeable about the area. I feel safe in the hotel also. I have yet to find anything to complain about when staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Excellent hotel if you are visiting Philly.... We booked this hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews and we were thrilled with the accommodations! Beautiful hotel, fabulous beds and friendly staff. Highly recommend....we will definitely stay at this hotel again if we have the opportunity to return to Philly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennessee_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
799 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Property: Hilton Inn at Penn
Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing