We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Con Murphys”

Con Murphy's Irish Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Con Murphy's Irish Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 4,351 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 17th Street
Transit: This station is served by: Airport Line Regional Rail,Warminster Line Regional Rail,Wilmington/Newark Line Regional Rail,West,Trenton Line Regional Rail,Media/Elwyn,Line Regional Rail,Lansdale/Doylestown Line Regional Rail,Paoli/Thorndale Line Regional Rail,Manayunk/Norristown Line Regional Rail,Cynwyd Line Regional Rail,Chestnut Hill East
Description: Con Murphy's is an authentic cozy Irish Pub in the heart of Center City. Just a stones throw from Philly's best museums, hotels & attractions. Serving perhaps the best pint of Guinness in the city, along with 11 other beers on tap, a classy yet comfortable pub awaits you. With an outdoor patio right on The Ben Franklin Parkway there's no better place for people watching & taking in a nice sunset. Con Murphy's have created a menu to please all palates from the traditional Shepherds Pie (made with Lamb) & Fish'n'Chips to NY Strip Steaks & the local favorite Philly Cheesesteak. There is always a nice selection of seafood and daily specials available also. Finish off your meal with our delicious selection of housemade desserts that include Key Lime Pie, Chocolate Flourless Torte, Grand Marnier Creme Brulee and more. Of course an Irish pub isn't authentic without a traditional Irish Breakfast which is available on the breakfast menu that is served 7 days a week along with other morning-time favorites.
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love Con Murphys”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Was just in Philly for the Philadelphia Marathon. We have been here before and Con Murphy's does not dissapoint. The location is excellent. The food is very good and the selection of local and regional craft ales is outstanding! The service has always been great and I love the setting inside. We will come back each time we go to Philly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lifl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam K, General Manager at Con Murphy's Irish Pub, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you very much for stopping by & for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your loyalty to our little pub! See you soon hopefully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    150
    69
    24
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
200 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food and a lively bar”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The service was very good and we enjoyed the Philly cheesesteak. The server told us that it was not authentic (something about a different kind of cheese) but she highly recommended it, and she was right. It was a busy night and most of the patrons were young, maybe a college crowd, but there were a few groups that seemed to be people coming from work. Overall, a pleasant crowd. There was live music, but the acoustics in certain parts of the restaurant made the two musicians sound as if they were competing with one another. This was not the case everywhere - just in the back room. The dessert menu had a lot to offer and the bread pudding that we tried was very, very, good. They have a nice selection of beer, including a few crafts that you don't see very often.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CSI-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam K, General Manager at Con Murphy's Irish Pub, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you very much for stopping by & for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it. Your kind words are great to hear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Noisy”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Went in for a quick bite. The fish and chips were very heavy on the coating, same for the chicken fingers. The hostess was not very accommodating, she told us she couldn't seat us upstairs, she wanted us at the bar. I insisted on going upstairs and she did find us a table and it was not even full up there. I understand that this is an Irish pub, however, the noise level was unbearable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debsnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food/pub”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Beer and fries were good. Good crowd for Monday night and staff was friendly. Convenient location downtown (close to Sheraton).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoadRunner1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam K, General Manager at Con Murphy's Irish Pub, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you very much for stopping by & for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuBois, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
192 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I had a great omlet there, but there isn't a lot to choose from on the menu.
It was convenient and quick and was ok.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pam15801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam K, General Manager at Con Murphy's Irish Pub, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you very much for stopping by for breakfast & for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it. See you soon hopefully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Con Murphy's Irish Pub also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Con Murphy's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing