We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”
Review of Conwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conwell Inn
Ranked #61 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel was very convenient because we were attending an athletic event on the campus. The only negative thing I really have to share is about the bathtub/shower. The shower head was horrible and looked dirty and there was mildew around the tub/shower wall.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlc21236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

It was our first time in Philly and I was a bit worried about the crime levels there. But this hotel is in such a beautiful part of town. Sure it's in temple university but that's what made it so safe and beautiful. Temple has tons of police on duty and the historical buildings were a great view. The free breakfast wasn't the greatest. We ended up walking to dunkin donuts one morning and subway another. But other than that the inn is a great place to just relax.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLueders5238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I was accommodated here as a guest of Temple University who kindly footed the bill. It's not a big place but straightforward to find. I was allocated a King suite which had a reasonably-sized bedroom with a bathroom to one side and a sitting room to the other. Despite a number of windows, the whole suite felt dark although the appalling weather sweeping through Philly didn't help. The room was comfortable, the staff were efficient and friendly and the location was great for the university. The breakfast was adequate but all rather disposable - it's all self-service and rather limited. The bed had a blanket rather than a duvet and the bath was an old-fashioned shallow affair. Would I stay here if I wasn't visiting Temple? Probably not.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin_Dillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Conwell Inn on Temple University campus and loved it. The hotel room was spacious and very nicely appointed, the staff were very helpful and cheerful, and the location couldn't be beat. There are a number of low-cost restaurants nearby. We had to drive to get to a restaurant with "atmosphere," but Temple is so close to downtown that the drive wasn't a big deal. The hotel parking is right behind the hotel, and for an extra $15/night, was well worth the security of having our car close and not on the street.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We arrived on a Sunday evening on our way back from New England. We thought the Conwell Inn would be a nice, clean, economical stop-over on the long drive back to D.C. For $125, however, the room was dimly lit, there were grimy spots all over the furniture, one of the desk drawers was broken and hanging off, and the bed had long and short hairs all over the top cover.
We brought these issues to the attention of the desk clerk downstairs (after photographing everything) and she said, "Well, I can move you to a different room. We'll put you in the King, but don't worry, we won't charge you." (Providing a clean room as a favor to their customers... can you imagine!??!)

The second room, however, was just as filthy as the first. It was as if they forgot to clean an entire block of rooms. After more photographs, and pointing out more errors, the desk clerk said she would "cancel our reservation," but that we would still have to pay the $50 "cancellation" fee.

Long story short: this place is disgusting, and the unhelpful staff doesn't care to the meaning of hospitality or basic hygiene. We paid for a mistake that was not our own. On top of it all, their parking lot is super sketchy... it's nearby some dumpsters near tons of student foot-traffic from the row of nearby sports bars... so sketch that a police officer is posted their regularly to make sure "nothing happens to your car."

Room Tip: Stay somewhere... anywhere... else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have stayed at the Conwell Inn 4 times this year. The staff is always great and very accommodating. It is a perfect location to Temple University Hospital. Our last stay we had a king suite with a sofa bed and the sofa bed mattress was awful! Also when we flushed the toilet it made such a horrible noise and it lasted for about a minute. The Inn is wonderful other than needing some updates. Make sure you reserve a parking space with your reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VLatimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Greetings and many thanks for being a Conwell regular and taking the time out of the day to post your kind words. For the next six months or so, "Updates" is our middle-name! Following the successful installation of flat-screens in all of the rooms, we're in the process of resurfacing our bathroom floors, hanging new window treatments, and installing new, lusher carpet in each and every guest room! We're bringing in the New Year with many changes and updates, and hope you can make it back once they're completed! My apologies for any issue you had with the sound from the toilet, and even more apologies if it wasn't addressed immediately. Our toilets have a specially installed water conservation system to boost the eco-friendliness of the hotel, and the changes in weather this time of year can call for a slight adjustment in some of them. Again, my apologies if that adjustment wasn't taken care of for you. Thanks again and we'll see you soon!

Justin R Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

If you have to find an hotel in Philadelphia, you really can go in The Conwell Inn, You will not be deceive. The hotel is well situated, not far from the metro and not far from the old center of Philadelphia (15 to 20 mn with the metro). The area is quiet and pleasant. The reception desk is really nice. The rooms are very large. You have 1 shop around (24/24) where you can buy food. The breakfast is simple but ok and good.
There is only one thing missing in the room : a fridge

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheConwellInn_GM, General Manager at Conwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Greetings and thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel. We like being able to cater to the international traveler during their stop in Philadelphia and we LOVE when we're able to make their stay all the more pleasurable! Thank you for taking the time to mention the size of our rooms...we pride ourselves on giving our guests more space than you'd expect from a "city" hotel! Also, we definitely have fridges available...I wish I had known you needed one! My apologies!

Thanks again, and we look forward to having you as our Guest in the future!

Justin R Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,387 reviews
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn Center City
#56 of 88 in Philadelphia
558 reviews
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#53 of 88 in Philadelphia
126 reviews
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#67 of 88 in Philadelphia
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conwell Inn

Address: 1331 Polett Walk, Philadelphia, PA 19122
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £100 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Conwell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conwell Inn is a charming, boutique hotel, comprised of period style guest rooms, each reflecting our quaint, Victorian-style while hosting an abundance of complimentary services including free wireless high-speed internet, free afternoon tea and cookies and a complimentary copy of our local newspaper. The Conwell Inn offers all the luxury of a "big-chain" hotel with the ambiance of a boutique inn. Known for our exemplary customer service, we pride ourselves on offering the highest quality services available. The next time you visit this marvelous city, let The Conwell Inn become your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Conwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conwell Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing