We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$161
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Book now, pay at stay
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveller rating
261
361
132
51
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
361
132
51
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspenn squaregreat locationcenter cityacross the streetbedroom suitereading terminal marketvalet parkingfree breakfastfull kitchenyogurtsofa bedwithin walking distancedunkin donutssitting areamake your own wafflesfront desk staffbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
603 - 608 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed at the this hotel because I had a voucher for a free night stay. We went during the Martin Luther King three day weekend. This hotel was in a great location very close to Reading Terminal Market, City Hall, Philadelphia Visitor Center, Macy's, restaurants, transportation etc..You can't really go wrong at a Residence inn. The breakfast was good lots of variety and since the weather was cold, It was good not having to look for a place to eat. I do think that the hotel could be updated. We had a one bedroom suite and the room looked dated. Other than that the hotel was fine and I would stay there again or check the Marriott hotels that were very close by.

Room Tip: If you want to eat at Reading Terminal Market check the schedule because they close early, I guess to help the restaurants make money.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I can easily see the Residence Inn in Philadelphia's Center City to be a future home away from home, as it meets all my requirements for a comfortable place to stay with the amenities of a small apartment and the quality service of its parenting Marriott brand. The location alone is worthy of five stars; just across the street from Philly's city hall, within walking distance to many points of interest, with a SEPTA station merely 100ft from the entrance. Cabs in front at all times, a safe and secure building, and Reading Terminal Market located two blocks away! While we only stayed two nights here, I can see this hotel as more of a 2+ night kind of hotel, for those who want to cook their own meals in their convenient and completely stocked kitchenette (with a FULL-SIZED refrigerator). There is a complimentary breakfast on the 2nd floor, but we had a full food itinerary for the city, so we didn't get to take advantage of it. The front desk staff were friendly, the hallways and common areas were clean, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. I enjoyed having a little living room and a kitchen available, and the beds, high-ceilings, and large windows were also a plus. Free wi-fi and reasonable prices are also great. Considering this hotel sits right next to two sister properties (a Marriott and a Courtyard Marriott), I would definitely choose the Residence Inn for extended stays on a more modest budget.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissFranberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed at this property for 3 nights in early December and found the hotel to be in a great location. We had a rental car and did not even use the car until the 3rd night. The public transit is good and most everything is within walking distance or inexpensive cab ride from the hotel. The hotel itself was good, but needs some updating, it was a little worn around the edges. As with all Residence Inn properties the room had a full kitchen and full size fridge. They offer free breakfast every morning, however we did not take advantage of this because we were so close to the Reading Terminal. The building is a beautiful art deco building and sits right next to spectacular City Hall. The hotel sits right around the corner from Reading Terminal and the tourist bus stop.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweettours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I rented a room for an overnight stay during New Years Eve. I got a great price and overall was very pleased with the hotel. Great Staff and as other reviewers have noted, the location is amazing. You are located in the heart of downtown Philadelphia and most historic points of interest, restaurants, etc. are within walking distance. This hotel would be great for a small family or anyone staying more than a couple of days because of the ability to prepare small meals in your room and save money on restaurant dining. You have a freezer, sink, microwave, plates, silverware, etc. Also, you get a free breakfast buffet for everyday you are there.

The only drawback to this hotel: The rooms need major updating because it felt as if I entered a time machine and was whisked 20-30 years back in time. The room decor was en vogue during the 1980s. If you expect slim LCD TVs...nope. You will probably get a fat tube television. Expect faded carpet, grimy wood cabinets, unattractive clunky wood furnishings. For me, it wasn't a big deal as I just needed a place for a night. But I know some people are sensitive to things like this and that is why I mention it.

But overall, if you care more about location, ability to prepare small meals in your room, and the free buffet, then this hotel would be a good choice.

Room Tip: Higher the better and Try to face towards City Hall....if you travel during 4th of July then higher and get room facing Penn's Landing
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artbrutnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here for a couple days, including New Year's Eve, and loved our stay here, as always. Although they didn't have my reservation on their computer, Heather was very nice and helpful in getting us checked in quickly and without fuss. We were able to get the military discount, since my fiance is in the Army, and they even upgraded us to the top floor!

Every time we have stayed here, we have always had breathtaking views of City Hall from our room and this time was no exception. We had tons of space in the suite and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The room could use some updating and it seemed as though the little lotion bottle in the bathroom had been used and not refilled (it was nearly empty when we checked in) - we also did not have the usual shampoo and conditioner that hotels normally provide, but that really wasn't a big deal for us.

The breakfast was good - your standard eggs and baked goods - as well as yogurt parfaits and the waffle maker. I love that coffee is always available on the 2nd floor.

One of the best things about this hotel is its central location to great restaurants, shopping, and historic sites. This is the second time we've stayed here for New Year's Eve and that put us in the perfect location to catch the Mummer's Parade on New Year's Day. We will definitely stay here again next time we want to stay in town!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor... your views of City Hall only get better the higher you go.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWAM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews