We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amy was a treasure!”

Chew Philly Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.00*
and up
Philadelphia Iconic Foods Tour
More Info
US$29.00*
and up
Chestnut Hill Culinary Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Voted BEST TOURIST ACTIVITY by Manayunk.com and commended by The Travel Channel as: "Excellent food tours...which lets guests sample beloved savory and sweet food found only in Philly while learning about local architecture, history and culture"! Our tours are original concept, meaning that we were the first & original food tour in each of the neighborhoods in which we operate, with long-standing relationships with our tasting locations. We want to impress that our Philadelphia Guided Tours are non-touristy, REAL neighborhoods we'll be showing you around - featuring foods from locally-owned businesses celebrated for their cultural Philly foods. And for those native to the Philadelphia area, we'll show you hidden foodie gems you may have missed, up-and-coming food trends, & in-depth history of Philadelphia's 300-year-old neighborhoods. Peruse our 400+ reviews, then head to our site to reserve your space, (we're not exaggerating, nearly every tour sells out!). We can't wait to meet you!
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My son was up from Austin TX. What a great time we had. I would recommend this tour to anyone. It was perfect.

Thank Goneforgood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - it really helps small businesses like ours. We're so glad that you enjoyed our professional tour guide, Amy, and will pass on your compliments. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have lived in Chester County our entire lives (40-year) and had never been to Manayunk. My wife gave me this tour for Father's Day and I didn't think that it was going to fun or good. I was sooo wrong!
Amy was our tour host and she was fantastic! Each of our stops were amazing and getting to walk around and learn the history of this amazing little district was a super bonus! The food at each stop was terrific and we ended up buying goods from two of the places to take home.
Don't hesitate- this tour is worth it, you'll love it!

Thank DavidMotiv8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

What a great Father's Day gift! We're so glad that you enjoyed your tour. We work hard to combine food tastings, history, and cultural aspects into our tour, and we're glad it made for an enjoyable experience for you. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and recently visited Chew Philly and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our guide Elise (sp?) was great. She was warm, friendly, and engaging.

The tour itself is not simply about the food but also about the neighborhood from which the treats were born out of. The vast majority of the food I'd either never had before or never had prepared in the same manner before. Tomato pie--new. Stuffed pepperoni--new. Red velvet cupcake, sweetened with beets--new. Oh, and those are just *some* of the stops we made. So there was no déjà vu on this tour.

The food was great, the weather was fantastic, our guide was terrific, even the group of strangers we were with were fun-loving. Great job Chew Philly Food Tours!

Thank cm l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We love that we were able to introduce you to some new foods, and that you felt our tour guide was warm and engaging. Thank you again for touring with us! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a wonderful time on our tour. Our guide, Amy was funny and knowledgeable, and really seemed to enjoy her job. The food was delicious and it's fun hearing about the history of the area. Just remember to LEAVE ROOM FOR THE CUPCAKE!!!!

Thank zvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Leaving room for the cupcake is great advice for TripAdvisor users! We're so glad that you enjoyed our professional tour guide as well as our tastings. Thanks for taking the time to write a review - it really helps small businesses like ours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a great time exploring Manayunk with our guide Amy. She was a perfect hostess with lots of interesting info about Manayunk's past and present. The food portions were just right and as a carb lover, there was not a food offering I did not love tasting. I really enjoyed that while they went for what is known as traditional Philly fare, they also threw in a twist with a sample of a type of food I would never order on my own but found surprisingly good. I would definitely recommend this tour and may do it again one day with some other friends and family. Also want to say that every store/shop owner we encountered, even those not involved in the tour, were warm and welcoming making us feel as if we were a part of the Manayunk community.

Thank NoraK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We love that you enjoyed the Manayunk community as much as our food tastings! As Yunkers ourselves, it's nice to see others enjoying our neighborhood. Thanks for coming - we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chew Philly Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Chew Philly Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing