We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, CA
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I know others have commented on how pleasant and friendly the staff are, but it is really true. My husband and I and another couple stayed at 4 different Marriott properties, a Holiday Inn, and a Comfort Inn over a 3 week period and the staff here outshined them all. Have to give special thanks to Kelly, Carnell, Sarah, and Jill for outstanding service. Our first room assignment did not work out and Kelly was great in getting a room that suited our needs. I would inform that room 2104, which is a very nice room with a view of City Hall, the A/C blows on your head and shoulders at night and it was also a noisy A/C. Room 1214 had the A/C situated appropriately so that it did not blow right on you when sleeping and was quiet. This room also had a nice view of City Hall. The breakfast staff were also so nice, and hardworking. They put on a really nice breakfast and evening meals that are very convenient. It was very helpful to be able to have a quick meal there after a long flight and train from the airport to not have to go out looking for a place to eat.

Room Tip: Room 1214, 2 queen beds with view of City Hall, with quiet A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sac2Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    334
    121
    46
    10
See reviews for
229
186
47
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a two bed plus sofa pull out room. There was a small kitchenette area and a very tiny bathroom. The room was older, but overall the appliances and the furniture were clean. The location of this hotel makes it perfect to walk or grab a taxi to food, shopping, cultural centers, and sights like the liberty bell.the free breakfast was also delicious and full of variety.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heads l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed one night attending a Met/Phillie game. It was in a very convenient location and it provide an excellent stay. The continental breakfast( misnomer) was the best I've ever experienced at any hotel. Sausage, eggs, french toast, potatoes and much more and the sitting area was huge.
The room was studio size and very spacious. The sofa bed wasn't that comfortable but not many are. The hotel was a very short walk to the terminal market and other area attractions. The only thing that keeps this hotel from not being a 5 is a pool and the expensive valet only parking.( park on your own in lots in the area to save a few bucks.
Other than that it has everything you need. Admit-tingly, I got lucky and got it on priceline the day of my stay for almost 50% off than the regular price so it most likely would have been out of my budget otherwise. Overall a pleaseant experience

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I love Residence Inn hotels - the extra space, free wi-fi, and free food is essential to me when travelling for business. However, this hotel didn't even come close to meeting my expectations. My room, on the 16th floor, didn't receive the free wi-fi. By the time I had discovered this, I had already unpacked and the only possible resolution offered was to switch rooms - not something I could do based on the hassle. Additionally, I found live bugs in my bathroom. Beside that, the door to the bathroom hit the toilet whenever you tried to open or close it! Finally, the lamp on the beside table was broken, and would only flicker intermittently. With no overhead lighting, this was really problematic. I'll still continue going to Residence Inns, but certainly not this one ever again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 294beckyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Becky G,

I wanted to thank you first for taking the time in giving us feedback from your recent stay with us. So sorry that the room had WiFi issues on the 16th floor. We are actually in the process of upgrading our entire internet system. It normally works very well but we wanted to enhance the experience more for the guests. Also, very sorry to hear of the other items in your room that were not up to Marriott Standards. If you would like to talk with me further please don't hesitate in contacting me at 1-215-982-7930 or edward.farrington@marriott.com.

Sincerely Ed Farrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights over a holiday weekend and overall had a wonderful time. This hotel was next door to the Courtyard by Marriott, and the main Marriott Hotel where we were attending a conference was right behind our hotel. There are so many options for eateries and attractions within walking distance, and the subway station was just around the corner from the front door. The Reading Terminal Market is always fun to stroll through and you can try all kinds of different foods from the different vendors.

We had a one-bedroom suite which seemed much smaller than the typical Residence Inn floor plan we have seen in other cities. Our bed was just fine, but the sofabed mattress in the living room was very thin and you can feel the springs inside it. We met our housekeeper Ana who was very friendly and efficient, and other staff were very courteous as well. The breakfast was good with the standard Residence Inn menu. Also on the second floor was a large sitting area (sort of like a typical hotel lobby, but just not on the street level).

Parking is valet only and very expensive. There are cheaper self-park lots several blocks away, but you take a chance with unsupervised open lots in a downtown area. We saw many panhandlers as we walked around, but never felt unsafe at all. Beautiful architectural details everywhere in a city with such a rich history.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A_Michigan_Mom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear A Michigan Mom7,

Thanks so much for taking the time in giving a review on the hotel. Very sorry that the sofa bed was not up to Marriott Standards. I'm glad that you did locate local parking since majority of the hotels in the city don't have parking so we have to use 3rd party valet companies that allow in/out service. If you only need to park and retrieve following day at checkout these other lots are a cheaper option. Very glad to see that you got full use of our breakfast buffet that I believe is one of the best deals in the city.

Thanks Ed F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend. It was a wonderful experience. I was impressed by how nice and friendly everyone at the hotel was. When we needed help in arranging a tour, the hotel staff called and arranged for a van to pick us up. This happened two days in a row. The location is a good one. The only drawback is the cost of parking. This is offset by the great hot breakfast served at the hotel. Even the fresh fruit was outstanding. The next time we come to Philly, we are definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: our room had a great view of City Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroos93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at the Residence Inn at the end of a long week of travel. It was the third hotel of the week and I needed to check out with my car Friday Morning at 5:00 AM to get to an appointment in Long Island before starting the memorial day weekend. Over my two night stay the staff could not have been more helpful in terms of directions, recommendations, wake up calls, luggage storage, etc. Donell Smith, the gentleman who handled the Valet services was particularly pleasant and accommodating and made sure my car was ready and waiting for me at 5:00 AM. Thanks again.

Room Tip: I had a single King but it is a Residence inn so the room was spacious with small kitchen and large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
972 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: One East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3308
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel is ideal for day, weekend getaway, or longer stays. Our hotel in Center City Philadelphia is just steps away from Historic City Hall and the Reading Terminal Market. The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts, world-class restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance of our extended stay Philadelphia hotel. While away from home, our Philadelphia Center City hotel helps you feel connected. Enjoy a sense of community at our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and the complimentary evening social events Monday-Wednesday. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel suites offer separate living, working and dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and hallmark Marriott service. Our Philadelphia hotel in Center City is easily accessible from the Philadelphia Airport, Amtrak Train Station and I-95. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel meeting rooms, ideal for groups of 20-40 guests, are perfect for small meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing