We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the visit...do let the outside appearance steer you away.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tio Pepe II

Tio Pepe II
Ranked #762 of 4,339 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
caz7709
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the visit...do let the outside appearance steer you away.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Went there for dinner 4 of us. Originally I was hesitant and wondered if we had made the right choice as the bar area is the first door the restaurant is through the side door and up the stairs. Food was served nice and hot, no issues regarding getting more bread that was also delivered warm. Our waiter was very efficient and was willing to go the extra mile to make sure we were happy. I had the shrimp, clams, scallops with rice it also comes with mussels which I cannot eat. Not a problem they gave more shrimp instead. My mother had the Bass which was on special she really enjoyed it. My husband had the salmon nice piece of salmon for the men who have a big appetite and mother husband had tilapia. For all the dishes the fish portions were not small. For 4 please along with beer and wine $96.00. Well worth the visit we will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caz7709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Although this place is nearby and has been open some time we visited recently and were amazed to find the type of restaurant that would not be out of place in Lisbon sitting right on Castor Avenue. The decor is delightfully old fashioned with tiles and street lamps and the menu is
traditional Portuguese, too--lots of olive oil and all fresh ingredients prepared simply.
Service was good too. We tried the antipasto platter, the cold octopus appetizer the zarzuela and the house dessert, with nice wine. The rest of the menu looked good too so we'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjg1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
188 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great food in NE Philly”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We've eaten in Tio Pepe several time, each a very pleasurable experience. Don't let appearances fool you. The noisey downstairs bar is nothing like the upstairs restaurant. They feature Portugese dishes and really know their stuff. The octopus is fantastic. My wife ordered a few servings for a dinner party we were having. The paella is wonderful as is everything else we've had here. The servings are large and the staff is pleasant and helpful. The only negative is that you can hear the loud jukebox downstairs in the bar.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fauxqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden Gym in Philadelphia”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This restaurant serves some of the best food in Philadelphia. The steaks are awesome and I would recommend Paella you will not be disappointed. The flaming sausage is also terrific and a great presentation. The only warning would be the neighborhood is okay at night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catalino12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

You would never imagine such a good food in this corner of Philadelphia. Delicious food and excellent combination of flavors. Nice staff and good bar and also sit in restaurant.Good prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gabbylion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tio Pepe II also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Tio Pepe II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing