We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to Drexel U.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Conwell Inn
Ranked #60 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient to Drexel U.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Located on the campus of Drexel University, this is a nice and comfortable place. However, if you're interested in doing anything downtown, or, for example, U. of Pennsylvania, it is quite far and taxi rides are pretty expensive. Except for occasional students, or groups of students, the streets around the inn are deserted. I saw only a bookstore and a couple of low-end stores several blocks away. And the only restaurant recommended by the hotel is really what the name, Draught Ale, ssays--it's more a watering hole, though the food is good, and the service pleasant.
Two comments about the rooms--they have a separate sitting area, which would be convenient for families. The rooms' lighting system is a bit inconvenient in that there is no nightstand or lamp next to the bed, so that one has to turn off the lights across the room and walk to the bed in the dark. A modest breakfast is served in the morning (included in the price) and one can supplement it at the cafe accesible from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    83
    36
    13
    9
See reviews for
67
45
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The hotel is conveniently located right in the middle of Temple University Campus, just a few meters away from a subway station and minutes away from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. There are nearby supermarkets, coffee shops (there is one that can be accessed from inside the hotel) and restaurants. The staff was generally kind and helpful. The room was relatively large, cleaned on a daily basis and they offer free Wi-Fi internet and cable TV. There is no room service at all, but in the room you will find several menus from delivery services. Overall, it is a comfortable place to stay and the cost/benefit seems favorable. I would not mind staying there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_FLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Conwell Inn for 3 nights in Philly to go to the flower show and tour a little of the city. People familiar with the city implied that the area isn't very good so we didn't know what to expect.
The location of the inn, on the campus of Temple U, was very pleasant and extremely safe, with security and police presence around. We were 2 blocks from the Broad street subway for easy access into downtown and driving from there was also very convenient.
The room was large, pleasant and clean. I would have liked a more spacious counter in the bathroom but otherwise we were very happy with the accommodations. The included breakfast was limited, but enough to get you started.
Overall, a really good experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsorBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed their twice, with my prospective college applicant son. The first time we stayed two nights and our room was not cleaned, because we were in it till 10 AM and we got skipped. Don't buy passes to the gym as there is very limited availability.
The second time we stayed, we were informed they no longer offered $5 vouchers for the adjoining coffee shop, had no decaf at the continental breakfast (told me to make the instant in my room), the internet didn't work on our floor, the king suite we were in was very small, the door would get stuck on the carpet when opened and the only place to put the coffee table if opening the fold out sofa bed was stacking it on the desk. No TV on TV stand in sitting 'room'. I wish they had a separate switch for the light and fan in the bathroom.
Staff was sweet, but young and uninformed about local area. Not as represented on line and not much value for $206.

Room Tip: Besides a wall and door, the 'suite' was no different in size than an average hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittsbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Greetings,

First of all, thank you for choosing the Conwell Inn, not once, but twice. I deeply apologize for missing any opportunity to allow for a better experience while you were here. While there are several things that were definitely within our reach to take care of for you, I apologize for your dismay at the coffee shop and the fitness centers...neither of which we have any control over as they are individual, unaffiliated businesses and set their own rules, guidelines and practices. All in all, if at the end of the day you aren't happy, that ultimately falls on us. Again my apologies, and I do hope you give us another chance. Thanks again for being our guest!

Justin R Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

The Conwell Inn is located on the main campus of Temple University and very convenient if you have business on campus or need to be in that area of town.

The Inn is a short walk to the train line (which services the airport) and a subway station. It is adjacent to a coffee shop with pasteries. There is also a convenience store and restaurant/bar within a short walk as well as food trucks around campus.

A light breakfast is available in the morning. Fresh fruit is available all day. And fresh-baked cookies are available in the afternoon.

The front desk is often staffed by students but they are helpful and knowledgeable as well as responsive when the need arises. There is a business center in the lobby as well as tables where it's easy to meet with others.

The hotel is an older building so the bathrooms are not spacious but they are adequate. A vent fan comes on when the lights are turned on in the bathroom and that could be quieter. Also, there are no laundry facilities in the hotel which is inconvenient if you are there for an extended stay.

Parking at the hotel is limited to a handful of paid spaces, but worth the money for the convenience. Also being on campus and in an old building you sometimes encounter noises from people on campus late at night.

If you need to be in the Temple vicinity, the Conwell Inn is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyGiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We loved our stay at the Conwell Inn! We took a chance on this little out-of-the-way hotel based on reviews we'd read on a travel site. It was a great location: two blocks from the SEPTA, safe for walking about at all hours, and just a minute's walk from some groovy carry-out restaurants. Tons of food trucks were in the area too, so we ate really well each night!
The staff was super-nice and professional. They helped us make decisions about transportation, timing of public transportation for events, return to the airport, etc. (We were in town for the Peter Gabriel concert at the Wells-Fargo Center.)
We enjoyed both the complimentary coffee bar downstairs and the coffee shop on the premises. The breakfast offering was a little too limited for our tastes, so we patronized the coffee shop for that (but we gladly ate cookies and apples that the hotel provided in the lobby).
If we go back to that area of Philly, we'll definitely stay at the Conwell again. (We even bought four of their logo mugs to remember it by.)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Despite the fact that weekend staff was not top notch in service, it was a good place to stay. Literally on the campus of Temple University, you might think it's closed to outsiders, but it's not. It's even pet friendly. Bathroom was huge with a Jacuzzi tub plus breakfast. Parking was a bit of a headache being about 2 blocks away. Sat night we were awaken to a routy bunch who just left the bar around the corner. Front desk was not accommodating when we called to complain about the noise and only would call police upon our suggestion. I suppose you can only expect student employees to undergo limited, if any training to provide great service.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank keithpieper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Rodeway Inn Center City
#49 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conwell Inn

Property: Conwell Inn
Address: 1331 Polett Walk (was West Berks Street), Philadelphia, PA 19122
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Conwell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conwell Inn is a charming, boutique hotel, comprised of period style guest rooms, each reflecting our quaint, Victorian-style while hosting an abundance of complimentary services including free wireless high-speed internet, free afternoon tea and cookies and a complimentary copy of our local newspaper. The Conwell Inn offers all the luxury of a "big-chain" hotel with the ambiance of a boutique inn. Known for our exemplary customer service, we pride ourselves on offering the highest quality services available. The next time you visit this marvelous city, let The Conwell Inn become your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Conwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conwell Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing