We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn at Penn”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My son got married in Philadelphia and myself and my guests stayed at the Inn. My entire experience was great. The bellman were so helpful. Bessie at the concierge was so gracious and hospitable. I felt like I was staying in her home. She is a gem!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay, and congratulations on the wedding! Bessie is so wonderful, and we are so glad to have her as a part of our team. We will definitely pass along your gratitude. Be sure to come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

827 - 833 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Let me get the bias out of the way - I am a Hilton Honors member. My wife and I stayed here for a week's vacation and from check-in to check-out this hotel was exceptional in terms of service. It is a little out of the city on the campus of Penn University. Most of the visitors seemed to have connections to the University, and the University Club breakfast area is also used as a club area for senior academics and managers. Indeed despite the rather bland exterior (don't judge it on Google Street View) the interior has the style and calm of a London club. At weekend there were notices on each floor stating (for the benefit of wedding guests!) that post 11pm was 'quiet time'.

Our room was spotless. I'd asked in advance if we could have a room with a view and the hotel delivered, which was a good start. Breakfast was good but after the first day we had a coffee and bagel at Cosi just around the corner because that's what we like to do - not a reflection on the hotel. We did not eat dinner in the hotel. There are quite a few places to eat around the hotel area but mostly they are for students. The student population also means that there is a good evening atmosphere and you will feel very safe walking around the area.

From the hotel it is a 5 minute walk to the #10 trolley (10 minutes) or 10 minutes to the fast blue-line metro service (5 minutes) into the city. Penn Station is perhaps a 20 minute walk. A taxi to the airport will take 20 minute and cost around $30. There is an Enterprise car hire two blocks from the hotel.

During our stay the toilet flush broke. We reported it at 9.30am and went out for the day. By 10.30 it had been sorted and the engineer had left a card with his name in case we continued to have a problem. Just one example of many. A courteous and helpful concierge, a smiling and very courteous barman and flawless front desk service. If you want a book to read then the University Bookshop is next door to the hotel entrance.

I've stayed in countless hotels around the world in the last 35 years. Others may have had a pool, more restaurants, a better view or more car parking. But for service of the highest quality and for a restful atmosphere the Inn at Penn is at the very top of my list.

Our visit was to celebrate our Ruby wedding. We'll still have great memories of this hotel by the time we get to our Golden wedding.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Scott408-
Thank you for the great review of your recent stay and your loyalty to the Hilton brand. Congratulations on your Ruby Wedding. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay from beginning to end. We strive to provide excellent service to all of our valued guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My son was married this past weekend in Philly and our entire party of family and friends stayed at the Inn at Penn. To a person, everyone commented on how lovely, clean and quiet our rooms were and how exceptional the staff was. Every person had a smile and a kind word from the maid to the Asst. Manager. The wonderful service started with Nashe' Scott who kept up with our many room needs and made every requested change without complaint. She also got it 100% correct! The housekeeping staff greeted us everyday with a smile and were flexible about working around the sleep schedule of my three week old granddaughter. The front desk staff gave us lots of friendly shout-outs as we ran by to all the wedding events. The valet service was top-notch and always got us cabs quickly and effeciently while asking about the various members of the family each day. They also took extra care with the carseats and wheelchairs needed by various people. Finally, I have to thank Bessie for going the extra mile and getting the medication needed by my daughter from her room to the wedding venue after it had accidentally been left behind. Thank you all for a wonderful experience!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Congratulations on the wedding! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that the entire event was wonderful and exceed your expectations. We hope you will come back to Philly again, and that we will be your first choice for hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here for a wedding in the area with many other friends and relatives. The hotel was aware of the wedding, service was excellent, rooms clean and a good size. Food for family brunch was very good. Perfect location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your wedding and stay at our hotel. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Awesome hotel (clean, great location, nice sized rooms)! The concierge is the sweetest lady ever and all of the staff are amazing! Great location as you can walk anywhere and there are lots of great hotels around the area! Would recommend this to all!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraW907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for the great review. We have a great location in Philly on the smart side of the city. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Friendly and prompt service. Excellent facilities. Not walkable to major attractions but not far by cab. Location on Penn campus provided a very pretty experience, great for walking--just not near major attractions of Philly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We do offer a great location in Philadelphia, with the city center a quick 10 minute drive away. We hope you will enjoy all that Philly has to offer on your next stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Few hotels deliver like the Inn at Penn by Hilton. First time staying there, but certainly one of my best stays ever. On site all week long, giving them 5 chances to deliver excellent service - and they delivered EVERY DAY. Clean, comfortable and courteous. The Inn goes on my favorites list going forward.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay. We strive to provide excellent service, and are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Be sure to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
815 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,395 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £127 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing