We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Conwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conwell Inn
Ranked #60 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Manassas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have stayed at the Conwell Inn 4 times this year. The staff is always great and very accommodating. It is a perfect location to Temple University Hospital. Our last stay we had a king suite with a sofa bed and the sofa bed mattress was awful! Also when we flushed the toilet it made such a horrible noise and it lasted for about a minute. The Inn is wonderful other than needing some updates. Make sure you reserve a parking space with your reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLatimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Greetings and many thanks for being a Conwell regular and taking the time out of the day to post your kind words. For the next six months or so, "Updates" is our middle-name! Following the successful installation of flat-screens in all of the rooms, we're in the process of resurfacing our bathroom floors, hanging new window treatments, and installing new, lusher carpet in each and every guest room! We're bringing in the New Year with many changes and updates, and hope you can make it back once they're completed! My apologies for any issue you had with the sound from the toilet, and even more apologies if it wasn't addressed immediately. Our toilets have a specially installed water conservation system to boost the eco-friendliness of the hotel, and the changes in weather this time of year can call for a slight adjustment in some of them. Again, my apologies if that adjustment wasn't taken care of for you. Thanks again and we'll see you soon!

Justin R Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    86
    36
    14
    10
See reviews for
69
46
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

If you have to find an hotel in Philadelphia, you really can go in The Conwell Inn, You will not be deceive. The hotel is well situated, not far from the metro and not far from the old center of Philadelphia (15 to 20 mn with the metro). The area is quiet and pleasant. The reception desk is really nice. The rooms are very large. You have 1 shop around (24/24) where you can buy food. The breakfast is simple but ok and good.
There is only one thing missing in the room : a fridge

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francoise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Greetings and thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel. We like being able to cater to the international traveler during their stop in Philadelphia and we LOVE when we're able to make their stay all the more pleasurable! Thank you for taking the time to mention the size of our rooms...we pride ourselves on giving our guests more space than you'd expect from a "city" hotel! Also, we definitely have fridges available...I wish I had known you needed one! My apologies!

Thanks again, and we look forward to having you as our Guest in the future!

Justin R Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Had a little difficulty in finding how to get to this hotel as it is in a pedestrianised part of the campus but finally found the entrance to the car park. We had a family room which was very large and it was very clean. The beds were comfortable and we weren't disturbed by any noise although this may be different if you stayed during term time. The receptionist was really helpful and talked us through what to see and do during our short stay. there were complimentary cookies available in the reception when we arrived which was a nice touch. Breakfast was included but it was a basic cereal or make your own toast in the reception area - adequate but not very exciting. Would be happy to return - a straight run in by taxi to the centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights while my daughter and I attended orientation at Temple. The hotel is right on campus so the location was perfect for us. If you are visiting Philly for something unrelated to Temple, this hotel would NOT be the place to stay. The room was clean and comfortable. We requested a refrigerator and the hotel was happy to accommodate the request for $10.00 per night. This would have been fine except the first fridge didn't work at all and the second one kept things a little colder than room temperature. The desk clerk was very nice and offered to take the charge off the bill. There is a simple complimentary breakfast: juice, coffee,, yogurt, toast, etc. and fruit and cookies throughout the day. There is nothing available for vending machines (there is a soda machine in basement but it was not working) but there is a 7-11 and coffee shop right next door.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlr2623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here only for one night. The hotel was good value for the price. Subway to go downtown was only 5 minutes away. I also chose the hotel because I was taking a train to New York in the morning and you can take a train directly from Temple to the 30th Street Station in downtown Philadelphia. Room was surprisingly large, nice and clean. Breakfast was very limited but OK. Somebody warn me about the area but I went downtown and came back late at night and it did not feel unsafe. Overall a good experience. i would not hesitate to stay there again if returning to Philly

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtleticoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Located on the campus of Drexel University, this is a nice and comfortable place. However, if you're interested in doing anything downtown, or, for example, U. of Pennsylvania, it is quite far and taxi rides are pretty expensive. Except for occasional students, or groups of students, the streets around the inn are deserted. I saw only a bookstore and a couple of low-end stores several blocks away. And the only restaurant recommended by the hotel is really what the name, Draught Ale, ssays--it's more a watering hole, though the food is good, and the service pleasant.
Two comments about the rooms--they have a separate sitting area, which would be convenient for families. The rooms' lighting system is a bit inconvenient in that there is no nightstand or lamp next to the bed, so that one has to turn off the lights across the room and walk to the bed in the dark. A modest breakfast is served in the morning (included in the price) and one can supplement it at the cafe accesible from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The hotel is conveniently located right in the middle of Temple University Campus, just a few meters away from a subway station and minutes away from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. There are nearby supermarkets, coffee shops (there is one that can be accessed from inside the hotel) and restaurants. The staff was generally kind and helpful. The room was relatively large, cleaned on a daily basis and they offer free Wi-Fi internet and cable TV. There is no room service at all, but in the room you will find several menus from delivery services. Overall, it is a comfortable place to stay and the cost/benefit seems favorable. I would not mind staying there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_FLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn Center City
#49 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#64 of 85 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conwell Inn

Property: Conwell Inn
Address: 1331 Polett Walk (was West Berks Street), Philadelphia, PA 19122
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Conwell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conwell Inn is a charming, boutique hotel, comprised of period style guest rooms, each reflecting our quaint, Victorian-style while hosting an abundance of complimentary services including free wireless high-speed internet, free afternoon tea and cookies and a complimentary copy of our local newspaper. The Conwell Inn offers all the luxury of a "big-chain" hotel with the ambiance of a boutique inn. Known for our exemplary customer service, we pride ourselves on offering the highest quality services available. The next time you visit this marvelous city, let The Conwell Inn become your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conwell Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing