We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Day Trip!”

Chew Philly Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.00*
and up
Philadelphia Iconic Foods Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience the tastes of Philadelphia with our 2.5 hour walking tours. Our tours take place in off-the-beaten-path neighborhoods of Philly, revealing th secrets of where the locals really dine. You'll visit small mom-and-pop shops with intriguing history and impressive offerings, while exploring new cultural foods and flavors. All 6+ tastings are included in our ticket price, and with scheduled seated time throughout we've thought of everything to make your experience perfect. We can't wait to show you OUR Philadelphia.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Amy, our guide and a native of Manayunk, was a wonderful host. Enthusiastic, knowledgeable and hard-working, she provided an entertaining insider look at this quirky Philadelphia neighborhood.

Tip: For those of you traveling from out-of-state, make sure you leave some extra drive time. Seems like I-76, which Manayunk feeds off of, can get quite crowded, even on a weekend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KathrynDickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
"An entertaining, insider look at this quirky neighborhood"...we love how you phrased that! Thank you also for including driving tips for TripAdvisor users; it's very useful feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and are glad that you came on our tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    60
    13
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gap, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amy was a treasure!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My son was up from Austin TX. What a great time we had. I would recommend this tour to anyone. It was perfect.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Goneforgood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review - it really helps small businesses like ours. We're so glad that you enjoyed our professional tour guide, Amy, and will pass on your compliments. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have lived in Chester County our entire lives (40-year) and had never been to Manayunk. My wife gave me this tour for Father's Day and I didn't think that it was going to fun or good. I was sooo wrong!
Amy was our tour host and she was fantastic! Each of our stops were amazing and getting to walk around and learn the history of this amazing little district was a super bonus! The food at each stop was terrific and we ended up buying goods from two of the places to take home.
Don't hesitate- this tour is worth it, you'll love it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidMotiv8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
What a great Father's Day gift! We're so glad that you enjoyed your tour. We work hard to combine food tastings, history, and cultural aspects into our tour, and we're glad it made for an enjoyable experience for you. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No deja vu Chew”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and recently visited Chew Philly and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our guide Elise (sp?) was great. She was warm, friendly, and engaging.

The tour itself is not simply about the food but also about the neighborhood from which the treats were born out of. The vast majority of the food I'd either never had before or never had prepared in the same manner before. Tomato pie--new. Stuffed pepperoni--new. Red velvet cupcake, sweetened with beets--new. Oh, and those are just *some* of the stops we made. So there was no déjà vu on this tour.

The food was great, the weather was fantastic, our guide was terrific, even the group of strangers we were with were fun-loving. Great job Chew Philly Food Tours!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cm l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We love that we were able to introduce you to some new foods, and that you felt our tour guide was warm and engaging. Thank you again for touring with us! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One delicious tour!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a wonderful time on our tour. Our guide, Amy was funny and knowledgeable, and really seemed to enjoy her job. The food was delicious and it's fun hearing about the history of the area. Just remember to LEAVE ROOM FOR THE CUPCAKE!!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank zvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Leaving room for the cupcake is great advice for TripAdvisor users! We're so glad that you enjoyed our professional tour guide as well as our tastings. Thanks for taking the time to write a review - it really helps small businesses like ours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chew Philly Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Chew Philly Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing