We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute favorite museum in Philadelphia”

National Constitution Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPASS
More Info
US$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
More Info
US$33.00*
and up
Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #18 of 445 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Constitution Center is the first and only nonprofit, nonpartisan institution devoted to the U.S. Constitution and its legacy of freedom. Located two blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell in Historic Philadelphia, the Center illuminates constitutional ideals and inspires active citizenship as a state-of-the-art museum, a civic education hub and America's Town Hall.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute favorite museum in Philadelphia”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

As someone interested in the sociology of community, the Constitution Center is a goldmine of opportunity to learn. In the last month I attended 2 fascinating exhibitions: 1969 and Pulitzer Prize Photography. The first wove a narrative from the Moon landing to the RFK and MLKJr. assassinations, women's lib, Kent State, and so much more. The second showed life in its most stark, terrifying, and beautiful moments, captured by amateur and professional photographs, and reminding us of the lives we live. Well worth becoming a member.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    326
    122
    41
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Interesting and fun. Not dull”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Very interesting presentations about the issues covered in the Constitution of the United States. It could be dull -- but it isn't. Lots of simple real world examples showing us how the document works in real life. An excellent presentation of the history of our Federal government. Not shying away from contentious issues such as slavery and women's rights, but giving a balanced view of how we have moved incrementally to change and improve over the centuries.
The live presentation in the theater is moving as well as informative.
Signers Hall with the statues gives a real-life experience of what could be a dry presentation. It was a hit with all of us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul_from_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“renew your belief in the government”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Excellent displays. Super performance in Kimmel Theater. The historical displays made it clear that the Constitution is well thought out, that there have always been conflicts between federalists and state-ists, and that the founding principles are resilient and can survive our society's human frailties. It reminded me that the people in the three separate branches of government have made huge mistakes in the past, but that other people eventually made sure that justice prevailed. Some of the bad supreme court decisions, bizarre interpretations of who gets counted in "We the People" all fascinating.

There were a lot of school groups there, but it was very sad to see so many parents completing the assignments for their children. Many children had assignments to find particular events. The way find them was to look for clues, which is a way to introduce students to critical thinking and encourage them to read the material. Instead, parents read the material, then found the event or quote. Worse yet, many parents actually filled out the assignment for their student! This will do those students NO GOOD and sets a bad precedent for other homework.
The teachers need to make it more clear that this is unacceptable. Looking for and finding information is part of the assignment, not simply filling in the blank! Shame on those parents!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for everyone”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Amazing place that not only teaches the history of the constitution but brings it alive in the context of all the pressing issues we face today. The displays are all well edited and very interactive. I highly recommend taking the time to watch the short but informative theater presentation. There are many school groups visiting the center but adults will find the center equally informative and entertaining.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tkyrnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delightful, amusing, surprising, informative....”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The National Constitution Center is amazing from start to finish. Little known facts that are fascinating, but not essential, essential facts that are too little known, hands-on activities that intrigue.... I attended with a group of elementary students on Spring Break, a hard group to corral, but they were all involved with the interactive vignettes, films, presentations. This is a hit.

Children can explore on their own, at their own speed. The store has great items for purchase, worth a trip by itself. There is a great lawn area outside for cartwheels and general relaxing.

When we took our children to Philadelphia in the 1970s, I was distressed by the coldness of Philadelphia in presenting our national heritage. (I was blown away with Boston, during the same time period.) What a change.

I say wow, go, enjoy, learn. It is a joy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LLSNapa_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Constitution Center also viewed

 

Been to National Constitution Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing