We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Private Club Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn At The Union League
Ranked #55 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Belmar, NJ
1 review
“Great Private Club Experience”
Reviewed 16 April 2008

My wife and I had a great experience at the Union League. We were delightfully surprised to find that it was just renovated, though there was a smell of "new carpets" in our room. We had stayed there about 10 years ago and it was not in good shape. The new rooms have large flat screen TV's, a large work surface type desk and very comfortable beds. The rooms are still on the small size but the location can not be beat. The Union League is right in the middle of Philadelphia, about half way from everything, it is within easy walking distance of all the attractions. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. The only draw back was that we had to go back upstairs to change out of our jeans. The Club has a business casual dress code in the dining room for breakfast (which is included in the price of the room and is very good), however you can not be in jeans or sneakers. This is a bit of a pain, especially if you want to go touring and have to go back upstairs and change. Though all in all, it was a excellent experience.

  • Liked — The staff and location.
  • Disliked — The dress code for breakfast.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BlueBell14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    32
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
24
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

Since the Leauge is centered in a great location for dining and museums, we chose this place without knowing the exact location or reading reviews. Which was our fault. You should basically go into the kitchen yourself and tell the chef what you wanted because the waiters and servers weren't friendly, and they stood around talking to eachother. The food was excellent but again the service was terrible. The staff would expect to be tipped after every move that they made. They were just awful. I'd like to think of myself as a man of principle, and I didn't tip out of sheer principle. Coming into the Inn late one night after a 5 night stay, they escorted me to my room to make sure that I was a guest because I had forgotten my i.d. and expected me to tip them. This place is a joke.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Jixolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2007

Every single staff member at this hotel was downright rude. They acted put out when you asked for anything, even more coffee at breakfast. The staff would stop you wherever you were walking in the hotel and ask, "Where are you going?" This was to prevent you from, God forbid, going where you didn't belong or the "members only" areas. When your attire was not appropriate you were reprimanded when a simple smile and a reminder of the dress code would have been fine. Our family had a breakfast buffet until 11am the morning after the wedding and the servers stopped serving us at 10:30 and rushed us through breakfast.


The food at dinner was mediocre, but the breakfast was horrible. The rooms need updating. Our room had old peeling wallpaper.


I will say that this Hotel is in a great location and the hotel decor is very nice, but it's not worth it. Unless you're a masochist and like being looked down on, go down the street to the Park Hyatt. It's steps away and it was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green6336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2007

The Union League is history itself and located within walking distance of many of Philadelphia's historic attractions. A stay at the Inn means stepping back in time to an era where dress codes are enforced (as they are on the 1st and 2nd floors) and traditional service prevails.

Breakfast is included with the room and offers a wide array of made-to-order omlettes and other items. The room I had was nice but quirky -- nice sized room, bathrobes, large closet, very large bathroom, tiny TV (one assumes that one is encouraged to be elsewhere in the building rather than in their room) and plastic cups in the bathroom.

Others have noted a slightly worn look to the guest rooms. I agree but it fits with the character of age in this setting.

The building is a fantastic setting for business or social functions with a staff eager to please. And yes, it was featured in the film, Trading Places.

  • Liked — The historic setting
  • Disliked — Poor seating and lighting in the room.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Often_on_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2006

... I just can't stay any more. Have stayed half a dozen times and keep coming back because I like the atmosphere. Almost like a museum and if you like civil war/politico stuff, you'll love this place. Great amenities (workout facility) and food. But on almost every visit, I get awoken several times during the night by a trash truck. The only time this does not occur is when I'm lucky enough to get an interior room, but they're tough to get. What saves this place is the complimentary breakfast - it's great and I may even come back here (and pay) for breakfast next time in Philly. Rooms are small, but adequate, high-speed connection would only work intermittently. Service was OK, sometimes appeared bothered to be assisting you. Lots of better choices in the area.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Minivantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2005

Our family stayed at the union league April 9 thru 11. To be able to stay here, you either have to belong to a reciprical club or be invited by a member of the club. There were many good and some bad aspects of this hotel. It has a great location in a historic building across from city hall and within walking of all of phillys sights. The service was friendly and helpful. Thre room we had a king sized 4 poster ped and was very comfortable. The bathroom was very big and had nice amenities and robes. The room also had 2 huge closets that were each the size of a normal hotel bathroom. The room also had a work desk and 2 comfortable chairs. The workout facility was excellent and a great locker room with snacks, sauna and jacuzzi. With the price of your room, you also got brakfast, which was a buffet in which the chef would cook for you what ever you decided along with dozens of other items spread across the tables. The buildings inside was charming and had abusiness center, library, and had walls lined with original paintings worth over a million dollars. It was almost like staying in a museum. Unfortunately, the union league had several downsides. Upon entering our room, we discovered a bottle of a previous guests mouth painkiller on the floor.Also , the rooms only go up 5 floors and thus the only view from our window was someones apartment directly across the alley. The window itself was coated in dirt and looked as if it hadnt been clean in years. Also , the gold wallpaper that was in the room oddly ended below the window, exposing a wall that was cracked and had its paint peeling. The hallway carpets wer dirty and old and the white paint on the walls was peeling as well. The tiny tv in our rooms volume didnt work well and when you turned the tv on the volume didnt work until you pushed the volume up button several times. Also note: to access the first floor where the restaurants, library and business center are, you have to be wearing formal attire. the only exception is breakfast where the dress code is business casual. The entrance to the inn, which is on ythe ground floor, does not have a dress code. also, the building is currently beined renovated on the outside and the majority of the building is covered in scaffolding. In the end, trhe union league is recommended and worth trying.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
49 Thank Erik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#32 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
City Center West
AKA Rittenhouse Square
AKA Rittenhouse Square
#56 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Rodeway Inn Center City
#46 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#23 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At The Union League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Union League

Property: The Inn At The Union League
Address: 1450 Sansom St, (between Broad and 15th Streets), Philadelphia, PA 19102-3007
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn At The Union League 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Union League Hotel Philadelphia
Union League Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing