We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never felt more unwelcome in a restaurant”

Capriccio Cafe aka Cafe Cret
Ranked #1,817 of 4,359 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Cafe, American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating
PORT ALLEGANY
Level Contributor
459 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Never felt more unwelcome in a restaurant”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived before closing and were advised that the coffee shop would be closing soon. My charge was just under $5 so I was not allowed to use my credit card. The bathroom was locked. I had no sooner sat down to table than we were asked to leave as they were closing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANNAMARGARET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
341 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“pit stop for ice cream!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Decent spot to stop by if you need a quick little break from sightseeing and walking around Philly (which is what we needed). Not crowded at all on a weekend afternoon and my husband enjoyed his Vanilla Sundae (for all you non-knowers...Jimmies are sprinkles here).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly with good service”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Great place for morning coffee with good selection of eats. Very near the Franklin Inst. and pleasant location to sit outside and snack on coffee and croissants.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
380 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Quick Service”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Hot Coffee this time. I went with a medium dark roast. The other patrons are really friendly. You can get in and out quickly and there is outdoor seating if you like.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dMoniqueRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Stick to the coffee.”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stopped here for a quick breakfast on a Sunday morning, not wanting to eat in hotel and finding not much else to choose from nearby. The coffee was decent (just had regular hot brewed coffee), however the breakfast sandwiches and cake my husband had left much to be desired. Staff and atmosphere pleasant, food not great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jfishfrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capriccio Cafe aka Cafe Cret also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Capriccio Cafe aka Cafe Cret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing