We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky theatre with a theme” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of EgoPo Classic Theater

EgoPo Classic Theater
Ranked #164 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: EgoPo Classic Theater is Philadelphia's premier destination for bold visionary versions of great classic plays. They produce a three play mainstage season each year. Currently in our 19th season, EgoPo is considered a go-to-destination for top-quality theater in Philadelphia. The 2012-13 Season will feature all plays from the Vaudeville-era of American theater including The Assassination of Jesse James (Oct. 5-28, 2012), The Life and Death of Harry Houdini (March 20th-April 7th, 2013)and Uncle Tom's Cabin: An Unfortunate Melodrama (May 29-June 16, 2013). All shows at Plays and Players, 1714 Delancey Street in center city Philadelphia.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
427 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Quirky theatre with a theme”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have been subscribing to Ego Po Theatre for the past two seasons. Originally from New
Orleans they have settled in Philadelphia and put on productions that are unique. Each year they
choose a theme and pick plays that revolve around that idea. This past year was vaudeville. The
prices are inexpensive and the hard work that the staff does is greatly appreciated.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank redramPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glassboro, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EgoPo Classic Theater is the definition of Theater!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

EgoPo has been one of the best theater's I have ever attended in Philly. As a college student near the Philadelphia area I make sure to come out to Philly to see as much art I can, whether it be murals, or music, or theatrical performances.


I went to see EgoPo's Life and Death of Harry Houdindi at Plays and Payers near 17th Street. It was absolutely fantastic! It was a small intimate space with a small cast but they left a huge impression. The show had elements of magic and music and dance theater! The actors were so in-tune with one another that it gave me chills.


They also have Uncle Tom's Cabin coming up as their next show that has left a lot of people talking. I think what they are doing with the races role reversal in this show will be an amazing site to see. It may just open up eyes and minds from people that you would not expect.


They also have amazing customer service! You can tell that the person on the other side of the phone is smiling and happy to make your experience a great one.

I am really excited to see where this company will be going in the future!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Egopo Classic Theater is a Philly cultural gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Egopo Classic Theater consistently puts out some of the highest caliber productions in the city. Their shows are challenging and provocative as stand-alone productions, but when you consider that they produce full seasons on one overall theme, Egopo has to be regarded as a leader in the Philly theatre scene. Keep it up, Egopo!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Theater at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

EgoPo offers terrific productions that are always entertaining! I can't wait for this season's productions relating to the American Vaudeville era.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Great theater company.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I have seen several shows by this theater company and have never been disappointed. They do challenging work at a hight artistic level. You should definitely check it out. Keep in mind that I liked their work so much I became a member of thier board of directors.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EgoPo Classic Theater also viewed

 
 

Been to EgoPo Classic Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing