We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for history buffs!”

National Constitution Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPASS
Ranked #17 of 437 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Constitution Center is the first and only nonprofit, nonpartisan institution devoted to the U.S. Constitution and its legacy of freedom. Located two blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell in Historic Philadelphia, the Center illuminates constitutional ideals and inspires active citizenship as a state-of-the-art museum, a civic education hub and America's Town Hall.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for history buffs!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We visited teh National Constitution Center yesterday with my daughter's class trip. The presentation was very enjoyable and informative. It really kept the kids' interests. They also enjoyed the interactive exhibits after the show.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    315
    116
    41
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mc Lean
Level Contributor
201 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Brilliantly Executed Museum”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Attended a social event at the NCC - they fed us and then we had free reign over the museum for the evening. It is interactive, but I agree with reviewers it is not for very young children - I'd say age 10 and up would really enjoy it and as an adult I thought it was spectacular. The Freedom Rising live show was educational and inspiring...made me feel proud to be an American. Really liked the Declaration of Independence room with the life size bronze statues of our founding fathers - made for some interesting pictures!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveldiva36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time visitor”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my first time visiting and what a wonderful first impression! I was with my family (brother,wife and their sons 3 and 5) and met them in the Philly area to take in a little history. I was really amazed at the exhibits here especially the Declaration of Independence room with the life size bronze statues of all who signed it!...I felt that all the displays were well done and allowed a very relaxed and informative 2 hours...plenty of benches in case the little ones get tired (or you do). I would go again!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flowie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Slightly obnoxious, but everything you need to know about the U.S. Constitution.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The NCC is educational and there is A LOT of information on the most famous supreme court cases. It's wordy and not as interactive as the other museums, so I wouldn't recommend it for young children.

The overall theme, that America is exceptional because of our Constitution, is over the top. I was embarrassed by the Freedom Rising show because the foreigners in the audience were clearly uncomfortable by the tone.


Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Noelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Theatre”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The National Constitution Center may not seem to be the most inspiring place to visit when in Philadelphia, but you couldn't be more wrong. The story of freedom, enacted by an actress with an Oscar worthy performance gave the audience goosebumps, enhancing the experience of the museum and its exhibits. The Center emphasises that freedom is not a given; it is something that many had to fight for, and are still fighting for, even in the West. It is definitely worth a visit and just the place to buy your children Ben Franklin costumes...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Constitution Center also viewed

 

Been to National Constitution Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing