We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Theatre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Constitution Center

National Constitution Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPASS
Ranked #21 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Constitution Center is the first and only nonprofit, nonpartisan institution devoted to the U.S. Constitution and its legacy of freedom. Located two blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell in Historic Philadelphia, the Center illuminates constitutional ideals and inspires active citizenship as a state-of-the-art museum, a civic education hub and a national town hall.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
113 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The National Constitution Center may not seem to be the most inspiring place to visit when in Philadelphia, but you couldn't be more wrong. The story of freedom, enacted by an actress with an Oscar worthy performance gave the audience goosebumps, enhancing the experience of the museum and its exhibits. The Center emphasises that freedom is not a given; it is something that many had to fight for, and are still fighting for, even in the West. It is definitely worth a visit and just the place to buy your children Ben Franklin costumes...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    303
    113
    41
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
257 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Well told story of our Constitution - past and present ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Very enjoyable visit to our National Constitution center. You leave with a better understanding of how it was formed and the challenges it has faced - past, present, and future. The building is enormous, clean, and well designed. The staff you meet along the way are helpful and very courteous. You start with the 20 minute program - Freedom Rising: a 360 presentation narrated by an exceptional performer in the center of the theatre. You then do your self tour through the many exhibits and hands on interactive activities on the second floor. My wife and I thought the best program was "living news", presented four times daily. Three terrific theatrical actors put on several fast moving interactive skits that exemplify the constitutional challenges that exist in today's society. At the end of the performance, they come out of role to join a moderator to discuss issues with the audience, if the audience is so inclined. My favorite memorabilia was Nixon's tape recorder. Give yourself at least 1/2 day or more to tour: a nice food area is also provided.

Helpful?
Thank Disneybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Civics refresher”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This is a well-presented museum of the constitution, with interactive displays and plenty of engaging visuals. It's a good refresher for adults, and a good primer for students learning this material at school. The content comes alive and reminds visitors why it matters.

Helpful?
Thank mbaChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Time well spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I really enjoyed my visit to the National Constitution Center. I had thought it might be a quick walk through, but I ended up spending hours there. I paid extra for the audio tour & really enjoyed the informative exhibits. This is a wonderful opportunity to learn about and reflect on what makes our country extraordinary. I can't wait to bring my husband and kids here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank beadyiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
169 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“History Brought to Life!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was one of the best experiences that we had in Philly, with the fantastic exhibits and the moving live show called Freedom Rising. We visited on Jefferson's birthday and there was an awe-inspiring exhibition, which highlighted his slave population. There was a majestic statue of Jefferson standing in front of a wall that was inscribed with the names of EVERY one of his slaves. It was a simple, yet powerful exhibit that brought home the contradictions of one of the greatest Founding Fathers. The Freedom Rising show was also powerful, yet balanced, with an intense narration of our history. The room filled with life-sized statues of the signers of the Constitution was a unique experience as well and a great photo-op. The exhibit above the theater features abundant information on the three branches of government and is very interactive for kids. Also, included are copies of the Articles of Confederation, the Declaration of Independence, and the Constitution. This is an absolute must-see for any American who can drag themselves down to this historical Mecca.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabresfan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Constitution Center also viewed

 

Been to National Constitution Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing