We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We recently stayed here because of a huge power outage where we live (Philadelphia suburbs). The hotel was filled with fellow "refugees". It's not very much fun to have to go a hotel because you can't be in your own house, but the service here really made up for that. The front desk staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, as are the valet parking people. The room comes with free breakfast, and they also provide a light dinner in the evening. Our first night, the dining area was packed with people with little kids, all of whom were there because of the storm and outage. The staff in the dining area could not have been nicer and more patient. Everyone smiled and had a kind word.

We had to stay an additional night because our power was still out, and I simply called and requested the same room. The young lady at the front desk remembered me, and everyone greeted us warmly when we came back. I really can't stress enough how great the service was. We were in Jamaica a few weeks ago, and the difference between the front desk staff there and the staff at this hotel is like night and day.

The room itself was very nice. Totally clean and spacious room, comfy bed, good internet service, and nicely appointed kitchenette. We need a wheelchair accessible room, and they did a good job with doing accessibility properly. This is not one of the fancier, more upscale hotels in the city, but it's clean, it's comfortable, and you just can't beat the service. A particular thank you to Deonna at the front desk - thanks for making us feel at home!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jekesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear jeke sq,

Just wanted to say thank you for taking the time in telling us how well our entire team did during the ice storm that occurred in our western suburbs. Luckily the city had rooms available due to the Car Show coming in that weekend or we all would have been sold out. I've been through many ice storms years ago so we were prepared to get lots of families that didn't plan to be at our hotel that night. I was very proud of our team in handling a much busier week than what was planned. We're also lucky to have such a great front desk associate in Deanna. She is truly a gem and we're so happy she took good care of you.

Take care and let's hope for Spring!

Sincerely Ed Farrington General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    330
    118
    46
    10
See reviews for
225
181
46
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I enjoy Marriott's chain of hotels and have frequented them in many cities around the world. This one is exactly what you expect from Marriott. A nice, welcoming lobby. Helpful desk agents. Clean and modern rooms that are comfortable. We stayed in a 2 King suite with our friends for NYE. Check-in was fast and the desk agent provided me with a print-out with all the information for the Mummer's parade the next day. We are already planning to stay at this location again for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing City Hall for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikiboombox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau County, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I enjoy staying here and will continue to do so. The staff is so friendly. They make sure everything is okay with your stay. They offer an awesome breakfast in the morning in a beautiful dining area. The views from the room are quite impressive. I was on the 15th floor and you literally wake up next to the clock tower.
I stayed in the hotel next door previously And was not as impressed.
For the value and service, this hotel is worth trying.

Room Tip: try and get higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I am very happy with everything from the check in to the maid service, breakfast and the internet connection. The beds are super comfy and the place is clean. You won't regret staying here at all.The staff makes you feel right at home. Love it here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeannK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Hill, TX
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed at this Residence Inn in conjunction with a convention down the road. The convenience to the Convention Center is excellent. It's a five minute walk, and even in the winter was not at all oppressive. The prices here are much better than the expensive hotels that adjoin the convention center itself, and you have a brilliant view of the majestic City Hall.

The rooms are nice and spacious. We had a double queen with a pull out couch in the living room. The kitchen was well appointed, although it seems silly to give you a full size coffee maker but only 4 cup filter packs of coffee! Bathrooms were adequate, although the vanity counter was a little small. Electrical outlets in the bedroom are lacking. I had to unplug a lamp to find a socket to plug my laptop in if I wanted to keep it on the nightstand.

The staff was very friendly and had several excellent dinner recommendations. The complimentary buffet at breakfast was very good as well.

My only real issue with this property was the continual problems with the internet. On two of the nights it had extended periods of outages and was extremely slow on other nights. I had to use my cell phone hot spot to access the internet and that is something I try to avoid since data plans are limited and expensive. Other than this issue, though, I can heartily recommend this property, especially if you are looking for something close to the Convention Center but not as costly as an adjoining hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rspcoswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear rspcoswal,

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know how your stay went. Very sorry about the internet issues. Our internet provider had a major problem with their main system that caused the issues for the weekend. Unfortunately with it being the weekend is took longer getting repaired. We all know that having great internet speed is key to being productive while being away from home. Again very sorry that you had to deal with that.

Thanks again for the nice comments regarding the hotel staff service and the wonderful complimentary breakfast.

Sincerely Ed Farrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I was surprised at how well we were taken care of, I mean this is the city that BOOED SANTA! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by a helpful and very friendly staff! Our room was first class very clean and well kept. The lobby was warm and inviting and the staff was very friendly, from the desk to the custodians top notch! Would absolutely recommend this place no doubt!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennykelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

You can't pick a better location in Philadelphia if you are into transportation and walking convenience especially to the city's historic offerings. A bit tough if parking a car and getting access to it. Not as easy due to it's busy location adjacent City Hall.

It is time for Marriott to upgrade the lobby and rooms on this as well as the Courtyard next door. On cold night the heater didn't get the room warm enough for my liking. However, the bed was extremely comfortable. The soaps and other bathroom offerings are the standard, boring Marriott ones and they could use an upgrade not only here but at the other chains within the brand.

Good fitness center offering and lounge levels. Value good if you can get a lower rate like I did rather than the standard one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2MillionMileMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear 2Millionmileman,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us feedback during your most recent stay with us. There was mention that you didn't like the Marriott amenities for the bathroom in regards to soaps, shampoo etc. Marriott switched to name brand Paul Mitchell over a year ago to enhance the bathroom amenities. We're also very sorry that you're heater wasn't warm enough. Please don't hesitate in calling anytime of day if there's an issue like that so we can repair it immediately. Very sorry that you had to deal with that.

Sincerely Ed Farrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
953 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: One East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3308
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel is ideal for day, weekend getaway, or longer stays. Our hotel in Center City Philadelphia is just steps away from Historic City Hall and the Reading Terminal Market. The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts, world-class restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance of our extended stay Philadelphia hotel. While away from home, our Philadelphia Center City hotel helps you feel connected. Enjoy a sense of community at our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and the complimentary evening social events Monday-Wednesday. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel suites offer separate living, working and dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and hallmark Marriott service. Our Philadelphia hotel in Center City is easily accessible from the Philadelphia Airport, Amtrak Train Station and I-95. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel meeting rooms, ideal for groups of 20-40 guests, are perfect for small meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing