We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but a few problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #37 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel has a great location and seems to be generally the cheapest of the four Marriott properties in that area. I traveled twice to Philly in the last few weeks and stayed at 3 of the 4 Marriott's in Center City and I can say that this one is decent overall. I had a nice view of city hall from room and I liked the proximity to Septa and to a few good restaurants. My main complaints with this hotel are probably the main reason I would probably not stay here again though. First, there was no safe in my room. I had a small suite and I was surprised to look around and not see one. Also, on every day I was there, the water in the shower cut off at some point in the middle of my shower. It seems to be some kind of water pressure issue as I resolved it by just turning the water off and waiting a minute before turning it back on. Not what you expect from a nice Marriott. I mentioned it to the front desk and they said they would send maintenance to take a look but as you might imagine with a water pressure issue, maintenance can't fix it easily.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Michael S,

I wanted to thank you for commenting regarding your past stay with us in July. We are in a great location being in downtown Philadelpha. We are in the hub of activity with City Hall across the street and Reading Terminal two short blocks away. I did see that you commented that you were wanting a safe. We do have plenty of save deposit boxes located at the front desk. You also commented regarding no water pressure one morning. Unfortunately, there was a steam issue in the city that caused some issues with some hotels/offices one morning. Very sorry that you had this issue but the good news is that it came right back on for you. We do appreciate you staying with us and welcome you back for future visits.

Sincerely, Ed F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is an older hotel - not as modern or chic if you are a Marriott member. I tried to get in the convention center hotel but they were booked. When we arrived and I knew there were nicer hotels we walked to the convention center location and they told me to come here ...I wanted to show my siblings a great time for the weekend including a nicer hotel as this was my gift. Price is good and rooms are spacious with the living area. I am spoiled by Marriott's other properties and wanted to share that experience with the family - that's all.

Room Tip: Stay up on the 10th floor or higher for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Virginia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Virginia N,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in June. The hotel has a different feel than the other hotels in the city. The hotel has a historic past with being built back in the 1900's. We're lucky to have one of the nicest staff that any of the hotels have. We're extremely sorry that your hotel room was not up to standards that you were expecting when booking the hotel. If at any time you would like to talk further please don't hesitate in contacting me at the hotel.

Sincerely, Ed F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel could not have a better location. I was coming in from the airport and the train stop is less than two blocks away. Independence Hall and LOVE sculpture is within walking distance. I arrived well before check-in time and was able to leave my bag with the front desk with no issues. I asked for a lunch recommendation and the front desk was extremely helpful (Reading Market). I arrived back at the hotel to check in and a room was ready to go and it was AWESOME! Kelly set us up in a corner studio (10th floor I believe). One view was of the city hall (beautiful at night) and the other was of Macy's. Cool aspect is that you have to use your room card to access the elevator. The sink and mirror were located outside the bathroom which is always a plus when traveling with others. I don't understand people commenting on the size of the bathroom, it's a vintage building, that is the way they built them! The bellman/valet were always there to open a door and greet us. Overall a great experience! Great priceline find!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that ends in 02
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kreampuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was in town with 3 colleagues to take an exam for a year-long certification course. We were so stressed and had lots of cramming to do. Marc, Thomas, and the rest of the staff could tell we were a bit flustered and accommodated a room change for one of us and our time constraints in fetching the car. Marc called The Walnut Street Supper Club and got us in during prime dining hours when everywhere else was full because of events in the city. They caught us coming back from our day long exam and asked us how it went, then gave us a complementary bottle of wine to celebrate! Exceptional friendly, personal service. I'm definitely coming back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing City Hall. The scaffolds are finally down and you can see the gorgeous facade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Rey 72,

Thanks for the wonderfuly comments regarding how well Marc and Thomas took good care of you after a rough exam. Marc is one of the best supervisors that I've ever had in a hotel and you all got to see why. He will always go out of his way in making stays to be as good as they could possibly be. I'm so glad he was able to get you all into the Walnut Street Supper Club on a really busy night. So glad you loved Philly!

Sincerely, Ed F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

In for business for a night. Brought my oldest son. Great service! Attentive and helpful! Staff made sure we had everything we needed. We stayed on the 26th floor basically a one bedroom penthouse. Spacious well appointed. Clean well kept and what a view!! Hotel is central to everything. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank CrotonFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear CrotonFM,

Thanks so much for commenting regarding how attentive, helpful and great service the team gave you during your business trip here with your son. Very happy to here that you had a wonderful stay in one of our suites.

Sincerely, Ed F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My family and I chose Residence Inn as a package deal with Sesame Place. We couldn't be more pleased with our entire experience! Super clean hotel in general. Very nice room! Very comfortable. Extremely friendly staff. Shuttle Service to and from the park was great. Awesome breakfast in the morning. Nice indoor pool area. We couldn't be happier with our choice of hotels

Room Tip: we chose the one bedroom suite, spacious for our family of four. nice kitchen area with a full frid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Courtney D,

Thanks for the nice comments regarding your stay but I think you accidentally chose the wrong Residence Inn. There is a Residence Inn located in Langhorne, PA which is located a block away from Sesame Street. We unfortunately do not have a pool at all so this couldn't be for our hotel. But thanks for the nice comments regarding our fellow Residence Inn hotel.

Sincerely, Ed F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spacious rooms with kitchen and living room, good location across from city hall, very strong WiFi. The staff was very courteous and accommodating for a busy weekend. The location really helped us navigate around the city. Would gladly stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ucfbeerknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear ucfbeerknight,

Thanks for the nice comments regarding how large our suites are with full kitchen ammenities. Our Wi-fi is one of the fastest in the Philadelphia area supporting you in getting your work done faster while staying longer. Our team will always go to the next level in giving the best Marriott Service possible even during the busy weekends but thank you for saying.

Sincerely, Ed F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City

Address: One East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3308
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £111 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel is ideal for day, weekend getaway, or longer stays. Our hotel in Center City Philadelphia is just steps away from Historic City Hall and the Reading Terminal Market. The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts, world-class restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance of our extended stay Philadelphia hotel. While away from home, our Philadelphia Center City hotel helps you feel connected. Enjoy a sense of community at our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and the complimentary evening social events Monday-Wednesday. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel suites offer separate living, working and dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and hallmark Marriott service. Our Philadelphia hotel in Center City is easily accessible from the Philadelphia Airport, Amtrak Train Station and I-95. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel meeting rooms, ideal for groups of 20-40 guests, are perfect for small meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing