We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for visiting Philly...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, FL
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great hotel for visiting Philly...”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here in 2010 and it was perfect. Scheduled a stay here specifically because of its proximity to the SEPTA under City Hall.

This didn't work out.

It wasn't Residence Inn's fault - the station under City Hall is undergoing renovations. So instead of being able to take the SEPTA to the Wells Fargo Center for 2 nights of events, we took a cab. Unexpected and disappointed.

But Residence Inn was great. On check-in, we were wanting some cranberry juice to make some drinks. There were only 3 in the cooler for purchase, but the gentleman working the counter gladly brought some extras that we purchased up to the room within minutes of our arrival.

The room was terrific and the stay was quiet. When we arrived, there was no ice in the freezer. The ice maker had broken. Within 10 minutes an engineer was up there replacing the ice maker. Not only that, but he went back downstairs with our ice bin and filled it with ice for us. VERY nice.

I do have 1 minor complaint... the televisions. They work great, but they're pretty old. I would have really liked to have connected my computer to the TV. It's something I've gotten used to and was surprised/disappointed that Residence Inn didn't have this. Hopefully they'll upgrade the TVs in the rooms to the level of excellence that the rest of the hotel maintains.

One more thing... breakfast. It was FANTASTIC. Maybe the best breakfast buffet I've had at any Residence (or any of the other Marriott properties).

If I am back in Philly for anything, I will look to this hotel first for my accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davechri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    336
    121
    46
    10
See reviews for
229
188
47
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was my first stay at this inner city hotel. The staff was exceptionally friendly. The hotel was clean and the room was quiet. This hotel is located directly across from city hall. It is a short walk from the bus station. I will stay again when I am in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AML848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Res Inn Philadelphia provided a great stay for out visit to Philly - perfect comfort and location fpr pleasure, tourist or business traveller. Location to see city center; take, tours, shop and dine are excellent. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Ample room to rest and when we chose to dine in our room, the room was well equipped.

Room Tip: High floors give wonderful views ovelooking City Hall and Masonic Temple. Corner rooms are available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Branford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We just got back from a one night stay and could not have asked for a better experience. The room was spacious and clean, the staff was terrific! I would also like to mention to those in the same situation that they had good accessible rooms, which are not always easy to find. The location was also good, walked over to the Redding Terminal and had some delicious food.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartsoulct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We wanted to go to the Van Gogh exhibit at the Philadelphia Museum of Art in mid-March 2012 and take in other museums and cultural experiences and the Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City was ideally located. Positives: Perfect location to walk to many magnificent cultural and architectural sites such as the main Masonic Temple which is right across the street, the Philadelphia Museum of Art which is a nice walk of a bit over a mile, etc. The breakfast, as in all Residence Inns, is extensive and very enjoyable. The "free" dinner at night is not gourmet in any sense, but fills ones tummy and is great if you are on a budget. The room was badly in need of a new couch and chair as they were very soft and saggy. The TV should be updated if you are into watching movies and such a lot instead of enjoying the beautiful and historic city of Philadelphia.The king-size bed was decent, but perhaps a little on the too soft side . At all times the staff was very polite, and helpful and the cleanliness was perfect. The Valet Parking, however, at the Residence Inn is way too expensive at $45 per 24 hours and if you plan to walk or take cabs to cultural facilities, we found much more cost-effective parking at Parkway self-service garage on Walnut and 12th which charged us a total of $66 for 72 hours!

Room Tip: We always ask for rooms not near elevators, ice-machines or facing noisey streets. We were pleased...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericjf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake county
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Air cond did not work entire time, even after engineering came up to tkae a look. Rooms are very tatty - kind of made your skin start to itch when you walked in, bed sagged big time. The gym (LL)and lounge (2nd flr) were both in very nice shape and quite nice. What lobby they have smells like an ashtray, since all the smokers think they are doing you a favor by standing directly outside of the revolving door to smoke. There was a very larg group of muslims staying there, and EVERY DAY, starting around 11 AM, the men-folk woudl take over the lounge area - lounging, of course, but with their shoes off, feet on the cushions and talking quite loudly. In the evening they again (about 20 of them) would take over the lounge , playing cards, or Strageo, or whatever, ,making it impossible to meet or chat with others in our group before we went out. This place felt more like a flop house than a Marriott. I reccomend that Marriot either get rid of the Residence Inn feature and convert to a regualr hotel or sell the property - it looks like it belongs in a bad part of town. Get location however, nice staff, just trashy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddogbluedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAP, Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your comments and kind words about our renovated lounge and fitness center. I apologize the whole of your stay did not meet your expectations. Having your guest room at a comfortable temperature is certainly important and I plan to further investigate the issue regarding your air conditioning to ensure the problem is completely resolved.

Be assured that if a particular group is engaging in blatantly disruptive or offensive behavior a member of our staff will intervene. However, it is our goal to make all of our guests feel welcome at the hotel- including enjoying our wonderful common areas.

Please accept my apologies that your expectations were not met and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I want to compliment the staff at the Residence Inn at One Penn Square for their professionalism and care during our business trip. I want to particularly praise Vicki in housekeeping who attended to our room, anticipated our needs, and was extremely helpful with the needs of my dad. She was friendly like I had known her all my life and treated us with respect. She is a diamond in the rough. My husband works for Hyatt in Santa Barbara and she exemplifies the type of people that work there and understand the attention to detail over and above the call of duty! I will be recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the Philadelphia as a great business destination hotel!

Room Tip: Stay on any floor where Vicki is the housekeeper. She spent a lot of time and attention to the detai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
975 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: One East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3308
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel is ideal for day, weekend getaway, or longer stays. Our hotel in Center City Philadelphia is just steps away from Historic City Hall and the Reading Terminal Market. The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts, world-class restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance of our extended stay Philadelphia hotel. While away from home, our Philadelphia Center City hotel helps you feel connected. Enjoy a sense of community at our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and the complimentary evening social events Monday-Wednesday. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel suites offer separate living, working and dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and hallmark Marriott service. Our Philadelphia hotel in Center City is easily accessible from the Philadelphia Airport, Amtrak Train Station and I-95. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel meeting rooms, ideal for groups of 20-40 guests, are perfect for small meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing