We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location with history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn At The Union League
Ranked #50 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed 21 July 2013

If you're looking for a step back in time, this is a really fun place to stay. The room we stayed in was extremely small, but updated and clean. The real interest is in the public places. The ballrooms/meeting rooms are gorgeous (make sure to check them out on the 1st and 2nd floors). The bar areas and restaurants are beautiful. They have two business centers which were wonderful. I felt like I was in a library! Location couldn't be better. So many great shops and restaurants within walking distance and the local attractions are a bit farther but definitely within walking distance (Liberty bell, constitution center, etc). Housekeeping was very polite and patient (our first morning we got a late start out due to jet lag and they were very understanding). If you plan to eat in one of their restaurants take note that they do not allow jeans or athletic shoes. One of the restaurants also requires a jacket for men.

Room Tip: They are renovating rooms and in our experience the updated rooms seemed to be smaller and the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labs222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

If you are staying in Philadelphia on business or pleasure, the Inn at the Union League is definitely worth considering.

It represents excellent value when you add up the benefits of location, room quality, free breakfast and the opportunity to stay at one of the best clubs in America.

I found the staff very helpful. The Inn is a short walk to good eating, coffee, shopping and city attractions.

The food in the restaurants is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I could say nothing else than: this is the place you want to be to enjoy the best sevice ever. Great location, great food, great service and customer care. If you are there for business you can enjoy different first class business solutions also. They will take care of you like noone else before, and you can enjoy the best food.

Room Tip: Try the philadelphia cheese steak
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuelperrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I last stayed at the Union League Club in the early 1990's, when it was strictly a private club and access to a room for a non-member was only through connections with a member. It was fun then even though the room decor heralded back to the 1960's. There were very few out of town guests staying there. Several elderly bachelors and widowers resided there full time. I recently stayed there on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised at the upgrade. My room was more than adequate for business travel. Although some posts mention small restrooms, mine was more than double the size of most business hotels. There is plenty of history inside the Union League, great artwork throughout with a Civil War emphasis. There are several restaurants and bars, including a cigar bar. Old world, old-club ambience. The only small inconvenience was a blues club located across the street from the side of the building where my room was located. The music coming from the club got a bit loud on occasion but I used a noisemaker on my phone to filter the night club noise. It might be generational, but I love staying here.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank Eddy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights when I was in town on business. Very good building, plenty of history and richly decorated. The food served is great (whichever meal of the day), and the staff are welcoming and friendly. The rooms are a little dated, but acceptable. Good toiletry selection and excellent wifi signal to continue with business. The gym is very well appointed and I always found it a great place to work out. Even tho it officially opens at 6am...I have been in there around 5am (I was on UK time), and it was ok. There is fruit / nuts available to guests which I always appreciate as snacks. Excellent. All 5 star thus far.

The not so great: I was in a room next to the alleyway. The 5.30am trash collection is not cool. Sometimes they seem to be using the bins like steel drums. Now I get why there are ear plugs in the bathroom! Don't like to use these...so had to suck it up. Half star down.

Not so great part 2: this is a private members club with a hotel attached. One member asked me who I knew as I was staying there! Slightly pretentious in this place. In fact you are informed of the dress code when you arrive. Jackets and shirts must be worn virtually everywhere. If no jacket they will lend you one. I was told off 4 times for taking my jacket off in the bar and also for putting my jacket on the back of the chair at breakfast! You are also reminded not to use phones etc in the corridors or rooms, bars etc. only in your room. Feels a bit up tight at times...

Overall very nice...but the private member aspect can be stifling...but very nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from alleyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OXAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I stay at the Union League when I'm in Philadelphia and not with family in the area. They've made very good efforts to upgrade the facilities over the past several years and I was really impressed with how far they've come, although they were still working on the dining rooms when I last visited. The location in Center City is unbeatable. Staff are pleasant enough, but occasionally disengaged - arguably a Philadelphia trait. The guest rooms are what I'd call 'club quality' but the price is good; the real stars of the show are the public spaces. All in all, a good place.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Oberst06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place, old world charm. Rooms are decent size, bathroom a bit cramped, wifi decent, noise from alley trash pickup at 5:30 am was loud!!! I wondered why earplugs were available. Toiletries were nice, as were towels. Breakfast included was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ct3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#31 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,426 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#21 of 88 in Philadelphia
585 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At The Union League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Union League

Address: 1450 Sansom St, (between Broad and 15th Streets), Philadelphia, PA 19102-3007
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn At The Union League 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When making plans to visit Philadelphia, consider using the Union League of Philadelphia as your home away from home. Our newly renovated Four-Diamond level hotel, The Inn at the League, located at 1450 Sansom, between Broad and 15th Streets, is centrally located on Philadelphia's Avenue of the Arts. The Inn at the League has 84 guest rooms and suites, each with its own charm. Truly in a class by itself, The Inn offers an incomparable mix of distinctive history and old world hospitality. Many of our first time guests have referred to us as the "best-kept secret in Center City Philadelphia." The League adheres to a strict dress code policy. The League requires a jacket be worn by men when dining in any of the restaurants. The exceptions to this policy are breakfast Monday through Sunday; lunch on Saturday and all day on Sunday, which allow business casual. Business casual is defined as a collared shirt and slacks for men and appropriate attire for women. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Inn At The Union League reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Union League Hotel Philadelphia
Union League Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing