We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable as always!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
Ranked #47 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philippines
Level Contributor
232 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Reliable as always!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Well equipped rooms, good internet connection, a good swimming pool with fresh water, reasonable pricing, proximity to shopping areas and train connections, pleasant reception and hospitality, helping staff make this Hotel suitable for a business trip and stay. What i liked most was the American Breakfast with a variety of choices. Will sure, revisit this hotel in my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HARI_2068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay. I was very pleased to read that both the hotel and it's Service Team met you needs and expectations and assisted in helping to make your stay a pleasant one. I will be sure to share your very kind comments with all members of the team. I truly hope that you will stay at the hotel again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    206
    159
    104
    90
See reviews for
244
101
35
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My stay at this hotel was great, comfortable, superior! Thank You! The breakfast buffet is Great! There's various choices on the buffet. The chef makes the best egg white omelets. I slept soundly & comfortable each night. The bar scene is accommodating and very intimate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kimura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review. I was pleased to read that both the hotel and it's Service Team met your needs and expectations and assisted in making your stay such a pleasant one. I hope that you will stay at the hotel again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Easy to get to downtown and yet less crowded. Pleasant accommodating staff. Small but nice indoor pool and work out area with windows that give an open feeling. Breakfast buffet is OK but definitely seems overpriced -- no ala carte option offered.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank michaelfL773OS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay but would like to apologize that the Delmonico's staff failed to inform you that the hotel does in fact offer ala carte breakfast service along with the hotels wonderful breakfast buffet. I will be sure to share your comments with all of the team members involved. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel itself is fine. The bed comfortable, the room was clean. The check in experience wasn't good. They didn't explain the Honors floor features and they didn't explain that to get internet you have to buy the wireless. It is a peeve of mine that a hotel that promotes itself as offering quality service charges customers for internet. That's like charging extra for pillows or towels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dennis784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your stay and for posting a review. I was please to read that you found your stay enjoyable but would like to apologize for the the staff not sharing all of the pertinent information with you regarding the cost and use of the wifi here at the hotel. This issue will be addressed with all members of the arrivals team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had a toddler with me and needed warm milk at night. Unfortunately there are no microwaves in the entire building. How low tech is this place? Also, the breakfast buffet was pricey. Breakfast is not even an expensive $30 and all we had basically was an omelette and some fruit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Anisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that the hotel did not have a microwave oven available, but since all of the food served in the hotel is cooked from scratch there is no need for a microwave in the hotel Kitchen. The hotel does offer to warm up bottles in the Ktichen when asked and I apologized if no member of the team offered this service to you. As to the pricing of the breakfast buffet, the hotel sets it's menu pricings based on what is being offered to the guest. The breakfast buffet consists of fresh fruits, hot and cold cereals, assorted pastries, muffins and gourmet breads,assorted yogurts parfaits, meats and cheeses, a cook to order egg station and unlimited beverages. While the hotel pricing may be a bit higher than some free standing restaurants I do believe that for the quantity and quality of the offerings the price is fair and reasonable and offers a value for the dollar spent.

Again thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed two nights, with a night elsewhere in between.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious, but our bed was on an angle across the corner of the room, which is a little odd.

Facilities and amenities in the room are good, and the executive lounge is comfortable and welcoming, with tasty snackettes.

Good to see free access to a computer terminal and printer as well as good wifi.

Breakfast had a good choice of offerings.

If in a car, choose valet parking as it avoids a load of hassle for little extra cost.

Would stay there again...I know that I already did.. and would suggest you do to if in the area.

Room Tip: High floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmc1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to share your thoughts. I was pleased to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and the hotel and it's Service Team met your expectations. I will be sure to share your kind comments with all members of the team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Quality of an Executive Level room and its in room furnishings were not to my liking. Chairs were worn to point where the "leatherette" was peeling and splitting. In room furniture, window coverings and bed linens were just old and beat. I understand this is a Level 6 hotel for Honors Members. Really...? The heating/cooling system was very loud and ensured that sleep interruptus was in full effect. Room service was exeditious, our order was tasty, the server was warm and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and valued. I have reviewed your posting with all members of the team to make improvements that are needed based on your feedback. I will be sure to share your very kind comments regarding your service in Room Service with the In-Room Dining staff. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#24 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Property: Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
Address: 4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131-1611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing