We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks Mark!”

Free and Friendly Tours
Ranked #17 of 75 Tours in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a Free and Friendly walking tour with us! It’s free, which means you tip us what you want. It’s friendly because we’re friendly folks. And it’s Philadelphia because we love it and want you to love it too. We’re a Philly company and we’ll show you the whole Philadelphia – or the whole of what’s in walking distance. We lend our friendship freely and we’ll gladly recommend a place to go out after the tour.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Thanks Mark!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My Mom and I took Mark's tour on a weekend in Philadelphia to learn a little bit about the area. We wanted to do one of the free tours as feel it is often better when a tour guide has to "earn their tips" and Mark did not disappoint! We selected his tour based on the good reviews and the fact that he was a native who started his own Company. We easily signed up online and received a confirmation email and we received another confirmation email the night before. Mark was there waiting when we arrived and it was easy to find him. We waited about 5 minutes for anyone else to show up but everyone else had cancelled without notice, so it was just the two of us and Mark. Despite working for tips, Mark didn't show the least bit upset about the no shows and said he likes the small tours. The tour itself was about an hour and half and Mark shared a lot of information, as well as answered questions, and gave recommendations. He clearly loves the city and also has an interest in it's history. I would highly recommend to anyone, although it might be a bit much for small children.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clay, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tour with Mark was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Mark arranged a special tour for us and our friends who were visiting the USA from Australlia. We were meeting in Philadelphia for just two days so wanted to see as much as possible in a short time. He was very knowledgeable and informative about the History of Philadelphia. He walked us through what is called the Colonial Chessesteak tour. He was also extremely helpful in giving suggestions for buying tickets for the Hop on and Off tour bus for the next day also suggesting the best place to enjoy a Philly cheesesteak sandwich. I would highly recomend Mark and his company.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanKow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Informative, fun and perfectly timed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Participated in a walking tour with Mark this weekend and it was a fabulous experience. He's beyond knowledgable of the area, subjects and historical context. The tour is informative and you hit the highlights of the area. If you've ever had a question about Ben Franklin, Quakers or where your pennies come from, then this is the tour for you. The tour is casual and a great pace for just about anyone. It's not intense like many other group tours in the area and isn't so densely packed with information that it's dizzying or dry. The morning tour ends around lunch with a number of awesome lunch suggestions. :) Couldn't recommend enough. And a company like this that runs (and runs busily and constantly) on tips alone is certainly worth your time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
234 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice walk with a good tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Hi
I participated today in the tour
The guide was very nice
Explain a lot
We walked in the area
Really nice use of time,
At the end of the tour you need to go back and visit in more details some of the places but because all is in the same area there is no problem with that

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank yaki a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing! Mark is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Hi!

We booked the Colonial Cheesesteak tour of Philly with Mark. Since the first emails, he showed always really helpful with us, trying to adapt the tour to our times. We are not English spoken natives and thus we were afraid about not to understanding properly the tour explanations, but Mark was great and we perfectly understood him, as we repeated the things for us when necessary. Thus, even if your English is not so good, as our, you will perfectly understand him. We were a bit lost and we arrived a bit late but he was waiting for us with a big smile. He has a robust formation in History and it was a pleasure to learn from him about US history- we are Europeans, so we don't know much about US history. He explained us everything we need to know about Philly and it participation in US independence. Moreover, he gave us lot of tips about where to go for lunch in the city and what to do after, as he knows really well the city.

If you are thinking about booking this tour, do it! It is the best way to visit Philly. And one of the best free tours we have ever done. In Europe they are quite popular, and we have done this kind of tours in several cities, but we never found someone with the level of Mark.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Itagnoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Free and Friendly Tours also viewed

 

Been to Free and Friendly Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing