We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is perhaps adequate as an aspiring B&B...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It is perhaps adequate as an aspiring B&B...”
Reviewed 6 November 2010

It is perhaps adequate as an aspiring B&B, but falls short to be in the same category as a hotel. Check-in starts on the sidewalk when you pull over to the curb of the townhouse. No private drive to stop a car and unload. With hands full, we were asked to read policy and sign a form, present CC for the online reservation already using our CC number. Broken thermostat hidden behind a chest, shower switch engineered as a "faucet lip"... that required a written instruction how to use.
Heating in our room worked on "high" only. So we turned it of and used blankets instead. The beds were tucked so hard, as if stapled.
Window was located near the ceiling giving an impression that we were in a basement.
Our room was crowded with useless furniture and upright fan. The floor light turned itself on in the middle of the night...
The counter top "bar" ... priceless. The "lavish continental breakfast"... only for diabetics. Most choices loaded with sugar and sugar substitutes. A bowl fruit composed of mostly caned fruit with significant dose of preservatives and sweeteners.
Reporting our impressions to the front desk clerk generated ... "oh, so sorry..."
With almost no guests, we ended up occupying basement like cluttered room?!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    134
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
72
270
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We visit Philadelphia often and the 1715 Rittenhouse is by far our favorite hotel. The rooms are charming and extremely comfortable and feature all the modern conveniences. The service is friendly and always helpful. The continental breakfast that is included in the room rate is served in a delightful little "cafe", and features products from local shops in its foodie neighborhood. The location is excellent. It is adjacent to Rittenhouse Square and walking distance to all of the sights in Philadelphia, as well as to wonderful restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hen-nyTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I visited Philly with my mother to tour some museums and this hotel was the highlight of our stay! The staff was very friendly and attention to detail was amazing. The decor is lovely, everything was immaculate and nice additions like turn down service with chocolates at night, tea/coffee and cookies available all day in the lobby, and a delicious breakfast in a gorgeous "tea room" setting. Oh, and complimentary wine each day during cocktail hour! The rooms were thoughtfully arranged and even included a much needed large umbrella in the closet! The only minor negative is they do not have their own parking lot - but provide great info on parking options nearby that were reasonable and very safe for two women traveling alone. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed at the Rittenhouse1715 for 3 nights duing a recent 3 weektrip to the USA. We loved it and cannot recommend it highly enough. The decor is very tasteful and done quite recently I would guess. If you want ultra modern and minimalistic then this is not for you. If you want regency style and taste then you will love it. It is like a very large house so there are stairs and it is not so easy to cart luggage around as in a large hotel with long straight corridors.We had some help with ours and it was all fine. We parked our car ouselves about 5 minutes walk away it was cheaper and quicker than some valet parking we had at some hotels and unless you are disabled in some way I can't see why you can't park your own car. The hotel recommended the nearest and cheapest.
Our room was lovely. It had everything we could want and more. Little extras like a complimentary newspaper,chocolates, water and free wi- fi were certainly more than we got at the Copley Plaza in Boston, where everything was extra and at some cost! We appreciated the wine when we got in from a hot day sightseeing. It gave us chance to meet some very interesting travellers from other places and to compare notes.
Breakfast is continental and more than enough for what you would need. It made a nice change from a lot of the stodge you get at some B/B's. The receptionists were always very helpful and printed out many itineraries for us.
Stay here you will love it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandCarters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalTraveler
Level Contributor
222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Wonderful stay, wonderful location, wonderful property. 23 immaculately renovated rooms in three conjoined brownstones, this is the definition of "boutique hotel." I spend over 100 nights a year in predominantly nice hotels, this is my all-time favorite because it's intimate and interesting. The continental breakfast is comprehensive (fresh fruit, assortment of muffins, bagels, coffee cake, juice and coffee), and served in a nice 'garden motif' setting on china. Very interested and unique property - wish I knew of more like it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Very nice experience checking in. They helped us with dinner reservations, suggesting a great BYOB restaurant within walking distance. Room was clean and well stocked, towels and robes were fantastic. Quiet and charming.........a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellicott city, md.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

my husband and I stayed at the Rittenhouse 1715 in Jan. During our stay I said we need to come back when the weather is nice to take advantage of the outdoor seating at local restaurants. This was our "come back". Once again the hotel room( 415), was spotless. We liked the room so much we requested it this time. We walked to Parc for drinks and appetiizers . We sat at one of the tables inside the open windows, it feels very European. The drinks were good, service great and the tomato tarte delicious. The Rittenhouse serves wine at 5:30 in the drawing room. Once again we met some very nice people while sharing some wine. My complaint in Jan. was no red wine. Only white this time too.I think they need to add cheese and crackers or little snacks to go along with the wine, pretzels kind of cheapen the HH. We have stayed in other small hotels and B&B's who offer wine in the afternoon. All have put out cheese and crackers or fruit and cheese to accompany the wine. One can only wish!! Maybe next time! Thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ex-laxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Property: Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Sq, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6109 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing