We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for those going to Penn Campus, otherwise a bit out of the way”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for those going to Penn Campus, otherwise a bit out of the way”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Located in the heart of UPenn, this hotel is a cross between a boutique hotel and what you've come to expect from the the Hilton chain. Great location for those doing business at Penn, but seems to be a little out of the way if you're looking for tourist/nightlife/social things to do. Rooms are CLEAN, tastefully decorated, and decent in size. iPads have replaced the binders and all the little things you expect are available in each room. Check in agent was great, very friendly and knowledgable. The check out agent the next day was unfortunately rude and more interested in having a conversation with her co-worker.

All in all, definately once of my go-to hotels when visiting Philly!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you Mary L, for the positive comments. As for your experience at check out, I can assure you that is not the standard in our hotel. Rest assured that we will look into this potential service issue and determine if retraining is needed. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    355
    79
    27
    10
See reviews for
442
206
92
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great place at the heart of Upenn.

The hotel is walking distance from the train station, doable especially during daytime.

The only downside -- the hotel bar closes before 11, but there are other places around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks, Eugene K, for taking the time to submit a review, and a five-star one at that! Please keep us in mind when planning your next trip to the Philadelphia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We used this hotel to attend a wedding reception which was being held here. My husband and I were very pleased with the room we stayed in. The room was very clean, spacious, well appointed. There was a great tv and even ipad. Hairdryer, safe, coffeemaker. ironing board and iron are supplied. FREE WI-FI. The bathroom was large and immaculate! Plenty of towels and up-scale amenities in the bath area. Separate living room area (not a separate room) with sofas and chairs for watching tv or visiting - i think the couch is a sleeper sofa.

The cost is on the "pricey" side, but you are staying IN CITY PHILADELPHIA on a weekend night - it was worth it for me not to have to drive to or from a reception and to have restaurant facilities on site for the morning. Once there we had a "one stop" experience so the cost was not an issue.

Some people had problems with valet parking but we did not - our car was brought around very quickly.

The staff, i must say, was very professional and courteous. Friendly folks at the front desk answered my questions quickly and thoroughly.

I used the gym facilities in the early morning on Sunday and they were totally empty, but probably would be a little crowded on a weekday morning. This looks like a hotel where lots of professionals stay.

If you need to be at the Uni. of PA. or somewhere in that vicinity, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
ddhockey- Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything that we have to offer, and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, GA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Inn at Penn was a wonderful experience. From the bell hop to the front desk/check-in person it was a very awesome experience. The room was clean, beautiful, and very high tech. The iPads in the room were awesome, as were the mini fridge, the personalized air/heat settings, and the lighting in the bathroom. My only wish is that we could have stayed longer. The only downside is the $39 valet fee... but then again it was very fast and efficient and I realize that it is a downtown hotel so parking is going to be pricy. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had room 710 and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Ashleigh F- We appreciate the high marks, and your glowing recommendation! Please visit us again soon (and stay longer next time)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this hotel for business stay in UPenn/Drexel/Philly train station area. Rooms were spacious, free wifi, complimentary coffee and bottled water in rooms. Love that there is a 11 pm quiet policy in place, and I really could not hear anything outside of the room - door or window. A rarity in an urban hotel stay! So convenient to train station and the University area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank wonkavator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Wonkavator- Thank you for the fantastic recommendation and review of your recent business stay. Be sure to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

*Positives: Beautiful hotel, courteous staff, and wonderful rooms. This place is immaculately clean and modern. Very impressed. Great job, Hilton. Many professional/business travelers staying here. I got the impression not many large families choose this one, but for good reasons. It's meant for pro travelers, in my opinion. Quick check-in, quality service, and comfy beds.

**Negatives: Valet parking works just fine when checking in. However, waiting in a long line at the valet desk the next morning was annoying at best. Their parking system needs work. The hotel wasn't close to capacity. I don't know... Maybe it was the cold weather? Also, very pricey per night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ContraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here with my family (2 toddlers) in a double bed room over the weekend. Great, quiet location. Parked on the street. After 8pm, no need to feed the meter but you have to re-feed it at 8am. With two toddlers, that was never an issue. The room was very clean and great water pressure. The hotel provided us with a pack-n-play but the mattress was pretty hard so my daughter slept on the bed instead. It was a quiet room. There is a mini-fridge in the room. The location is very close to the Zoo and Please Touch Museum. We had breakfast at Sabrina's Cafe which was a close drive and very good. Had dinner at Baby Blues BBQ which was within walking distance to the hotel. Glad we stayed at this hotel for the price, amenities and location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,038 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Property: Hilton Inn at Penn
Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing