We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT WEEK IN PHIILY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #39 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
226 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“GREAT WEEK IN PHIILY!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I was surprised at how well we were taken care of, I mean this is the city that BOOED SANTA! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by a helpful and very friendly staff! Our room was first class very clean and well kept. The lobby was warm and inviting and the staff was very friendly, from the desk to the custodians top notch! Would absolutely recommend this place no doubt!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennykelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    325
    115
    46
    10
See reviews for
222
178
44
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

You can't pick a better location in Philadelphia if you are into transportation and walking convenience especially to the city's historic offerings. A bit tough if parking a car and getting access to it. Not as easy due to it's busy location adjacent City Hall.

It is time for Marriott to upgrade the lobby and rooms on this as well as the Courtyard next door. On cold night the heater didn't get the room warm enough for my liking. However, the bed was extremely comfortable. The soaps and other bathroom offerings are the standard, boring Marriott ones and they could use an upgrade not only here but at the other chains within the brand.

Good fitness center offering and lounge levels. Value good if you can get a lower rate like I did rather than the standard one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2MillionMileMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear 2Millionmileman,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us feedback during your most recent stay with us. There was mention that you didn't like the Marriott amenities for the bathroom in regards to soaps, shampoo etc. Marriott switched to name brand Paul Mitchell over a year ago to enhance the bathroom amenities. We're also very sorry that you're heater wasn't warm enough. Please don't hesitate in calling anytime of day if there's an issue like that so we can repair it immediately. Very sorry that you had to deal with that.

Sincerely Ed Farrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Location, location, LOCATION! The front desk is exceptional in the fast response and knowledge. Their rooms are so well equipped you can live there. The free breakfasts and evening treats make you never want to go anywhere else. Their lounge area on the second floor is so beautifully appointed with huge full windows overlooking the famed City Hall. You see it all but hear nothing the windows are sealed so tightly. The Business center is also great with everything up to date and working! The work out area rivals Ballys total gym! The in house laundromat is also clean and well appointed. Valet parking takes your car off the street and stores it safe fore your stay ad is at the front door in minutes with a guy who gives the easiest directions ever! Even I did not get lost once! The elevators are plentiful, clean, fast and quiet. World class eating and shopping are steps from the hotel. Clean. Clean.Clean. The staff make you think it is part of their stay too, they are all so into pleasing the guests! The City of Brotherly Love is alive and well at this Residence Inn!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of city hall.... So cool to see it so close up right out your window
See more room tips
Green Features: Fine with us, we loved it and had plenty of everything we needed
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sttexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here 1 night, everything was great, from the awesome welcome by Kelly, to the departing advice on where to eat in Chinatown (for noodle soup) Nan Zhou Hand Drawn Noodle House. My wife and daughter love noodle soup, so thanks again Kelly for the great recommendation. Everyone we dealt with there was tuned into making our stay enjoyable, but I didn't get their names, sorry. We'll be staying here again in order to take my kids to the Franklin Institute, which I have not visited since 5th Grade (1959-60); so I imagine a few things have changed. The hotel is just 2 short blocks (east) to Reading Terminal Market, maybe 3 blocks+ to Chinatown (NE) and 2 short blocks west to "Love" Park (JFK Plaza). Philly is such a great place to visit and the Residence Inn is a great place from which to enjoy it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveyWallbanger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Fresh off a 1 night stay at the Residence Inn in Center City Philly. What a great stay. Bed was like a cloud. High floor with a great view. Close to attractions. Couldn't ask for more. DeAnna at the front desk was stellar. This Residence Inn gets it right. A+ all around.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank NCStateHotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear NC State hotelier,

I wanted to thank you for the nice comments regarding the hotel. I also appreciate your recognition of our FD Agent DeAnna who is always giving the utmost Marriott Customer service that is expected from our associates.

Have a wonderful holiday season with your family.

Sincerely Ed Farrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here when stranded during a road trip in a snowstorm. The staff were quite friendly and did a great job dealing with exasperated customers one after the other who were stuck, stranded, or otherwise frustrated with the weather.

The rooms are in good shape and stand up well to my expectations for the brand. The kitchens were well stocked with plenty of glassware and silverware. Our one problem was that the hot water was not working, likely due to the weather.

The fitness center is above average for a lower end Marriott brand, with 4 treadmills, 3 elliptical machines, and a stationary bike, plus lots of dumbbells and one multi-purpose machine.

We were offered complimentary breakfast, but did not partake. Room service in the hotel is provided by Chili's, but again, we did not partake. The location is excellent for downtown Philadelphia attractions.

Room Tip: Our room (our door was where the hallway dead-ends) seemed to be a little loud because two other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Adam R,

Thanks for the nice comments regarding how our team handled the recent "surprise snowstorm" that gave us 8+ inches of snow when we were expecting a dusting. We're very lucky to have such a team that handles all types of situations. I did see that you had some hot water issues during your stay so if you want to contact me directly at edward.farrington@marriott.com or 1-215-982-7930 to give me more information on when this occurred and what room you were in, so we could look further into it. I would really appreciate it.

Thanks again and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leechburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The friendly, accommodating staff of this hotel deserve a better work place! The rooms are very outdated and dirty. The furniture is shabby, mattresses broken down and appliances in kitchenette dented. The water pressure in shower not reliable. The 2nd floor lounge breakfast is very nice and the area seating is good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear suzijohn,

I wanted to first thank you for taking the time in letting us know how you're stay was. Thanks for the wonderful comments regarding the friendliness of our staff at the Front Desk and in Breakfast. We're very lucky to have such kind and caring associates that want to take care of the guests. In regards to the room condition I'm very sorry that you had to deal with some items that were not up to par. If you would like to talk to me directly regarding my information is edward.farrington@marriott.com or call me at 1-215-982-7930. Thanks again for staying with us and Have a wonderful holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: One East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3308
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel is ideal for day, weekend getaway, or longer stays. Our hotel in Center City Philadelphia is just steps away from Historic City Hall and the Reading Terminal Market. The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts, world-class restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance of our extended stay Philadelphia hotel. While away from home, our Philadelphia Center City hotel helps you feel connected. Enjoy a sense of community at our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and the complimentary evening social events Monday-Wednesday. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel suites offer separate living, working and dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and hallmark Marriott service. Our Philadelphia hotel in Center City is easily accessible from the Philadelphia Airport, Amtrak Train Station and I-95. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel meeting rooms, ideal for groups of 20-40 guests, are perfect for small meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing