We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb staff...aimed to please!”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Everyone on the staff from the check in person and bell man to the maids were friendly and very helpful. They bent over backwards to accommodate our every need with a smile! We were there only two and half days but they remembered us each time we left and came back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank 475RebeccaB475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We will be sure to pass along your gratitude and appreciation to all of our staff. Be sure to stay with us again soon, hopefully for a few more days to see all that Philly has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Go there in confidence, this is a real great place to stay ! The personnel of the hotel is very qualitative and my stay has been a real great moment. The rooms are cleaned, the location of the hotel is very good close to Pensylvania University and Wharton campus (ideal for

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Frederic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for the fantastic five star review of your recent stay. We strive to provide the highest quality of service to all of our valued guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was a nice hotel. The service was good and the rooms were clean. There was a baby in the room next door, surprisingly, we only heard the baby a few times. The halls were immaculate and vacuumed most mornings, which meant no sleeping in after 8. Housekeeping was professional and discrete. If staying again in University City, I would definitely stay at the Inn at Penn again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay. We aren't as far from the city center as one might think, only a 10 minute drive or a quick train ride. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel defines the class and comfort. The room was clean and the staff made me feel extremely welcome. Whether I was coming or going, I was always greeted with a sincere welcome. I would stay here again, if I had the choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Donato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Donato A.- Thank you for the wonderful review and kind remarks! We strive to provide the highest quality of service and experience to all of our guests, and we truly value your appreciation of our efforts. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I just wanted to give Alisa in guest reservations a BIG SHOUT OUT. I called in to reserve two rooms
for my family and I during a hospital stay at University Hospital. Alisa was tremendously patient with me throughout the entire process. She eased my concerns and was very professional.

She gets 5 stars with me.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Alden B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Alden B-
Thank you for the great shout out to Alisa! We will be sure to pass along your thanks. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Upsides: Closest, most upscale hotel for those with UPenn destinations, with easy public transit access to Center City.
Downsides: Price (more for food than for rooms: room rates are reasonable for the quality of the hotel). Immediate neighborhood is rather dead after business hours.
Bottom line: If you want a full-featured business hotel with some surprisingly homey touches for a Hilton (check out the Living Room, a cozy lounge with overstuffed chairs and a fireplace), the Inn at Penn is an ideal choice.
If I could, I'd give this hotel a 4.5 rating. It's not quite at the top of my great hotel scale, but it's as close as you're going to get in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertGal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for the candid review of your recent stay. We do have a great location on the UPenn Campus, but within a close proximity to center city as well, with the train just a short walk away. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Inn at Penn is not cheap -- especially since it is just a standard Hilton name. However, if you have personal or professional reasons to be close to the universities, this is an ideal location. Convenient to trains, planes, and automobiles, and, good if you want to just walk to your destination and back.

The rooms are lovely. I have stayed here twice in the past month. My first room was outrageously fantastic -- large, thoughtfully appointed, included a seating area plus a dining room. My second room was considerably less spacious (funny how quickly you can get used to a higher standard of living!) but still plenty fine.

The views are not tremendous (though you can watch the sun rise over the skyline).

Some of the hotel staff can be a bit snooty, but this is largely limited to the front desk. The rest of the staff -- waitstaff in the restaurant, bellmen, etc -- were consistently pleasant and willing to assist.

The layout of the hotel is a bit odd, with two separate entrances on the street level, but the lobby one floor up. That would be fine, except that you can't cross between the two street level entrances without going up, and then back down. Also, the elevators to the ground level are in a separate bank of elevators than those going to the room; so, you must disembark and then enter a separate set of elevators, if not using the stairs.

Also, the second time I was there, of the 2 elevators going to the rooms, 1 was broken, which considerably delayed access to the other floors.

Majors points for the hotel breakfast. One of the best Hilton breakfasts I have ever had, with fresh squeeze juices, real croissants (as opposed to the grocery-store level croissants they normally provide) and actual muffins, instead of Otis Spunkmeyer wannabes. Also, huge logs of brie and other cheese. It was delicious. And, something that, frankly, all Hiltons should offer consistently across the entire chain.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemutlichkeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for 5 star review of your recent stay and your loyalty to our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience and especially our breakfast offerings. We appreciate the suggestions and feedback based on the layout of the hotel, as it is important to continually look at our hotel from the guests' perspective. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,552 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
833 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £110 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing