We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Tour We Paid For!”

Free and Friendly Tours
Ranked #18 of 76 Tours in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a Free and Friendly walking tour with us! It’s free, which means you tip us what you want. It’s friendly because we’re friendly folks. And it’s Philadelphia because we love it and want you to love it too. We’re a Philly company and we’ll show you the whole Philadelphia – or the whole of what’s in walking distance. We lend our friendship freely and we’ll gladly recommend a place to go out after the tour.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better Than Tour We Paid For!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Mark was our tour guide, and he was both knowledgable and personable. This was a great way to be introduced to the Old City area. In the days after our tour we went back to various sites Mark had showed us and spent more time exploring them. During our visit to Philly we went on another tour, which we paid for, and was disappointed in the presentation by the guide. Mark set a high standard. In future visits to Philly we'll definitely see what tours Free and Friendly Tours are offering and sign up for those. Thanks Mark!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific experience”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I went on the morning Colonial Cheesesteak tour with Mark in mid-August and had a great time. The tour is relaxed yet professional, and you'll definitely be learning things that you wouldn't otherwise be able to find out from reading a book or online guide. Mark is also a wealth of knowledge, knows the city incredibly well and seems to be able to recommend just about anything you might be interested in, so this tour can also be a great way to start planning the rest of your day. Looking forward to coming by for another tour next time I'm in Philly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Great tour and guide”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Mark is an excellent guide, you could say by the beginning that he not just now so well the city, but he also loves it and enjoys explaining to you everything about Benjamin Franklin, the Declaration of Independence and all the attractions in the city. At the end he showed me one of the best places to get the famous cheesesteak.
I totally recommend this tour for any kind of group o person.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour with a friendly guide”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Mark was really great, relaxed, happy to answer numerous questions and made the tour interesting. A great introduction to Philly on our first afternoon in the city, with a good variety of sights. Felt bad that there was only the two of us on the tour as it is all based on tips, it was really worth it and we would recommend the Billy Penn tour to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Couldn't be better for a free tour!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great way to get acquainted in a comfortable way with the city. Tour guide was friendly and very informative. Saw some cool things that we most certainly would have missed if we were on our own without a guide. He also helped us to get around the city after the tour with subway instructions. Definitely recommend this tour if you are visiting Philly!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Free and Friendly Tours also viewed

 

Been to Free and Friendly Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing