We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near downtown Philly”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here with my family (2 toddlers) in a double bed room over the weekend. Great, quiet location. Parked on the street. After 8pm, no need to feed the meter but you have to re-feed it at 8am. With two toddlers, that was never an issue. The room was very clean and great water pressure. The hotel provided us with a pack-n-play but the mattress was pretty hard so my daughter slept on the bed instead. It was a quiet room. There is a mini-fridge in the room. The location is very close to the Zoo and Please Touch Museum. We had breakfast at Sabrina's Cafe which was a close drive and very good. Had dinner at Baby Blues BBQ which was within walking distance to the hotel. Glad we stayed at this hotel for the price, amenities and location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

good location for Penn university / Wharton. Unfortunately my jacket got lost in my room which I had to change due to street noise, so this did not leave a good impression. Price is pretty high for an ok experience. Beds are very comfortable. No balconies.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Overall, I was very pleased with my recent stay at the Hilton Inn at Penn. I stayed here for 7 nights in early June 2014 and could not have been happier. I had a king bed corner room with views of the downtown Philly skyline out of one side. The Hilton bed was very comfortable, as always. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

One unique feature that this hotel has is that all rooms are equipped with IPads which can be used to find local attractions, order room service, etc. I had breakfast in the University Club every morning, which was good. The selection was good with fruits, pastries, cereals, and cooked to order items. The waitstaff was very friendly and prompt.

Location of this hotel is unmatched. Right on the UPenn campus, in the same building as the Penn Bookstore. Easy access to campus or to the trolley (less than a block walk) or metro (a couple block walk) to take you into old town Philly. One hint is to get trolley/metro tokens from the Penn Bookstore (during normal business hours) so that you don't have to carry exact fare with you on the trolley/metro.

Definitely would stay here again. No complaints.

Room Tip: I liked my top floor corner room for view of Philly skyline. Alternatively, view of Penn campus was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaNa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel was "Classsy", very clean and neat, with a nice, spacious, room that had a very comfortable bed, flat screen TV, Wifi, and even an ipad. The best part of the hotel is the wonderful staff that are very knowledgeable,professional, and will do anything to make you feel comfortable and at home. The holel is great, but the staff is better....a "Real Class Act".

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for such kind words regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. All of our staff strives to provide exceptional service, and we are pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A little pricey for room and breakfast, but it was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only problems we had was our iPad did not work, so we had no information about the times or prices for the hotel's food options.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Katherine-
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We do sincerely apologize for the iPad malfunction, and encourage you to call our front office for assistance on your next stay. We will definitely have this resolved, and hope it does not hinder your decision to stay with us on your next trip to Philadelphia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at the Inn for our son's graduation in May. We had a lovely suite, but the view out the window was of the roof. Oh well. The suite and the hotel are great. Service was wonderful and all who attended to us were exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay. Congratulations on your son's graduation! You must be very proud. We are so pleased to be a part of that memory, and hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was a good experience, from the driveway and rapid checkin, the helpful staff and the comfortable room. The gym is good. The only downside was arriving just after the hotel restaurant closed and not being able to find good late night dining options within close walking distance (plan for this if arriving late from the West Coast).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk61-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback regarding dining options, and will see to it that we improve our communication in the future. Penne Restaurant & Wine Bar is in the hotel and open late, as well as Pod, a Steven Starr Restaurant. We hope this helps on your next trip to Philadelphia. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £116 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing