We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Free Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #38 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I just got back from a night at the Residence Inn Phila. Center City. The location is great, within walking distance to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, the National Constitution Center, The Gallery, The Reading Terminal Market, and lots more. The only parking is valet, and it's not cheap, but it was convenient and our car was delivered in a timely manner. The staff were all very friendly. The included full hot breakfast was lovely. There was anything you can imagine to eat. You can cook your own hot waffles, there were prepared breakfast sandwiches, prepared yogurt parfaits, plus eggs, sausage, hot and cold cereal, 3 different juices, coffee, tea, etc. I could go on and on - it was quite a nice breakfast in a beautiful room. They thought of everything - there was even whipped cream for the waffles. The room we had was a suite with a separate bedroom, living area, and fully equipped kitchen. The room seemed older and had old style tv's in both the bedroom and the living room. The bathroom was comfy and the bed was soft, with a couple different types of pillows. I can't stress how helpful and nice the staff was. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of City Hall which is right next door. We had a straight on view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treasurespast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

What more could you want!?
The Center city area of Philadelphia has 3 Marriott properties within 2 blocks of eachother, so prior to a recent business trip to the city, I was trying to figure out which one to book. Marriott's Residence Inn brand is definitely more functional rather than luxurious compared to the others, but it does the trick.
On arrival, I was greeted by the pleasant staff and informed that my Marriott rewards status made me eligible for a free upgrade (I was already staying on points). Minutes later I was relaxing in my 1 bedroom suite on the 21st floor overlooking city hall.
Little did I know that the best part was awaiting me the following morning with a quite impressive continental breakfast of waffles, eggs, sausage, melon, +++. Definitely more than I expected for a free hotel breakfast.
The hotel also has a very nice common area on the 2nd floor for those who want to get out of their room to do some work. Independence Hall is only a 10 minute walk away, while the Market line subway or Reading Terminal Market are both around the corner.
I'll definitely be staying here on future trips to Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Many of the higher floor rooms have great views of city hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I spent the month of March at the Residence Inn. I was very pleased with everything. Although I was there on business, I thought it was the perfect spot for a family trip to Philadelphia. The two bedroom suites have small bedrooms but an adequate sized living room between with a kitchen. If you give the front desk your grocery list by 9:00, they go grocery shopping for you, at no added charge.
The one bedroom mini-suites are a great option for business travelers. It combines a small work area with a bedroom and kitchen.
The hot breakfast seven days a week was included and far superior to most chains offering this option. Scrambled eggs, waffles, a breakfast meat (usually turkey Canadian bacon) and potatoes were offered every day. Fruit was limited. Every weeknight, they offer a one entree dinner, hamburgers, pulled pork barbeque, etc. Both meals were good and an excellent bargain for families.
The front desk, facilities and housekeeping staff were all receptive, very courteous and eager to please.
The hotel is right across from City Hall in the middle of Philadelphia. There are lots of things within short walking distance.
Overall, my experience was outstanding. The other two Marriott properties have nicer amenities, but not nicer people and the Residence Inn has a better value for the price.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter, but only an issue during the day, if some type of event is taking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shooperlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here with my husband for 4 nights 3 days. Overall I think the other Marriott properties in close proximity are much better options. Here's the overall positive/negative of my stay at this Residence Inn:

Positives: Location is near to everything. Valets are fantastic--friendly, professional, and doing a great job. No issues with our personal belongings in the car even though we left them in there on numerous occasions. Front desk staff were at least friendly but didn't do much to resolve some issues we encountered. 2nd floor lounge is updated, modern, and has coffee with to-go cups 24/7. Loved that. Fitness center and business center looked very nice although I didn't use them. Room was large, clean (albeit awkward design) and shower worked well. No sounds from rooms next door to use even though there were tons of kids staying for a marshal arts competition. It was great to have the full fridge and dishwasher and a real coffee maker. We took advantage of that and used all the appliances. The housekeeping service was very good the entire time.

Negatives: Okay, first of all, if you like aesthetics this is not your place. The front of the building is shabby (scaffolding, residence inn sign is falling off) and the tiny lobby very underwhelming. The rooms, as many mentioned, are worn. Carpet needs a serious upgrade. Weird stain on floor of kitchen that appeared permanent (grout material?) but just looked gross. Weird layout in the room where the TV is off at an angle that makes it hard to watch from the bed. We asked for a king and got a small queen. They could not accomodate our request for a king or two doubles but as a consulation they let us pick a snack out of the (limited) snack bar area for free. (whoo-hoo) The biggest pet peeve of mine is when a hotel toilet doesn't work right. This one didn't flush right the entire time we were there even though we complained and they supposedly fixed it. Internet wireless was unreliable and I had trouble staying connected. the TV options were terrible. No movies to rent or room service, but we knew that going in so I can't gripe too much about it.
Overall it was not a horrible experience, and I know we could've done worse, but it certainly left much to be desired. I would recommend the Courtyard right next door or if you have some extra cash, the full Marriott around the block. It was lovely. If more $$ is put into the Residence Inn, it will be a great hotel. They just need to invest in it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, preferably in the corner at the end of the hall if you like quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivace21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here in 2010 and it was perfect. Scheduled a stay here specifically because of its proximity to the SEPTA under City Hall.

This didn't work out.

It wasn't Residence Inn's fault - the station under City Hall is undergoing renovations. So instead of being able to take the SEPTA to the Wells Fargo Center for 2 nights of events, we took a cab. Unexpected and disappointed.

But Residence Inn was great. On check-in, we were wanting some cranberry juice to make some drinks. There were only 3 in the cooler for purchase, but the gentleman working the counter gladly brought some extras that we purchased up to the room within minutes of our arrival.

The room was terrific and the stay was quiet. When we arrived, there was no ice in the freezer. The ice maker had broken. Within 10 minutes an engineer was up there replacing the ice maker. Not only that, but he went back downstairs with our ice bin and filled it with ice for us. VERY nice.

I do have 1 minor complaint... the televisions. They work great, but they're pretty old. I would have really liked to have connected my computer to the TV. It's something I've gotten used to and was surprised/disappointed that Residence Inn didn't have this. Hopefully they'll upgrade the TVs in the rooms to the level of excellence that the rest of the hotel maintains.

One more thing... breakfast. It was FANTASTIC. Maybe the best breakfast buffet I've had at any Residence (or any of the other Marriott properties).

If I am back in Philly for anything, I will look to this hotel first for my accommodations.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davechri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was my first stay at this inner city hotel. The staff was exceptionally friendly. The hotel was clean and the room was quiet. This hotel is located directly across from city hall. It is a short walk from the bus station. I will stay again when I am in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AML848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Res Inn Philadelphia provided a great stay for out visit to Philly - perfect comfort and location fpr pleasure, tourist or business traveller. Location to see city center; take, tours, shop and dine are excellent. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Ample room to rest and when we chose to dine in our room, the room was well equipped.

Room Tip: High floors give wonderful views ovelooking City Hall and Masonic Temple. Corner rooms are available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarrior96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,347 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City

Address: One East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3308
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £102 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel is ideal for day, weekend getaway, or longer stays. Our hotel in Center City Philadelphia is just steps away from Historic City Hall and the Reading Terminal Market. The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts, world-class restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance of our extended stay Philadelphia hotel. While away from home, our Philadelphia Center City hotel helps you feel connected. Enjoy a sense of community at our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and the complimentary evening social events Monday-Wednesday. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel suites offer separate living, working and dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and hallmark Marriott service. Our Philadelphia hotel in Center City is easily accessible from the Philadelphia Airport, Amtrak Train Station and I-95. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel meeting rooms, ideal for groups of 20-40 guests, are perfect for small meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing