We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief Visit in Philadelphia”
Review of Conwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conwell Inn
Ranked #61 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Champaign, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brief Visit in Philadelphia”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I checked in around 12:15 AM on a recent visit to Temple University for business. My brief interactions with the staff were helpful, informative, and friendly. The bed was very large and comfortable. The lack of a breakfast and few amenities will perhaps keep me from returning in the future although my visit was positive. If I return to Philadelphia in the future for sightseeing, I'd most likely stay farther downtown. The hotel's proximity on the Temple University campus is great for families visiting students. The SEPTA train line was within reasonable walking distance and took me only 20-25 minutes to arrive at the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    87
    36
    14
    10
See reviews for
70
46
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed for four nights. The king suite on second floor is not very large. Moved to a room on the third floor due to noisy floor above. Room was very small but quite nice. The prices vary from day to day but they are very reasonable for Phily. Ask for the AAA discount if you have one. No breakfast or free parking but street parking nearby if you park at night, garage available for $8. for the price it is a great place to stay. Very little street noise and friendly service. Lot of food service around the Temple campus where the Inn is located.

Room Tip: Rooms 210 and 310 are very large, 307 is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at the Conwell Inn for one night in May 2014. It has a safe and peaceful location on the compound of Temple University. Walking distance to Metro station and SEPTA regional train station (the regional train is going to Amtrak station and Airport). Room spacious, helpful staff. No breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
30150311 As Ge Belo Horiz
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Excellent hotel! Very clean, huge bed and a great shower! The staff were very attentive. The only problem is that there were few parking at the hotel, but the area is not dangerous and we left the car parked on the street. This hotel is about 10 minutes from the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luiza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you have any business at Temple University, the Conwell Inn is an extremely convenient place to stay. It is right on campus, a short walk from everywhere. You won't need to rent a car, because the inn is also located near several modes of public transportation (bus, subway, and train). Nice but not fancy, the inns' rooms are clean, in good repair, and include hairdryers and irons. The one thing the rooms don't have is a refrigerator, which makes it difficult to keep your leftovers from the many nearby food trucks. The inn offers free cookies and/or apples, but I am sorry to report that they no longer serve a cold breakfast (a big loss if you don't want to take the time to purchase food and couldn't keep your leftovers in a fridge.).

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook a main campus walkway where there are two local restaurants and a 7/11. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, PA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked the Queen suite with a small sitting room while attending a function at Temple and were very satisfied with the accommodations and the hospitality. Knowing the location, we asked for instructions on how to arrive at their parking area, so we had no problem, but I can see how it might be confusing. We found the reception to be friendly and efficient, and the suite to be more than adequate in furnishings and cleanliness. There were 2 new flat screen TV's, updated furniture and the bedding seemed to be new as well as very comfortable. The bathroom was impeccably clean as well. One shortcoming is the lighting in the suite, which is very dim and poorly placed making reading difficult. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of Temple's campus, making is very convenient for campus visitors. The pedestrian square where it's located is pretty, and there is a coffee shop adjoining the hotel lobby. The hotel itself feels a bit shabby, though. It was clean, but the beds, furniture, and bathrooms feel run down. One the plus side, our room faced the alleyway and was quiet at night. There were a few loud visitors in the hallway at night, but we didn't have campus noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbaChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#64 of 86 in Philadelphia
575 reviews
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#46 of 86 in Philadelphia
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn Center City
#49 of 86 in Philadelphia
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conwell Inn

Property: Conwell Inn
Address: 1331 Polett Walk (was West Berks Street), Philadelphia, PA 19122
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Conwell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conwell Inn is a charming, boutique hotel, comprised of period style guest rooms, each reflecting our quaint, Victorian-style while hosting an abundance of complimentary services including free wireless high-speed internet, free afternoon tea and cookies and a complimentary copy of our local newspaper. The Conwell Inn offers all the luxury of a "big-chain" hotel with the ambiance of a boutique inn. Known for our exemplary customer service, we pride ourselves on offering the highest quality services available. The next time you visit this marvelous city, let The Conwell Inn become your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Conwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conwell Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing